R6400 webmanagement not loading

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
rotation
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Dec 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 16:15    Post subject: R6400 webmanagement not loading Reply with quote
I now have a Netgear R6400 v2, Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41135M std (09/25/19).

Sometimes I notice the connection from PC to internet works fine, but the router status page (https://192.168.1.1) does not load. It simply timeouts.

I can SSH into the thing and reboot, then it works again, obviously.

Why does this happen? Because of the reboot I have no logs, they are deleted at bootup.

Does the routers webserver crash?
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4319
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 16:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
GUI is sometimes slow, especially in builds around your build.
You can always telnet to your router and kill the httpd process, the procesmonitor should start it again

Things you can do:
Clear browser cache.

Chrome is especially troublesome try another browser like Firefox.

Upgrade to latest build, and if you do consider resetting to defaults by telnetting to your router and do:
Code:
nvram erase && reboot
Do not restore from a backup file put settings in manually
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135#1183135
rotation
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Dec 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 17:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you,


the thing is...
I do not think it is a slow GUI. I really think something has hung up. I am using firefox, but tried chrom and IE and Palemoon too. All the same.

Is there a build that is considered specially good?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2569
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Firefox ESR seems to be the browser that has been working for me without issue. One thing I found interesting was using certain other tools how troublesome the webUI really is. Which is why I've been using 52.9.0 FF ESR specifically, although I've noticed no issues with newer ESR releases on Windows or Linux. There are still some times when the pages don't load correctly, but a refresh usually works. Alpha builds 41399 and 41408 seem to be a little smoother for the webUI, so the next public beta should hopefully fix some folks' issues.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4319
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 17:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
rotation wrote:
Thank you,


the thing is...
I do not think it is a slow GUI. I really think something has hung up. I am using firefox, but tried chrom and IE and Palemoon too. All the same.

Is there a build that is considered specially good?


Like @kp69 said if you have tried different browser then the next step is:

Upgrade to latest build (41379), and if you do, consider resetting to defaults by telnetting to your router and do:
Code:
nvram erase && reboot
Do not restore from a backup file put settings in manually

I have an R6400v2's running and recent builds did not give me any trouble (although the GUI is not that fast and I use Firefox like @kp69)

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135#1183135
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2569
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 18:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
41379 does not include the buffer overflow fixes to the webUI, which is why I mentioned the alpha builds and the next public beta. Only issue I have had prior to those two randomly was the pages not loading correctly, but that has been a known issue for quite some time, and as I said, reloading the page has usually resolved it for me. One thing to be mindful of is browser extensions. The browser configuration I use is literally with no extensions loaded whatsoever. I've just tested the latest FF ESR release, no issues other than cosmetic.


ff68.2esr.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  276.05 KB
 Viewed:  571 Time(s)

ff68.2esr.png


rotation
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Dec 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 15:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
So, Currently I am on 41418 or 41468.
The problem is still there. I try to log onto my router using Firefox or Chrome of IE, I get a connection timeout. Internet works but not the webinterface. I cannot get the current build no. because I don't want to restart - currently.
Logging on worked today already.

I do an nmap onto my router, it tells me 443 is filtered. I have not opened the web management on 80, so it is missing.

Is there a way to restart the web management by ssh (without restarting the router)? I still think something has locked up on DD-WRT.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2569
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 18:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, I have to ask. Is this local side (LAN) webUI access on https or WAN remote access to it? AFAIK, you have to have both enabled for it to work correctly, but I could be mistaken. Or, rather, https is usually for WAN access only from remote because it doesn't work worth a shit from the LAN side. Yes, you can kill httpd from ssh and let it restart itself via process monitor or manually.
_________________
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 41663 mega (12/06/19) (K3.x)
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.3
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
rotation
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Dec 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I have this:
https://i.imgur.com/Et6vJX9.png

I did not enable Remote Web GUI, because I enabled VPN and do it from LAN if I must.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3063
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 15:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
hmm i do not recall WebUI errors at least on the routers i have...regarding the current builds...

Talking about WebUI and browsers i was avid FFx guy,
than moved to opera(GX,Developer) for testing and GUI only, for some odd reason Opera works ok and its quicker, BS made a comment once it just uses the lowest quality/grade ciphers...that's why it work's
and don't works well with chrome or FFx...
in fact for GUI i use only https access LAN side only...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41659 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT, VPN)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41517 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
2x Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DNSCrypt-proxy v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,VLAN,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
rotation
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Dec 2012
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 16:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well,
I already use a script for renewing the IP, I created a script for killing and starting httpd, which brought back the web GUI. So I think I will do a cron killing and restarting the GUI every hour?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2569
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 18:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm surprised https even works the way you have it configured. It always completely locked me out for LAN side unless I enabled both http and https. I don't use it from the lan side because I have wireless access to webUI, ssh, and telnet blocked in my firewall since the function in the webUI doesn't work.
_________________
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 41663 mega (12/06/19) (K3.x)
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.3
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3063
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 19:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I'm surprised https even works the way you have it configured. It always completely locked me out for LAN side unless I enabled both http and https. I don't use it from the lan side because I have wireless access to webUI, ssh, and telnet blocked in my firewall since the function in the webUI doesn't work.


hmmm you don't want to use a http GUI access on a public router where most of them a switched on kiddos..
that is why i use https, along with some GUI limitation rules...but out of the box on those routers i have, it works ok....

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41659 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT, VPN)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41517 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
2x Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DNSCrypt-proxy v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,VLAN,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2569
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 20:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I'm surprised https even works the way you have it configured. It always completely locked me out for LAN side unless I enabled both http and https. I don't use it from the lan side because I have wireless access to webUI, ssh, and telnet blocked in my firewall since the function in the webUI doesn't work.


hmmm you don't want to use a http GUI access on a public router where most of them a switched on kiddos..
that is why i use https, along with some GUI limitation rules...but out of the box on those routers i have, it works ok....


Well, last I knew, you had to have both selected for it to work without breaking, but I could be wrong. Nothing wrong with http web management over LAN if you block wireless access to it. Enabling remote management via web, you most certainly want https... or ssh.... even better would be VPN....

But back to OP topic, this has been a known issue as long as I have been here. At least on Broadcom, anyway.

_________________
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 41663 mega (12/06/19) (K3.x)
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.3
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2019.4.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum