DD-WRT selecting invalid 80 MHz channels on 5 GHz

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
HydroxideEncore
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:42    Post subject: DD-WRT selecting invalid 80 MHz channels on 5 GHz Reply with quote
I'll preface this with the fact that I have very little knowledge of networking - I just like to tinker... I only figured this out after a few days of wondering why things worked and then stopped working.

I'm using r40854 on Linksys WRT32X.

I've discovered that on occasion, DD-WRT selects channels which are not valid at 80 MHz width on 5 GHz if I leave wireless channel selection on Auto.

I noticed that DD-WRT sometimes selects channel 104 automatically. This causes issues - my Samsung S7 Edge only connects at 20 MHz width, and my Chromecast does not connect at all to the 5 GHz network.

I can replicate the issue if I manually select channels 104 or 110, both UU (+6).

If I manually select channel 100 or 116, the problems disappear.

I'm not sure if this has been reported before - I did a quick Google, but nothing on the first page seemed relevant.

I would like to remain on Auto so that Radar Detection can move me away from any channels being used for radar, but perhaps DD-WRT can move me to a valid 80 MHz channel?

I've read a tiny amount and seem to think that there are valid and invalid channels based on channel width - maybe DD-WRT can force selection of valid channels, manually or otherwise, based on channel width?

Has a more recent build fixed this?
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's a given not to use Auto channel in DD-WRT and why you use a wi-fi analyzer to pick your channels. This is something that will probably never change, I have not seen any work being done to 'fix' this.
Yemble
DD-WRT Guru