TPLINK WR1043ND V2,Ethernet speed only 200 Mb of 600Mb

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
alfredo49
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:19    Post subject: TPLINK WR1043ND V2,Ethernet speed only 200 Mb of 600Mb Reply with quote
Hi:

The problem is that the speed tests do not exceed 200 Mb, when I have 600 Mb, if I connect the cable directly to the computer, the full 600 Mb arrives. Then is a TPLINK 1043 problem Sad

I use the router as 2nd router in gateway mode, this router receives a network cable from the main router of the company, this cable is plugged into the WAN port and generates other network addresses (192.168.2.x), the router principal uses addresses of the type (192.168.1.x), also uses another independent Wifi network.

I use this configuration because I use the WOL (wake on lan) function and turn on the computers from outside my network (the company's router does not allow WOL so I need to use my TP Link 1043ND as an intermediate point)

Why should it only synchronize 200Mb of 600 Mb?

Please help

Thank you
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3809
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
yep typical question for not informed person...that's all this router could do...as its CPU is slow Wink

try to turn on SFE (software forwarding engine) from basic settings window...or buy another capable router in range of Netgear R7800 you'd need...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
alfredo49
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
yep typical question for not informed person...that's all this router could do...as its CPU is slow Wink

try to turn on SFE (software forwarding engine) from basic settings window...or buy another capable router in range of Netgear R7800 you'd need...


Thxs for the response!

i dont find SFE in basic settings, my firmware is DD-WRT v3.0-r28366 std (11/27/15)
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3809
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
alfredo49 wrote:
Alozaros wrote:
yep typical question for not informed person...that's all this router could do...as its CPU is slow Wink

try to turn on SFE (software forwarding engine) from basic settings window...or buy another capable router in range of Netgear R7800 you'd need...


Thxs for the response!

i dont find SFE in basic settings, my firmware is DD-WRT v3.0-r28366 std (11/27/15)


good reason to update to a newer version this is the last one Wink reset to default and use this file to update ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2020/01-30-2020-r42174/tplink_tl-wr1043nd-v2/tplink_tl-wr1043nd-v2.bin

all new build are here
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2020/
do in mind your is version 2 ...
do not load saved setting from an old/different firmware builds, redo the settings manually...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
giuliomagnifico
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2016
Posts: 331
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 14:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
yep typical question for not informed person...that's all this router could do...as its CPU is slow Wink

try to turn on SFE (software forwarding engine) from basic settings window...or buy another capable router in range of Netgear R7800 you'd need...


The problem is that the speed tests do not exceed 200 Mb, when I have 600 Mb, if I connect the cable directly to the computer, the full 600 Mb arrives. Then is a TPLINK 1043 problem

He said that connecting directly PC to Router it goes at full speed, looks like more a WIFI speed trouble than hardware nat to me. Check your wifi setting and try the latest build.


Last edited by giuliomagnifico on Mon Feb 03, 2020 14:28; edited 1 time in total
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7209
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 14:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not so much CPU clock speed, rather it's single-core. Not enough flash and ram. Also, you don't need to spend the $$$ on another wireless router to run DD to fix the issue.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
alfredo49
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Feb 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 14:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
giuliomagnifico wrote:
Alozaros wrote:
yep typical question for not informed person...that's all this router could do...as its CPU is slow Wink

try to turn on SFE (software forwarding engine) from basic settings window...or buy another capable router in range of Netgear R7800 you'd need...


The problem is that the speed tests do not exceed 200 Mb, when I have 600 Mb, if I connect the cable directly to the computer, the full 600 Mb arrives. Then is a TPLINK 1043 problem

He said that connecting directly PC to Router it goes at full speed, looks like more a WIFI speed trouble than hardware nat to me. Check your wifi setting and try the latest build.


No no, i dont use Wifi conection, always i use by ethernet cable. I need the full speed because i have a server conected to router 1043ND. I get full speed when i conect the cable, COMPANY ROUTER => PC (avoiding the passage through the TPLINK 1043)

I will try to install the latest version of DD-WRT as you have recommended, activate the SFE and see if the problem is solved.

If it is not solved, is there an economic router that allows me to reach the maximum speed of my line and that supports WOL?


Last edited by alfredo49 on Mon Feb 03, 2020 14:38; edited 1 time in total
giuliomagnifico
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2016
Posts: 331
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 14:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you are not using the wifi than read the others comments, your trouble is with hardware NAT.

The best router (not the most expensive) capable to deliver 600mbps I think is the R7800. If you want to save something try a R7000.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3809
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 14:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
which one of you didn't notice the routers i have in my signature...and who of you has it ??? So, keep quiet plz!!

1043v2 has slow CPU and the max speed with SFE turned on, its near to 230-250MBit...without, its like 150-180Mbit ish + Wink

Neither R7000 will do 600Mbit, only in few scenarios with Ipv6 may be...
R7000 without SFE turned on around 350-400Mbit
R7000 with SFE turned on, not more than 500-550Mbit ish if so...

R7800 will see 600Mbit with no hassle...will do QoS, as well NAT...

just for the record, i have all those units...and its not an a Wi-Fi issue Razz Razz Razz

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913


Last edited by Alozaros on Mon Feb 03, 2020 18:54; edited 2 times in total
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 1512

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 14:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
EA8500 or R7800 I'm out.
servicetech
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 17:39    Post subject: Re: TPLINK WR1043ND V2,Ethernet speed only 200 Mb of 600Mb Reply with quote
alfredo49 wrote:
Hi:

The problem is that the speed tests do not exceed 200 Mb, when I have 600 Mb, if I connect the cable directly to the computer, the full 600 Mb arrives. Then is a TPLINK 1043 problem Sad

I use the router as 2nd router in gateway mode, this router receives a network cable from the main router of the company, this cable is plugged into the WAN port and generates other network addresses (192.168.2.x), the router principal uses addresses of the type (192.168.1.x), also uses another independent Wifi network.

i dont find SFE in basic settings, my firmware is DD-WRT v3.0-r28366 std (11/27/15)
Thank you


What speed do you get with the factory firmware ? Is it possible to check for comparison ?

You should update to a more recent build, posts reporting ok builds r41586, r41517, r41418, possible that SFE does not exist on r28366.

Don't update directly from the 2015 dd-wrt to a 2019 + build without factory reset everything and perform upgrade
from command line.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3809
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 18:51    Post subject: Re: TPLINK WR1043ND V2,Ethernet speed only 200 Mb of 600Mb Reply with quote
servicetech wrote:
alfredo49 wrote:
Hi:

The problem is that the speed tests do not exceed 200 Mb, when I have 600 Mb, if I connect the cable directly to the computer, the full 600 Mb arrives. Then is a TPLINK 1043 problem Sad

I use the router as 2nd router in gateway mode, this router receives a network cable from the main router of the company, this cable is plugged into the WAN port and generates other network addresses (192.168.2.x), the router principal uses addresses of the type (192.168.1.x), also uses another independent Wifi network.

i dont find SFE in basic settings, my firmware is DD-WRT v3.0-r28366 std (11/27/15)
Thank you


What speed do you get with the factory firmware ? Is it possible to check for comparison ?

You should update to a more recent build, posts reporting ok builds r41586, r41517, r41418, possible that SFE does not exist on r28366.

Don't update directly from the 2015 dd-wrt to a 2019 + build without factory reset everything and perform upgrade
from command line.


servicetech did you read all the tread, before posting this valuable suggestion ???
Do you have 1043v2 to be more precise and back up with some results??


Gosh.... ppl are born blind this days ...

p.s. kernel-panic69 i did noticed the double NAT....witch is not a problem in this case, as this unit will not see the speed he is chasing anyway...even if ISP router is in bridge mode... Wink
in fact i do have double NAT on few networks and its not an issue at all...well.... talking for a slower connections than 200Mbit...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913


Last edited by Alozaros on Mon Feb 03, 2020 19:11; edited 2 times in total
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7209
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 18:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, you're kinda blind yourself. If you read the OP, you'll notice that it's not necessarily a DD problem per se, or hardware problem. The router is likely double NAT, which slows things down considerably anyway. To the OP, you may want to configure the TP-Link as an AP only or as a switch, upgrade the firmware and go from there. If that doesn't give you any joy, then you may wish to add another switch in between the main router and the TP-Link.

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_access_point

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switch

EDIT: But, if you really *MUST* stick with your configuration, E8500 or R7800 as suggested.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
servicetech
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 15:07    Post subject: Re: TPLINK WR1043ND V2,Ethernet speed only 200 Mb of 600Mb Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:


servicetech did you read all the tread, before posting this valuable suggestion ???
Do you have 1043v2 to be more precise and back up with some results??

Gosh.... ppl are born blind this days ...



No I don't have WR1043v2, but the question for my interpretation is :
"does dd-wrt or the hardware capabilities limit the speed?"

With a major hardware upgrade you expect major speed improvement, but it does NOT say anything about how dd-wrt performs on this WR1043v2. Except someone compares performance with a non dd-wrt (factory) firmware on the same device with the same (gateway) setup.
On my device dd-wrt speed and factory firmware speed is in the same range, assuming limits applying to my setup are hardware related.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3809
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 16:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
well...with stock 1043v2 does much better as it uses some hardware proprietary tech that DDWRT does not utilises...
so yes with DDWRT there is a notable drop in WAN performance...the other question is, how safe is this hardware acceleration and what is the trade off...
As it goes aside of the firewall, it opens a dodge opportunities...and than security on the stock firmware becomes questionable...as well their lack of adequate support/update...

In DDWRT there is no hardware acceleration...as a compensation there is a software solution for it, called SFE, that does some kind of performance enhancement, that so far works well, but still does not delivers stock performance...as a trade off DDWRT provides much more functionality and control than the stock firmware more friquent updates and security enhancements + flexibility and control...

So yes, on slow/old CPU, those routers have more notable impact on performance side...while on powerful routers performance is not that bad...using DDWRT instead of stock...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum