New R7800 works for a while, then misbehaves

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
marcelo3d
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2017
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:36    Post subject: New R7800 works for a while, then misbehaves Reply with quote
Hi guys,

I got a new R7800, flashed it to BS latests build, configured it and it all seem to work fine.
A few hours later while the kids were watching Netflix (x2) and gaming (x2) strange disconnects and time-outs started ot happen.
I tried to access the WebUI, but I'd only get to log-in, maybe look at a couple of things before it started responding with connection-reset or no-data. Netflix kept playing, way longer than its buffer.
I tried restarting the router, turning it off and on, and it would still not let me access it for more than a few seconds.
I put the old router back.
Let the R7800 unplugged for a while. TFTP'd the original firmware. It was behaving fine. TFTP'd the latest BS, firmware-updated to the same thing (just in case)
Reconfigure it all from scratch. It is behaving fine now, without traffic.
One thing I noticed is that now, under no load, it is much, much cooler to the touch.
I see that there are some temperature settings in the "Services" section.
Is there anything I have to do to get the fan working?
Any way to manually test it (command for on/off). I tried lowering the threshold to under the main chip temperature, but I could not hear any fan with my ear to the case.

Any other ideas? Also, I see the CPU frequency at 800MHz for both cores. Only saw 1750MHz for short times when loaded.

Thanks!
M.-
Sponsor
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 618
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try using Kong builds for the R7800...I'm keeping the answer simple for now...
http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/Test/

_________________
[r9000]BS 41659 (Main Router)
[EA8500]BS 41659 (Offsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 36808 (Offsite)


TIPS/TRICKS:

Best QCA Wifi settings to use|Latency tricks|QoS Port priority||NEVER USE MU-MIO

Why to NOT use MU-MIMO||Max Wifi Pwr by Country||MCS Index Speeds||Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use||WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2683
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I presume by latest build, you mean 40459.... https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2019/07-30-2019-r40459/netgear-r7800/

msoengineer wrote:
Try using Kong builds for the R7800...I'm keeping the answer simple for now...
http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/Test/


<Kong> is more actively developing his OpenWRT builds: http://www.desipro.de/openwrt/
marcelo3d
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2017
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the suggestions guys.

I started with BS build 40459.
I did get to update to Kong's DD-WRT 2019-07-11 release at some point when it was misbehaving. It did not make any difference.
I rather do not introduce another variable (OpenWRT) at this point.

M.-
gallo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 134
Location: Spring Hill, Fl

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong's openwrt isnt a variable it IS the solution
_________________
modem: arris tm1602
router: r7800 KONG 19 2019-Q3
ap: wrt1900ac v1 bs 41586,dir-825 b1 bs41117
NAS: Iomega ix2-200 CE 4tb, Seagate 1tb usb drive
Your pimp hand is strong Kemosabe!!!
marcelo3d
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2017
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 4:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Gallo,

Did you have similar problems to mine before moving to OperWRT? I'm highly suspicious of my hardware at this point.
M.-
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 7:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
gallo wrote:
Kong's openwrt isnt a variable it IS the solution


very highly debatable subject..

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 618
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 11:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
marcelo3d wrote:
Gallo,

Did you have similar problems to mine before moving to OperWRT? I'm highly suspicious of my hardware at this point.
M.-


If this is a brand new router, return/exchange it and get a new one. I would have to agree that something is suspicious.

_________________
[r9000]BS 41659 (Main Router)
[EA8500]BS 41659 (Offsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 36808 (Offsite)


TIPS/TRICKS:

Best QCA Wifi settings to use|Latency tricks|QoS Port priority||NEVER USE MU-MIO

Why to NOT use MU-MIMO||Max Wifi Pwr by Country||MCS Index Speeds||Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use||WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 11:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have run Kong 40270 and BS 40459 without problems on my R7800 and it is loaded with VPN server VPN slient and USB/SAMBA

Did you do an "erase nvram && reboot" after uploading DDWRT and put settings in manually ?

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1265
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 12:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Did you do an "erase nvram && reboot"

You probably meant "nvram erase && reboot"?

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--STUBBY DoT install guide
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 kongat & BS WDS AP & Sta-- R7500V2 BS std WDS STA-- WZR-HP-AG300H BS std WDS STA
WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA-- Nanostation M2 AirOS-- LocoM2 AirOS
MikroTik SXT R LTE
Broadcom:
R6200v2 41664std TFTP R6250.chk WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP

DDWRT Policy Based Routing Guide by egc
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 13:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
egc wrote:
Did you do an "erase nvram && reboot"

You probably meant "nvram erase && reboot"?


Thanks for the correction.
Old habits crop up now and then Sad

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 618
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 13:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
If "nvram erase && reboot" in commands and then re-entering your settings doesn't resolve your issue...get a replacement going.
_________________
[r9000]BS 41659 (Main Router)
[EA8500]BS 41659 (Offsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 36808 (Offsite)


TIPS/TRICKS:

Best QCA Wifi settings to use|Latency tricks|QoS Port priority||NEVER USE MU-MIO

Why to NOT use MU-MIMO||Max Wifi Pwr by Country||MCS Index Speeds||Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use||WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI
gallo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 134
Location: Spring Hill, Fl

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 17:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
@marcelo3d
I didn't have your specific problem. I would suggest trying another bs, a Kong or Kong openwrt version to see if the problem is duplicated across different firmware. I've had nothing but great service with kong's openwrt. If it doesn't remedy your specific problem then yeah you might have h/w issues. I think its alot quicker to flash some firmware than troubleshooting installations.

my 2 cents Wink

_________________
modem: arris tm1602
router: r7800 KONG 19 2019-Q3
ap: wrt1900ac v1 bs 41586,dir-825 b1 bs41117
NAS: Iomega ix2-200 CE 4tb, Seagate 1tb usb drive
Your pimp hand is strong Kemosabe!!!
marcelo3d
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2017
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 22:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks all,
nvram erase
reboot
re-configured all.
It has been up for almost 15h.
The temperature is now

CPU 59.754 °C / ath0 43 °C / ath1 30 °C
Ambient is ~23°C.

I've seen it reach 61°C

I have settings on "Services" for a fan.
Does this thing (R7800) have a fan? I have not heard it, even when I put my ear to the case.
What temperatures do you see?

Thanks!
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 22:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
it doesnt have a fan, it can go over 70c and still be perfectly fine. 61c is cold for krait, many less efficient broadcoms for example exceed 87c with a light load..
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum