WRT1900AC V2 - how to switch to DDWRT partition

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
marklyn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2016
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 3:42    Post subject: WRT1900AC V2 - how to switch to DDWRT partition Reply with quote
I've been scouring the forum for 3 hours trying to find this answer. Obviously, I'm not looking in the right place or using the right search terms.
I followed the instructions to install DDWRT on my router and do get a "successfully installed" message the end. But when the router reboots it's right back at the Linksys GUI,not DDWRT. Any forum threads I've seen so far didn't help me figure out how to switch to the other partition, presumabley where DDWRT installed to.
I've tried turning off/on the router 3 times, like one thread said to boot to the other partition, no luck.
Tried putty to get in to use the set command but putty won't connect.
Help please.
If it helps someone, I've attached a sysinfo.cfg that I managed to extract from the router. Is there some place in there that tells me that DDWRT is actually installed on the other partition?
Sponsor
d0ug
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2015
Posts: 771

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 7:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you're doing the factory to dd-wrt, you have to use an older version. try the 1st build from this year. That's been the successful factory to ddwrt i've used. once you have that on the router you can flash it to whatever current build.
marklyn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2016
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 12:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Late last night I was able to get it installed. I'm not sure why it worked, honestly my eyes were half closed but what I recall is that I reset the router back to factory, loaded KONG's bin, rebooted and loaded r40134 (which I read is a stable version).
I think I tried loading DDWRT images at least 30 different ways, but however subtlety different this way was made the difference. If I wasn't so tired I might have remembered the difference. Regardless, it works and I'll take it.
d0ug
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2015
Posts: 771

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 17:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
You using the KONG build was basically doing the same thing I mentioned of using an older build to go from the stock linksys to ddwrt. KONG hasn't released a new build for the WRT AC in well over a year and is not supporting the WRT AC routers any longer.

Basically my understanding is there is an issue with the size of the factory to ddwrt bin files in current builds. It is too big and the linksys firmware will not accept it. So using an older build that is smaller will successfully flash, then you upgrade to a current build.
marklyn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2016
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 19:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
actually before the KONG build, I did try an older ddwrt from Jan 2018 I believe because it was 30k and that didn't work. I had tried the KONG build before without success so I think it had something to do with actually loading the DDWRT from a clean factory reset instead of configuring the router first (after reset) and trying to load it then. Not sure, it was late and I'd tried so many things.
asferruzzi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Aug 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 7:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had the same problem with same modem, I tried the 37305 build and success. Thank you.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum