No 5Gz band on WRT1200AC after upgrade to r40134

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
JavaGuy147
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 19:02    Post subject: No 5Gz band on WRT1200AC after upgrade to r40134 Reply with quote
Decided to upgrade my DD-WRT from a more than 2 year old build. I took the latest build and everything is working great, except...

I cannot get the AC band working as it was previously. It's enabled, set to the same settings as before, but it does not appear for any client. SSID broadcast is on. Status page for the Wireless shows the following:

Chipset: 88W8864 802.11ac
Radio: Radio is On
Mode: AP
Network: AC-Only
SSID: My-Network-Name
Channel: Unknown
Busy Time: 2961 ms
Active Time: 669669 ms
Channel Quality: 100%
TX Power: 23 dBm
Rate: Auto
ACK Timing: N/A
Encryption - Interface ath0: Enabled, WPA2-PSK
Connected Clients: 0

Any help would be appreciated, or how to report this as a bug if it appears to be one.

Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40134 std (06/27/19)
Sponsor
gallo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 129
Location: Spring Hill, Fl

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 3:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
what are your settings?

i had a similar problem with my wrt1900acv1
channel width is at 80
channel is 36
ext channel is uu+6 <---- this is what was causing it

_________________
modem: arris tm1602
router: r7800 KONG 19 2019-Q2 / LuCI openwrt-19.07 branch (git-19.190.55584-ab90938)
ap: wrt1900ac v1,dir-825 b1
NAS: Iomega ix2-200 CE 4tb, Seagate 1tb usb drive
Your pimp hand is strong Kemosabe!!!
JavaGuy147
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 3:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had it on 20/40 Dynamic. I know not the optimal, in fact I tried using 80. Thought that may be the issue so put back on 20/40 Dynamic with automatic channel and extension - same settings as before. No 5GHz network at all, still Sad
jimstorey
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Experiencing some connectivity issues right now with the Wi-Fi connector I bought for testing the car diagnostics app from Android Store: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.motordata.obd The connector should be alright (not Chinese, got if from the official store of the developer), their customer service say there should be some issues with the router of the firmware... No network.
Monza
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
On my 1200 I can only use the security combo of WPA2 Personal/CCMP-128 (AES) for 2.4 and 5. Any other setting my devices don't see either of my wireless channels.
pmckay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 29
Location: Brooklyn, NY

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 2:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just tried r40276. It installed via GUI just fine.

5Ghz was up for a couple of hours, then it disappeared.
So I fell back to r39884, which seems to work pretty well for me.

5Ghz is configured as VHT80, auto channel. AC/N mixed.

I've seen wireless go away, plus problems with DHCP on several of the r40xxx series.

_________________
Linksys WRT1900AC V1
JavaGuy147
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I only ever use WPA2 Personal/CCMP-128 (AES) so that isn't the issue for me. I will try out the r39884 build.
zakaron
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jun 2016
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 12:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've seen a similar issue on my 1200. I found that the only way to get 5GHz radio working was to turn off single user beamforming. With it on, the status page shows the channel as "unknown" and no clients will connect. This has been happening since end of last year. Not sure what it is about that option, but it immediately breaks when turned on for me.
JavaGuy147
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 23:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks a lot! I have not reverted yet, I will try turning this off and see if it helps.
JavaGuy147
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 May 2013
Posts: 14
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 1:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Single user beamforming was the problem! Thanks for the solution, but this is a good feature so please fix this if any contributors are reading Smile
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum