New KONG ddwrt build - 07/11/2019

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
giuliomagnifico
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Apr 2016
Posts: 264
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Updated via ddup without reset/errors from <r40000.

Did the cubic setting in "TCP Congestion Control" comes as default with this build?
Sponsor
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1258
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 20:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
R7800 Gateway
Without reset OVPN client would not connect on 40270M
and internet connection was sporadic.
Rebooted and could not reconnect to router.

Set static ip on laptop and did nvram erase && reboot.
Reconfigured and after all settings were reapplied and reboot could not connect to router without static ip. Wired or wireless.

Fiddled with it for a couple hours before I gave up.

Reset static ip and reverted to 39855M, had to nvram erase, and restore bakup. Working again.

Might try again later without OVPN client.
I did not know what to do with new inbound firewall radio button, I left it disabled.

===================================================

R7800 & R7500v2 WDS STA 5Ghz working on 40270M without reset.

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--STUBBY install guide
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 kongat & BS WDS AP & Sta-- R7500V2 BS std WDS STA-- WZR-HP-AG300H BS std WDS STA
WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA-- Nanostation M2 AirOS-- LocoM2 AirOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 41491std using R6250.chk WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP

DDWRT Policy Based Routing Guide by egc
Therameatelf
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Jan 2016
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 22:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: Linksys EA8500 #1
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat (07/11/19)
Kernel: Linux 4.9.185 #444 SMP Thu Jul 11 00:22:19 CEST 2019 armv7l
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r39855M
Mode: AP-Switch / QoS HFSC - FQ-CODEL/ Static DHCP x 21
Reset: No
Status: Working as expected

Router Model: Linksys EA8500 #2
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat (07/11/19)
Kernel: Linux 4.9.185 #444 SMP Thu Jul 11 00:22:19 CEST 2019 armv7l
Previous: DD-WRT v3.0-r39855M
Mode: VPN AP-Switch / QoS HFSC - FQ-CODEL/ Static DHCP x 18
Reset: No
Status: OpenVPN client appears to establish tunnel but can't route outside LAN. Disabling DHCP didn't help. Same result with BS r40260. Still working as expected with r39855M.
# Just noticed this in VPN Status
20190712 16:46:50 I TUN/TAP device tun1 opened
20190712 16:46:50 TUN/TAP TX queue length set to 100
20190712 16:46:50 I /sbin/ifconfig tun1 192.168.179.25 pointopoint 192.168.179.26 mtu 1500
20190712 16:46:50 /sbin/route add -net 192.223.24.215 netmask 255.255.255.255 gw 192.168.1.254
20190712 16:46:50 W ERROR: Linux route add command failed: external program exited with error status: 1
20190712 16:46:50 /sbin/route add -net 0.0.0.0 netmask 128.0.0.0 gw 192.168.179.26
20190712 16:46:50 /sbin/route add -net 128.0.0.0 netmask 128.0.0.0 gw 192.168.179.26
20190712 16:46:54 I Initialization Sequence Completed

# Moved LAN IP from 10.x.x.x range to 192.168.x.x range and eliminated the Linux route add command failed. Still wouldn't route outside LAN.
Maybe quirk with my configuration .....
Bernadoe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Dec 2014
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 9:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R7800
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat (07/11/19)
Kernel: Linux 4.9.185 #443 SMP Thu Jul 11 00:07:59 CEST 2019 armv7l
Status: Working
Reset: No
Previous: 40188
Errors: No

Temperatures : CPU 48.609 °C / ath0 25 °C / ath1 25 °C

Working very well :
Router mode : DHCP
SFE Enable
STP Enable
DNSMasq
Cache DNSSEC data
Validate DNS Replies (DNSSEC)
Check unsigned DNS replies
Local DNS
No DNS Rebind
ath0, ath1
Vpn (OpenVPN Client)

Kong and BS: Thanks for all your good work!

without VPN


with VPN


Last edited by Bernadoe on Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:37; edited 1 time in total
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1258
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 17:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
R7800 Gateway
Might try again later without OVPN client.


Spent all morning looking at this. GUI update to 40270M no reset (did that yesterday).
Installed and booted fine. Had OVPN client disabled. Router was working fine.

Enable OVPN client. Would not connect to PIA at first, log said us-midwest-blah.com does not resolve.
Tried using IP to connect, didn't work. Tried url again and eventually did connect but IP remained ISP provided.

Then enabled PBR, (simple-pbr-by-egc) which killed internet connection.
Tried with and without SFE and Inbound Firewall on TUN.
Remove PBR and reboot and internet working, OVPN connects but still ISP IP.
Code:
Additional Config

persist-key
persist-tun
tls-client
remote-cert-tls server
pull-filter ignore "redirect-gateway"


Entware on 1tb HDD ext2 /jffs and /opt + ntfs partition
Stubby working
MiniDLNA working
Samba working
Proftp working
DDNS working
WDS working
Static leases


I will revert later tonight.

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--STUBBY install guide
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 kongat & BS WDS AP & Sta-- R7500V2 BS std WDS STA-- WZR-HP-AG300H BS std WDS STA
WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA-- Nanostation M2 AirOS-- LocoM2 AirOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 41491std using R6250.chk WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP

DDWRT Policy Based Routing Guide by egc
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3065
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 21:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
R7800 Gateway
Might try again later without OVPN client.

Spent all morning looking at this. GUI update to 40270M no reset (did that yesterday).
Installed and booted fine. Had OVPN client disabled. Router was working fine.


have you tried to create a new key's ?
look at the post above it seems the bloke has no issues with VPN, so it must be set up related...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41659 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT, VPN)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41664 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
2x Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DNSCrypt-proxy v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,VLAN,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1258
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 0:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
look at the post above it seems the bloke has no issues with VPN, so it must be set up related...

Yes I saw that and wondered why since I think @Bernadoe uses PIA same as I.

Just pulled
Code:
pull-filter ignore "redirect-gateway"

out of additional config...OVPN client working properly now, shows correct IP.

Now to figure out if PBR (simple-pbr-by-egc) can work as that is why it was in there.
I will have to wait until other people are not around before I start breaking things again.

Thanks Alozaros
for the push!

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--STUBBY install guide
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 kongat & BS WDS AP & Sta-- R7500V2 BS std WDS STA-- WZR-HP-AG300H BS std WDS STA
WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA-- Nanostation M2 AirOS-- LocoM2 AirOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 41491std using R6250.chk WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP

DDWRT Policy Based Routing Guide by egc
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4345
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 6:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Will test the build end of this week, in the mean time just a heads up, PBR possibly broken, see:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6706

maybe related to QoS:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/40172
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/40171

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Gameman Advanced Kid
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 901

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
WDS AP
Router: Netgear R7800
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat (07/11/19)
Kernel: Linux 4.9.185 #443 SMP Thu Jul 11 00:07:59 CEST 2019 armv7l
Status: Working
Reset: Factory reset from GUI
Errors: none so far

WDS STATION
Router ModelNetgear R7500v2
Firmware Version DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M (07/11/19)
Kernel VersionLinux 4.9.185 #443 SMP Thu Jul 11 00:07:59 CEST 2019 armv7l
Status: Working
Reset: Factory reset from GUI
Errors: none so far

FTP:PASS
SAMBA:PASS
WDS BRIDGE: PASS (FAST!)
PORT FORWARDING:PASS!
WIRELESS: PASS!
USB:PASS, with a small error.

noticed this error message when i was mounting usb drives on my router. This is from station in particular. It still mounted the drive and i was able to access it across samba. thought you should know about this.

Code:
--- /dev/sda
Block device, size 7.277 TiB (8001563222016 bytes)
DOS/MBR partition map
Partition 1: 2.000 TiB (2199023255040 bytes, 4294967295 sectors from 1)
Type 0xEE (EFI GPT Protective)
GPT partition map, block size 512 bytes, 128 entries
Disk size 7.277 TiB (8001563222016 bytes, 15628053168 blocks of 512 bytes)
Disk GUID 0DEA6C51-9721-0044-A31B-E81B0BB57CD3
Partition 1: 535 MiB (560988160 bytes, 1095680 blocks of 512 bytes from 2048)
Type Basic Data (GUID A2A0D0EB-E5B9-3344-87C0-68B6B72699C7)
Partition Name "Basic data partition"
Partition GUID A0980582-2EAD-D301-50C8-024197D6E900
Linux swap, version 2, subversion 1, 4 KiB pages, little-endian
Swap size 535.0 MiB (560979968 bytes, 136958 pages of 4 KiB)
Partition 2: 1 GiB (1073741824 bytes, 2097152 blocks of 512 bytes from 1097728)
Type Basic Data (GUID A2A0D0EB-E5B9-3344-87C0-68B6B72699C7)
Partition Name "Basic data partition"
Partition GUID B1920100-10D3-DD83-2EED-D30162250300
Windows NTLDR boot loader
FAT32 file system (hints score 5 of 5)
Volume size 0.998 GiB (1071628288 bytes, 261628 clusters of 4 KiB)
Partition 3: 7.276 TiB (7999923945472 bytes, 15624851456 blocks of 512 bytes from 3194880)
Type Basic Data (GUID A2A0D0EB-E5B9-3344-87C0-68B6B72699C7)
Partition Name "Basic data partition"
Partition GUID A99E0100-905A-B185-2EED-F301523D0300
Windows NTLDR boot loader
NTFS file system
UUID 01D3AD2E86639390
Volume size 7.276 TiB (7999923937280 bytes, 15624851440 sectors)
Partition 4: unused
/dev/sda not mounted Unsupported Filesystem


I also wanted to mention that sometimes when clicking through the menus, the webgui will slow down and take a while to respond. I noticed it especially with the wireless tab mainly. may be different menus for you.

So i took my two routers and i put them to the test! flashed em both with dd-wrt and set em both up as they were before. I ran a tests checking speeds and features and functions. And in the very end every thing looked great on my end!

https://youtu.be/6z37stZQ-8k?t=78

_________________
Is everything okay?

WDS AP - R7800
WDS STATION - R7500V2


Last edited by Gameman Advanced Kid on Sun Jul 14, 2019 19:39; edited 1 time in total
Gameman Advanced Kid
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 901

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 19:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
R7800 (WDS AP)
R7500V2 (STATION)

Following up here with the wireless in particular.

I have the 2.4ghz radio on STATION setup as an AP in wireless G only mode for older devices like the "new nintendo 3dsxl". If i set the channel to "auto" the AP just stays off. I have to specify a channel for it so that it will be visible to other devices.

This is not the case for the radio on WDS AP.

_________________
Is everything okay?

WDS AP - R7800
WDS STATION - R7500V2
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7141
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Status: better than bs builds
Reset: no
Errors: see tickets below

https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5225 *
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5603 *
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5699
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5845
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5848
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5933
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5938
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6059
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6286
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6481 *
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6495
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6511
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6516
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6666 *

included tickets are only those affecting r7800 and kong build only.


ipsec server missing dns/local dns config option.

ticket #6666's workaround for fq_codel (and to a lesser extent, pie as well) remains to be required to get proper upload speeds. download qos still good.

edit: brainslayer's broken interrupt changes overridden kong's, have to manually fix that up and get only wan to core 1 again for best performance

so

for CPUFREQ in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_governor; do [ -f $CPUFREQ ] || continue; echo -n performance > $CPUFREQ; done
echo 1 > /proc/irq/98/smp_affinity
echo 1 > /proc/irq/100/smp_affinity
echo 2 > /proc/irq/101/smp_affinity

for startup commands now

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41659 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1258
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 14:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
just a heads up, PBR possibly broken, see:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6706


R7800 40270M
I cannot make PBR work, WebGUI or script.
Devices in PBR have no internet.
Maybe someone else knows...

Back on 39855M

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--STUBBY install guide
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 kongat & BS WDS AP & Sta-- R7500V2 BS std WDS STA-- WZR-HP-AG300H BS std WDS STA
WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA-- Nanostation M2 AirOS-- LocoM2 AirOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 41491std using R6250.chk WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP

DDWRT Policy Based Routing Guide by egc
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4345
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 14:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
BS just made a commit to get things right.
So wait for the next build.

https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6706#comment:17

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1292

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 15:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
egc wrote:
just a heads up, PBR possibly broken, see:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6706


R7800 40270M
I cannot make PBR work, WebGUI or script.
Devices in PBR have no internet.
Maybe someone else knows...

Back on 39855M


check pm
digitalMedic
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just finished flashing dd-wrt on my EA8500 using the serial port method. Interesting time. Anyway, I have a small, probably insignificant issue. The time reported in the upper right hand of the GUI is off. I set the NTP time zone information to America/Detroit and it did not change. Then I set it to US/Michigan. That didn't correct the time either. Finally, I also tried entering a time server (time-a-g.nist.gov) in the server IP/name box using both time zones. Nothing is fixing the time so that it shows the correct time.

Am I missing something?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum