New BrainSlayer Build: r40167 (06/30/19)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
Jovan
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Nov 2018
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 13:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
KCNewton wrote:
Thanks for the response - do I use the .IMG or the .BIN files for the SSH downgrade?

Hm, since you already have ddwrt installed my guess is r9000-webupgrade.bin is what you want, factory-to-ddwrt.img is only to install over original factory firmware.
Sponsor
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4624
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 13:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't have the R9000 but all netgear routes I have used as well as other routers:
If you install a bad firmware and DON"T reset it or hit the reset button:
You can install by TFTP or using CLI the .bin firmware you previously had to the router and it will come back with same nvram settings you had and work just fine.
There have only been rare occasions I have had to use the reset button and install the factory .img firmware.
'bout all I know Razz
KCNewton
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 13:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks Jovan and Mr. JCD - I haven’t hit the rest button so I’ll try the webupgrade bin file thru CLI. I will let you know how it goes. Thanks again to both of you for all your input. The webIF sure has spoiled me to say the least. I have all past images and many backups from each image so hopefully I can downgrade to restore to a working webIF.
KCNewton
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 17:23    Post subject: Web Interface Down - CLI Commands to Roll Back Reply with quote
In an effort to help others I have posted below the commands and sequence to successfully roll back to a know working version

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Installation#Method_3:_Flashing_with_Command_Line

1. Network connection must be wired and not wireless
2. Backup WAN stats (if needed)
3. SSH to router
4. cd to /tmp
5. wget http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2019/06-27-2019-r40134/netgear-r9000/r9000-webupgrade.bin
6. ls -la to confirm successful download
7. write r9000-webupgrade.bin linux
8. erase nvram;nvram erase (both commands cover multiple versions)
9. reboot
10. Immediately after reboot disconnect LAN cable (cable to my switch) and WAN cable from ISP
11. Connect LAN cable from notebook directly to router
12. Configure notebok to 192.168.1.101
13. Set browser address to 192.168.1.1
14. From the Web Interface, restore last know good backup (for same firmware version)
15. Restore WAN stats (if needed)
16. reboot
17. Immediately reconnect LAN & WAN cables to router
18. Reconfigure notebook network for DHCP and reenable wireless

This process worked on both of my Netgear R9000 routers I hope this helps someone and reduces their stress. Again, thanks for all the continued development.
Jovan
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Nov 2018
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 17:54    Post subject: Re: Web Interface Down - CLI Commands to Roll Back Reply with quote
KCNewton wrote:
In an effort to help others I have posted below the commands and sequence to successfully roll back to a know working version

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Installation#Method_3:_Flashing_with_Command_Line

1. Network connection must be wired and not wireless
2. Backup WAN stats (if needed)
3. SSH to router
4. cd to /tmp
5. wget http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2019/06-27-2019-r40134/netgear-r9000/r9000-webupgrade.bin
6. ls -la to confirm successful download
7. write r9000-webupgrade.bin linux
8. erase nvram;nvram erase (both commands cover multiple versions)
9. reboot
10. Immediately after reboot disconnect LAN cable (cable to my switch) and WAN cable from ISP
11. Connect LAN cable from notebook directly to router
12. Configure notebok to 192.168.1.101
13. Set browser address to 192.168.1.1
14. From the Web Interface, restore last know good backup (for same firmware version)
15. Restore WAN stats (if needed)
16. reboot
17. Immediately reconnect LAN & WAN cables to router
18. Reconfigure notebook network for DHCP and reenable wireless

This process worked on both of my Netgear R9000 routers I hope this helps someone and reduces their stress. Again, thanks for all the continued development.

I'm glad it worked. Very Happy
I just want to add that it works very well via wireless. In fact ever since I discovered this method I only upgraded this way, no cables and even no laptop involved, I do it from my phone using this telnet client: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.server.auditor.ssh.client
KCNewton
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 17:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'll have to look for an IOS utility as I am all Apple. Thanks for the feedback.
Jovan
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Nov 2018
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 18:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
KCNewton wrote:
I'll have to look for an IOS utility as I am all Apple. Thanks for the feedback.

Checked on my old ipad, same app is also on iOS.
RobrPatty
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jun 2016
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 23:19    Post subject: netgear r9000 Reply with quote
this only works if you have not reset router correct?
KCNewton
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 23:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had not hit the reset so I don’t know the answer to that. Sorry I can’t be more help with that.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4624
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 23:35    Post subject: Re: netgear r9000 Reply with quote
RobrPatty wrote:
this only works if you have not reset router correct?

Should work if reset or not.
I only mentioned the NO resetting router because that should work fine if you wanted to retain your previous good settings.
A reset will of course put its LAN IP at 192.168.1.1 ....some use that anyways but I never have.

NOTE: I thought BS fixed the BAD GUI webif with build r40178 --- but NO it only worked for a while. I installed on main and also the EA8500 switch 'bout 6.5 hrs ago and just decided to check webif again a bit ago and they both are mucked up just like r40167. A reboot does not help. I have no ideal how long it worked after 1st installing r40178 but it did work correctly for some time or I never would have put it on the main EA8500.
FWIW, all else works great ... just NO GUI webif worky Twisted Evil
NiTrus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 295
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 23:45    Post subject: Re: netgear r9000 Reply with quote
RobrPatty wrote:
NiTrus wrote:
RobrPatty wrote:
labo wrote:
RobrPatty wrote:
Router: Netgear Nighthawk X10
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40167 std (06/30/19)
No reset

errors: No IPv6 also gui gone to pot. Can't upgrade or downgrade. Can't even restore.


Try tftp method to restore any good previous .IMG file:

Turn off the router, push the reset button and hold it while powering it on, watch the power light until it blinks on/off, then use tftp the factory-to-ddwrt.img file.


Nope....now can't login to router. Won't change password.


telnet or ssh in...write fw.img linux...this is what i did


Can you be a little more specific


1-download previous fw - https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2019/06-27-2019-r40134/netgear-r9000/r9000-webupgrade.bin

2-upload fw to /tmp folder on router using winscp in windows or however u upload files..

3-telnet or ssh into router - cd /tmp - write r9000-webupgrade.bin linux

4-reboot

_________________
NETGEAR R9000 | RT | 40134
NETGEAR R7800 | AP | 40134

vortex05
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Mar 2014
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2019 1:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Model: WNDR4300v1

Status: OK
Reset: No
Errors: None


Router Model: WR841N V9

Status: OK
Reset: No
Errors: None
roadrun777
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:

Checked on my old ipad, same app is also on iOS.


You have an ipad? You lucky duck... I was never disabled enough to afford one.
I did get to play with one at bbuy but they always have everything locked down and disabled so you can't get a feel for it.

But yes, webif is snazbot, nanoo nanoo
mork calling mindy, cleanup on partition linux
RobrPatty
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jun 2016
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2019 18:48    Post subject: netgear r9000 Reply with quote
replaced r9000 with a brand new r9000 today. Working fine on netgear fw.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2019 19:10    Post subject: Upgrades Reply with quote
Router/Version: TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2
Firmware: 40167
Previous: 40009
Mode/Status: WDS AP, WDS Station
Reset: No
Issues/Errors: 2.4GHz wifi was unstable. It would drop the connection after ~24 hours.

Router/Version: D-Link DIR-862L A1 x2
Firmware: 40167
Previous: 40009
Mode/Status: WDS Station
Reset: No
Issues/Errors: None, so far. No WPA3.

Router/Version: D-Link DIR-825 B1
Firmware: 40167
Previous: 40009
Mode/Status: WDS Station
Reset: No
Issues/Errors: None, so far.

Router/Version: TP-Link WR841ND v8
Firmware: 40167
Previous: 40009, 40134
Mode/Status: WDS Station, WDS AP
Reset: No
Issues/Errors: None, so far. No WPA3.

Router/Version: TP-Link WDR3600 v1
Firmware: 40167
Previous: 40009
Mode/Status: WDS Station
Reset: No
Issues/Errors: None, so far. No WPA3.

Router/Version: D-Link DIR-615 C1
Firmware: 40167
Previous: 40009
Mode/Status: WDS Station
Reset: No
Issues/Errors: None, so far. No WPA3.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum