Lost access to my R6700 - Reset not working

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
guentjo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:18    Post subject: Lost access to my R6700 - Reset not working Reply with quote
I have a Netgear R6700 that was flashed many years ago. Lately, I've been having problems and I decided to put a different router on my network.

I made some changes to disable DHCP and I thought that I assigned a static IP. Now, I can't access the router admin page through a web browser. I can connect to the wifi SSID and the internet (connecting new router to a LAN port on the R6700).

I tried to get a list of all IPs on the new router, but none appear to give me access to the DD-WRT admin page.

Have tried 30/30/30 and holding the WPS button during boot and neither are giving me a hard reset as I can still see the SSIDs and connect to them.

I'd be happy with a hard reset or a way to access the admin page.

Any ideas are appreciated.
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2714
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 8:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
well with no dhcp you’d need to force ip in the routers ip range
otherwise if you have a chance to connect anyway and you have
telnet or ssh access than reset via CLI
sadly you didnt mention the current build running so i cant
tell you the correct command to reset via cli
do in mind 30/30/30 reset is a bad idea and ppl very often
believe it works on all routers, in fact it can cause more harm
than benefit.... use either reset button for certain amount of time
or reset via GUI...
try to connect via telnet/ssh as i said and than its easy to reset
unless you disabled those options...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------ DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40672 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DNSCrypt v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913


Last edited by Alozaros on Wed Jun 26, 2019 18:42; edited 1 time in total
guentjo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 14:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the thought. I don't remember the build number and can't see it.

How can I telnet or ssh without knowing the IP address?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 1483
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 15:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
You don't do a 30/30/30 on an ARM router, you risk bricking it. Unless you changed it, the LAN ip address should still be 192.168.1.1 ... at least I haven't found anything that says otherwise.
guentjo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 18:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, I think that I've found the IP address with a scanner (not what I set it to), but I can seem to access the web interface with the IP (192.168.1.22) or ssh root@192.168.1.22. Both time out.

Any other thoughts on hard resetting this box?
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 2714
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 22:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
have you tried to clear browser cache, or try different browser...
otherwise if reset button works do a reset for 15-20, until router restart, than clear cache and try...
if those don't work serial is the last resort...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------ DD-WRT 33772 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40009 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 40672 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Wi-Fi OFF,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.11.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 40270M 4.9 Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DNSCrypt v2 x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 40270M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1087
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 23:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not so sure it will help your situation but look at NMRPFLASH for netgear routers:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1139019#1139019

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--<Kong> BUILDS--Stubby
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 kongat & BS WDS AP & Sta- R7500V2 kongat WDS STA- WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA- Nanostation M2 AirOS- LocoM2 AirOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 kongac WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP
guentjo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jun 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 23:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
Not so sure it will help your situation but look at NMRPFLASH for netgear routers:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1139019#1139019


Thanks, I'll look into that method and the serial cable approach.

I've tried connecting with different machines, so it's not a cache issue.

It's frustrating as the router basically still works as an an access point as it is broadcasting it's own SSID that I can connect to and is connected to the internet through my new router.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum