Setting up a DIR-869 - I cant connect to the internet :-(

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
BigOmni
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 14:31    Post subject: Setting up a DIR-869 - I cant connect to the internet :-( Reply with quote
Hi All,

New here and new to DD-WRT. If I may give some background to my problem, someone may hopefully be able to assist me in getting onto the internet.

A few Hardware and Broadband facts first.

Broadband Fibre Provider: Vodafone - PPPoE
Fibre Modem: Netgear DM200
Router: D-Link DIR-869
Location: UK

Why I changed to DD-WRT: My mate has been having issues with his crappy Vodafone Modem/Router and went out and bought the above equipment. Being a mate I thought I would help him set it up....

I set it all up and had the DM200 working as a Modem/Router. This worked fine (Once Vodafone had FINALLY told us the case of the password letters).

So I moved onto the next part of setting up the DIR-869 (With Stock Firmware) where I found to my total surprise I was completely unable to set a vlanid in the very redacted and pointless stock firmware.

So, I thought sod it, I have always wanted to try DD-WRT (this router is supported). So I flashed the DIR-869 to DD-WRT using version (v3 beta I believe) and was greeted by a rather large and overwhelming set of options (the total reverse of the dumb stock firmware).

I also set the DM200 to modem only and allowed vlan pass through so the router can deal with everything.

Anyway, I have gone as far as I can and cant get the DIR-869 to connect to the internet through the DM-200 via PPPoE.I have also cloned the Vodafone router mac as Vodafone are gits for this too.

So, my question is does anyone know the Vodafone settings I need? Also, do I need to bind the DIR-869 to the DM200 somewhere or do some sort of routing?

Any help will be greatly appreciated Smile

Thank you!
Sponsor
BigOmni
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 20:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Am I on the right lines?
BigOmni
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jun 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2019 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
For some reason the pic I added is gone Sad

Seems no-one can help Sad I will have to try OpenWRT. Maybe I can get that going.

Cheers anyway folks 👍
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4765
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2019 16:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
BigOmni wrote:
For some reason the pic I added is gone Sad

Seems no-one can help Sad I will have to try OpenWRT. Maybe I can get that going.

Cheers anyway folks 👍


NO ... your picture is still there but it should be resized way smaller because it screws up most folks normal reading of forum posts.

NOTE: You must be logged in to see attachments Wink

sorry I can't help with your problem ... Know nothing about ISPs on that side of the world
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum