WRT320N no lights after flashing DD-WRT

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
vinhtq115
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jun 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:27    Post subject: WRT320N no lights after flashing DD-WRT Reply with quote
My WRT320N was on stock firmware. I flashed 14929 K2.6 mini trailed build like the Wiki said and everything went fine. I was able to access WRT320N DD-WRT UI. After that, I decided to try 30-30-30 and WPS reset methods and it worked both (able to browse webui). However, while I was looking which firmware to upgrade next, all lights on the router went off (idk when, noticed it when looking at the router). I tried unplugging and replugging, did both 30-30-30 and WPS reset but the router still not powering on, no lights.
Is it bricked? And is there anyway to fix this?
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3988
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try another power supply
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
vinhtq115
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jun 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Try another power supply


Doesn't work. Still got no lights on. Does that mean the router is unfixable?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2035
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you underclock the CPU back to 300 MHz per the wiki? The only thing I can suggest to fix it is serial recovery. That way, at least you know whether or not it is trying to boot up. If no known good power supply is working, that would be my next option. At least I don't suspect hardware failure.
vinhtq115
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jun 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Did you underclock the CPU back to 300 MHz per the wiki? The only thing I can suggest to fix it is serial recovery. That way, at least you know whether or not it is trying to boot up. If no known good power supply is working, that would be my next option. At least I don't suspect hardware failure.


Oh I didn't read that part since it's not in the instruction so I didn't underclock the CPU.
About the serial recovery, I noticed that the Internet port has 4 serial interfaces (GND, TX, RX, 3.3V). Is there anyway to do it without soldering the board?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2035
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
vinhtq115 wrote:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
Did you underclock the CPU back to 300 MHz per the wiki? The only thing I can suggest to fix it is serial recovery. That way, at least you know whether or not it is trying to boot up. If no known good power supply is working, that would be my next option. At least I don't suspect hardware failure.


Oh I didn't read that part since it's not in the instruction so I didn't underclock the CPU.
About the serial recovery, I noticed that the Internet port has 4 serial interfaces (GND, TX, RX, 3.3V). Is there anyway to do it without soldering the board?


Not that I have tried. All you will need is GND, TX, and RX, though.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3988
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316814

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_E2000#Debricking

Edit: no lights at all with a known good power supply, is a symptom which, I can imagine, could well be pointing to hardware failure Sad

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
vinhtq115
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jun 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316814

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_E2000#Debricking

Edit: no lights at all with a known good power supply, is a symptom which, I can imagine, could well be pointing to hardware failure Sad


Idk, after the 2nd reset, it still runs fine. I only connected the router with my laptop through RJ45 and nothing else(even the Internet cable). Not sure why it happened.

Btw, is it possible to check if the router is truly dead by plugging it for a while and check its temperature?

Update: after plugging it for 15 mins, it generated some heat.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2342
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 13:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
vinhtq115 wrote:
About the serial recovery, I noticed that the Internet port has 4 serial interfaces (GND, TX, RX, 3.3V). Is there anyway to do it without soldering the board?
This is linked and mentioned in egc's first link too, but to be clear, yes there is a serial interface accessible from the WAN port of some Linksys devices:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=62998

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 19.7.5|EA6900v1.1@1GHz FT 2019.3b|DD 41218: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
vinhtq115
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jun 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 13:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
vinhtq115 wrote:
About the serial recovery, I noticed that the Internet port has 4 serial interfaces (GND, TX, RX, 3.3V). Is there anyway to do it without soldering the board?
This is linked and mentioned in egc's first link too, but to be clear, yes there is a serial interface accessible from the WAN port of some Linksys devices:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=62998


Will this work? I'm a bit concerned about the 3.3V and 5V thing (have no knowledge about this). Also, besides that, what else do I need for recovery?
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2342
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 15:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
vinhtq115 wrote:
Will this work? I'm a bit concerned about the 3.3V and 5V thing (have no knowledge about this). Also, besides that, what else do I need for recovery?
I can't access that; the wiki has examples, and tons of threads also.
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_Recovery
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=56739

vinhtq115 wrote:
However, while I was looking which firmware to upgrade next, all lights on the router went off (idk when, noticed it when looking at the router). I tried unplugging and replugging, did both 30-30-30 and WPS reset but the router still not powering on, no lights.
Is it bricked? And is there anyway to fix this?
This sounds bad; were you using the router (to access the network) when this happened, or just had it powered up, looking for firmware separately? Your description indicates hardware failure; even a bricked router should light the power LED when plugged in. If you are sure the power supplies tested are fine (~11-15v output), then I'd suspect internal voltage regulator capacitor failure. Has this device been in service for a long time? Unfortunately, I've never had visible failure signs from any of the many bad caps I've replaced (I had an ESR meter), as opposed to power supply, TV, motherboard, and other failed caps. I've got some 330uF 25v caps I could sell cheap, if you (are in the US and) can solder. Wink I'd expect a device of that vintage has 220uF caps, and 330uF would work fine, as they are just for buffering the IC input/output.

Or, time for an upgrade. Smile I've got various spare routers to sell too. Razz

Before all this though, set a static IP and run a continuous ping, then power it up and see if you get any responses at all. Good luck. Neutral

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 19.7.5|EA6900v1.1@1GHz FT 2019.3b|DD 41218: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
vinhtq115
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jun 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 16:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
vinhtq115 wrote:
Will this work? I'm a bit concerned about the 3.3V and 5V thing (have no knowledge about this). Also, besides that, what else do I need for recovery?
I can't access that; the wiki has examples, and tons of threads also.
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_Recovery
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=56739

vinhtq115 wrote:
However, while I was looking which firmware to upgrade next, all lights on the router went off (idk when, noticed it when looking at the router). I tried unplugging and replugging, did both 30-30-30 and WPS reset but the router still not powering on, no lights.
Is it bricked? And is there anyway to fix this?
This sounds bad; were you using the router (to access the network) when this happened, or just had it powered up, looking for firmware separately? Your description indicates hardware failure; even a bricked router should light the power LED when plugged in. If you are sure the power supplies tested are fine (~11-15v output), then I'd suspect internal voltage regulator capacitor failure. Has this device been in service for a long time? Unfortunately, I've never had visible failure signs from any of the many bad caps I've replaced (I had an ESR meter), as opposed to power supply, TV, motherboard, and other failed caps. I've got some 330uF 25v caps I could sell cheap, if you (are in the US and) can solder. Wink I'd expect a device of that vintage has 220uF caps, and 330uF would work fine, as they are just for buffering the IC input/output.

Or, time for an upgrade. Smile I've got various spare routers to sell too. Razz

Before all this though, set a static IP and run a continuous ping, then power it up and see if you get any responses at all. Good luck. Neutral


Here is the device.



And the description:

Quote:
All kinds of satellites set-top box upgrade
Router,HDD,ADSL,broad band modem firmware upgrade or cracked upgrade
cellphone,,GPS serial communication,vehicle inspection and test,DVD flash and so on
Burn write STC MCU, MCU,renesas MCU, MCU and so on
Simple UART communication,commonly used UART debugging tools in supper terminal
USB signal transferred to TTL signal,may be used by electronic enthusiasts

Features:
Adopt imported controller PL2303HX,which can stabilize the flash with high speed
500mA self recovery fuse for protection
Two data transmission indicator can monitor data transfer status in real time
Reserve 3.3V and 5V pin interface,easy for the DDWRT of different voltage system that need power
The entire board is coated by high quality transparent heat-shrinkable sleeve,making the PCB in insulation state from outside,
so that the board won't burnt down by material short cut.
Electrostatic package,insures the board will not be damaged before use
Support WIN7 system

Package Included:
1PCS*USB To RS232 TTL PL2303HX Auto Converter Module FOR arduino Converter Adapter


Also, I wasn't using it for Internet while I was plugging it (used other Wi-Fi to do that). The power supply is stock one. I also tried another one and it didn't work too. The router was used from 2010-2014, and then about 1-2 month in 2018. Yesterday, I decided to flash DD-WRT to try the repeater mode but it was bricked before I had a chance to try. Thanks for the offer but I'm not in the US so can't buy them. I will try bring it to a repair shop and see if they can revive it. The WRT320N is the only router in my house that has GigabitEthernet ports and I need that to use Steam Link so I don't want to abandon it. Smile

Edit: oh btw, if the router still generates heat even when it is bricked, could that mean the capacitor have not failed?
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2342
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ya that USB serial adapter looks fine. The second power supply you tested; it was rated for 12v and at least 1A right? Can you measure the voltages?
vinhtq115 wrote:
Edit: oh btw, if the router still generates heat even when it is bricked, could that mean the capacitor have not failed?
Unfortunately, no, and in fact it could mean e.g. your SoC is burned up. That happened to my old WRT54GSv1.1 when it's caps failed. :`-( It's what started me checking and replacing bad caps on all my older devices.

But try the ping method I mentioned. Smile

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 19.7.5|EA6900v1.1@1GHz FT 2019.3b|DD 41218: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
vinhtq115
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jun 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:

Ya that USB serial adapter looks fine. The second power supply you tested; it was rated for 12v and at least 1A right? Can you measure the voltages?


Yes it is exactly 12V 1A.

jwh7 wrote:

But try the ping method I mentioned. Smile


With the ping method, all packet say "Destination host unreachable".
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2342
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 13:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
vinhtq115 wrote:
With the ping method, all packet say "Destination host unreachable".
Including a continuous ping at router power-up? It's always good to have a USB serial adapter around if you're gonna use third-party f/w, but it sounds dead to me; and possibly not even reasonably recoverable. Unless you can open it and check/change caps yourself, it's probably best to search thrift shops, ebay, craigslist/facebook/similar for something rather than pay to have yours evaluated and (possibly) repaired at a shop. I've found some amazing deals at Goodwill in the US.
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 19.7.5|EA6900v1.1@1GHz FT 2019.3b|DD 41218: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum