TP-Link Archer A7v5 (US) AC1750

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
plguzman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 22:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tested a couple builds and in both cases reverted back. I need bandwidth control, I can get that with dd-wrt, but the builds break another things. Will continue monitoring the development in the C7. I think I could see that one like a benchmark for my A7.
Sponsor
transgressor
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Dec 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2019 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello knowledgeable gents.

I very stupidly attempted to install dd-wrt on my Archer A7 V5 in an attempt to hook it up with my VPN. To say it was a miserable failure would be an understatement.

Now, all I want to do is revert it back to tp link default. I have followed this thread closely and despite several attempts with TFTP to flash the original firmware back on, I have gotten nowhere. Bellow is the message I receive when flash is attempted.

"Connection received from 192.168.0.86 on port 1388 [19/12 12:10:37.625]
Read request for file <ArcherC7v5_tp_recovery.bin>. Mode octet [19/12 12:10:37.625]
OACK: <timeout=5,> [19/12 12:10:37.625]
Using local port 60436 [19/12 12:10:37.625]
<ArcherC7v5_tp_recovery.bin>: sent 30250 blks, 15487737 bytes in 6 s. 0 blk resent [19/12 12:10:43.437]"

I think I messed her up real good. Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1378
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2019 19:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
transgressor wrote:
Hello knowledgeable gents.

I very stupidly attempted to install dd-wrt on my Archer A7 V5 in an attempt to hook it up with my VPN. To say it was a miserable failure would be an understatement.

Now, all I want to do is revert it back to tp link default. I have followed this thread closely and despite several attempts with TFTP to flash the original firmware back on, I have gotten nowhere. Bellow is the message I receive when flash is attempted.

"Connection received from 192.168.0.86 on port 1388 [19/12 12:10:37.625]
Read request for file <ArcherC7v5_tp_recovery.bin>. Mode octet [19/12 12:10:37.625]
OACK: <timeout=5,> [19/12 12:10:37.625]
Using local port 60436 [19/12 12:10:37.625]
<ArcherC7v5_tp_recovery.bin>: sent 30250 blks, 15487737 bytes in 6 s. 0 blk resent [19/12 12:10:43.437]"

I think I messed her up real good. Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.


The A7 is a single core CPU so VPN performance will at best get you about 20-30mbps...

So, can you boot dd-wrt now?
I assume not... You need to read about TFTP recovery, and my suggestion would be to use a newer DD-WRT build like this one to TFTP flash it. The TP-Link stock firmware is still garbage IMHO.

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2019/11-21-2019-r41586/tplink_archer-a7-v5/

TFTP info about the C7 applies directly to the A7:
https://openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/archer-c5-c7-wdr7500#tftp_recovery_de-bricking

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44700 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
transgressor
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Dec 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2019 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Duly noted on the VPN aspect. What would you recommend to align with pia vpn?

I guess my main hope is to revert to stock so I can return it. I wasn't satisfied enough with the switch to want to keep it.

The router is completely unresponsive. Upon startup the power and WPS lights are on but eventually just a solid power light.
transgressor
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Dec 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2019 19:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think I have amazingly messed it up beyond repair.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1378
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2019 20:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
transgressor wrote:
I think I have amazingly messed it up beyond repair.


Don't lose hope...You need to get the router into TFTP mode. It's certainly recoverable. Please read the link I gave you how to put it into TFTP mode and you'll get her back.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44700 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
transgressor
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Dec 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2019 21:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've tried flashing with TFTP many times to no avail.

My desire to fix this is completely gone.

I appreciate the encouragement, though.
rfkill
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 15:54    Post subject: Archer C7 v5 needed 12-20-2018-r38060 factory-to-ddwrt.bin Reply with quote
msoengineer wrote:
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2018%2F12-20-2018-r38060%2Ftplink_archer-a7-v5%2F


Although newer versions of the factory-to-ddwrt.bin didn't work ("Invalid File Format") the link above led to a factory to fddwrt bin that WORKED! ..like a charm, via the web interface.

(Downloads › betas › 2018 › 12-20-2018-r38060 › tplink_archer-a7-v5)

My AP is a new Archer A7 v5.0.
Out of the box it had factory firmware 1.0.7 Build 20181210 rel.54182(5553)

I haven't loaded any ddwrt firmware since the "factory to ddwrt" yet, as I'm trying to sort out which ddwrt release is the most stable for my model (I see lots of reports of a range of problems with newer releases of ddwrt on this model)


Before trying the link above, I had tried web, and tftp methods of loading the firmware. when trying TFTP, the router downloaded the firmware but didn't do anything with it, seemingly rejecting it. I don't have a serial console to tell why but I'm guessing same reason as the GUI alluded to.

If anybody is on an Archer C7 v5 please let me know the latest stable release of ddwrt you've got working.
tbbrightman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2020 20:07    Post subject: Archer A7 v5 almost reverted Reply with quote
I installed dd-wrt on a TP-link Archer A7 v5 and shortly thereafter decided to switch to a Netgear R7000.

Accordingly, I tried to revert to TP-link factory firmware and have had no success.

My current status is that I can reliably ssh to the device, visit /tmp, and use scp to upload firmware files. However, my luck runs out if I try to install firmware using 'write [filename] linux &'.

I have tried but cannot get a tftp upload to work.

I get the message: 'Flash : [filename] : Bad trx header'

Furthermore, there are many files in that directory so I'm reluctant to try any old .bin file that's there on the theory that there must be copy of the right one somewhere in there.

Why can't I simply flash the tplink .bin file? Can the insistence on a trx header be overcome?

Any help or guidance on getting past the trx header problem would be very much appreciated.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1378
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2020 20:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have not been able to figure out how to get TFTP to work on the A7 yet...

It's going to require that I learn how to use wireshark to watch what the router does on boot...I would appreciate any hints/how-to's or good links. I have not found any in my very brief googling around, like two 3 minute searches...


The Archer A7 had a bad GPIO mapping that BS fixed based on my comments back to him to fix the reset button after build 42204. The WPS button is mapped to the right spot on builds newer than 42204.

Normally you would push the reset button for 15ish seconds on boot and watch for the WPS light to turn on...the A7v5 does not do this... the wps light turns on, and then the router does its boot sequence as normal... perhaps the tftp server needs to see the router faster? I don't have the extra time to play with this right now.

I need to figure out if the A7v5 is looking for a server, or if it has a server on it... This will tell you how tftp the file as a client or a server...

How fast do you need this fixed?

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44700 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7302
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2020 21:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
TP-Link recovery via TFTP is pretty standard....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fi0pC_ON5Vo

https://mikepalmer.net/tp-link-archer-c7-ac1750-v2-tftp-recovery/

https://openwrt.org/toh/hwdata/tp-link/tp-link_archer_a7_v5

Quote:
Installation method(s):GUI OEM, U-Boot TFTP recovery, see git-commitComment installation:For TFTP, rename -factory.bin image to ArcherC7v5_tp_recovery.bin

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1378
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2020 22:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
TP-Link recovery via TFTP is pretty standard....


Normally, yes...

This A7v5 has been a PITA. a lot of the stuff documented on OPENWRT is flat out wrong. I think Amazon intentionally asked TP-Link to make it hard to modify the A7v5's...

Normally I would agree, but in this case the A7v5 is finicky to say the least and no one has taken the time to dig into it and play with one...

I have a spare one sitting on my desk right now, but I am limited on my time to mess around with it right now to put together an official how-to guide for tftp. I've been having BS fix things as I find them for the A7v5.

I'll get to this when I get to it. My company/work disbanded the office this week and everyone is working from home making an already slow process even worse....that's my focus for now...need to stay employed over here.... S.I.T.K.

This can wait; sorry folks!

If not, anyone is welcome to go on ebay and buy one for $25 and start messing around in the mean time...LOL.

For $25 this router is decent for the entry level ISP plans up to 150mbps/10mbps. It doesn't skip a beat at my buddies house with 4 heavy users.

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44700 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7302
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2020 0:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't have any of the Broadcom or Atheros Archer series in inventory, otherwise, it wouldn't be a problem, I got the time. I guess if I could find a de-facto A7v5 ... what's $25 more in the name of science, eh? Cool Wink
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1378
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2020 1:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK, this P.O.S. A7v5 is looking for a tftp server on 192.168.0.66 (Router is 192.168.0.86) and the filename must be ArcherC7v5_tp_recovery.bin

OK, one part of the problem solved....

now you should be able to run a tftp server on your pc/laptop and push the file to the router....

Make sure TFTP is allowed on the firewall for both private and public networks, which is what 192.168.0.66 will be on the first time you boot up the router....

Also, I ended up using TFTP32 instead of TFTP64 like I normally do. I am not sure if the firewall is the issue or the 64bit version.

However, almost as soon as I powered on the router holding down the reset button, the A7v5 grabbed the file and copied it. Then it did its thing and ended up rebooting back into stock firmware....


OK, Now to go write a full wiki on tftp for the A7v5....FML...

_________________
FORUM RULES

TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]44700 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]napping
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare napping)
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7302
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2020 2:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh, so you perused the links I posted... I think the OpenWRT resource(s) mentioned that? Good to know my effort was not in vain. Or yours, for that matter. Thanks for your work!
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 4
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum