R8500- VLAN Setup for Hyper-V Pihole Server

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
sephddwrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2019
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2019 19:42    Post subject: R8500- VLAN Setup for Hyper-V Pihole Server Reply with quote
Hey guys! I am trying to setup a scenario where I can use 1 Wire connected to my Server as two different wires.

I am basically running PiHole in Hyper-V through a second NIC which gets routed to the Pihole VM and I'd very much like to eliminate that and have one LAN wire do both. I've tried to use the default switch option in Hyper-V but I then I end up with no DLNA connectivity to my Plex Server ( Non virtualized ) which is running on the same PC.

Basically, my network config looks like this right now

Modem/Router (192.168.0.0/24) which connects to -> DDWRT R8500 (LAN 192.168.1.0/24 - WAN 192.168.0.10) (All my devices are then connected to its 6 Ports)
Server-PC (192.168.1.14) and Server-NIC2 on 192.168.1.11 (External-Without allowing host to manage/share NIC)

I was hoping that there could be a way where I can setup VLAN's which would enable me to assign a VLAN value in the Hyper-V default switch, which in turn would keep the Plex DLNA server up and running as well and give the Pihole server its own interface.

Naturally, the Pihole VLAN has to be then accessible from all the other devices on my network as its gonna be doing the DNS resolution for everyone!
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5306
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 6:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is the output of NVRAM SHOW | GREP VLAN.*PORTS?
sephddwrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2019
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 13:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
What is the output of NVRAM SHOW | GREP VLAN.*PORTS?


Sorry for replying a bit late mate! Was away on the Weekend Smile

Heres the output of the command you asked for in addition to the two other commands from the Vlan Wiki guide just incase they might help you!


nvram show | grep vlan.*ports | sort
Code:
size: 59399 bytes (71673 left)
vlan1ports=1 2 3 4 5 7 8*
vlan2ports=0 8u


nvram show | grep port.*vlans | sort
Code:
port0vlans=2 18 19 21
port1vlans=1 18 19 21
port2vlans=1 18 19 21
port3vlans=1 18 19 21
port4vlans=1 18 19 21
port5vlans=1 2 16



nvram show | grep vlan.*hwname | sort
Code:
size: 59399 bytes (71673 left)
vlan1hwname=et2
vlan2hwname=et2


I also screenshotted the Networking Tab as well as the VLAN Tab.



Screenshot_5.png
 Description:
VLAN Tab
 Filesize:  64.52 KB
 Viewed:  374 Time(s)

Screenshot_5.png



download (1).png
 Description:
Networking 2
 Filesize:  67.93 KB
 Viewed:  374 Time(s)

download (1).png



download.png
 Description:
Networking 1
 Filesize:  100.41 KB
 Viewed:  374 Time(s)

download.png


Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5306
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 13:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
nvram set vlan3hwname="et2"
nvram set vlan1ports="1t 2 3 4 5 7 8"
nvram set vlan3ports="1t 8"
nvram set port1vlans="1 3 16 18 19 21"
nvram commit
reboot

Port 1 will be tagged with VLAN1 and VLAN3
You have to enter the same configuration at the other end of the cable.
sephddwrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2019
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 14:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
nvram set vlan3hwname="et2"
nvram set vlan1ports="1t 2 3 4 5 7 8"
nvram set vlan3ports="1t 8"
nvram set port1vlans="1 3 16 18 19 21"
nvram commit
reboot

Port 1 will be tagged with VLAN1 and VLAN3
You have to enter the same configuration at the other end of the cable.


Thanks for the fast reply and helping out man! I was just banging my head against the wall (Vlan-Wiki) and trying to figure this out but it gets real confusing real fast Smile

So from my understanding of your commands... Port 1 (VLAN1) will have normal internet access as well as access to VLAN3

and Port 1(VLAN3) will also have normal internet access as well as access to VLAN1. Right?

EDIT: After trying tinker with the settings on the other end of the cable it seems like HyperV and using the default adapter for both normal internet access AND VLAN Access for a Virtual Machine doesn't really work Smile I guess VLANs can be useful if you have a 2nd adapter and use that to bridge out many different Vlans to different VMs!


Last edited by sephddwrt on Sun Jun 02, 2019 16:30; edited 1 time in total
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5306
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 16:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
You must set an IP for VLAN 3 on the router. Does it show up in the Networking Page in the GUI?

VLAN1 will continue to work after you have tagged the network card on the client machine.
sephddwrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2019
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
You must set an IP for VLAN 3 on the router. Does it show up in the Networking Page in the GUI?

VLAN1 will continue to work after you have tagged the network card on the client machine.


I manually assigned Vlan3 to bridge Br0 and that enabled DHCP. I tagged VlanID 1 to the NIC through BIOS and tagged Vlan3 to the settings in the HyperV. Afterward, VLAN3 worked perfectly, however, I had no connectivity on my main OS Very Happy. Changing some settings around get both working but then No Plex DLNA connectivity (Which is the main reason I wanted to do the VLANs in the first place) I will try to troubleshoot this over the week when I have time to get this setup working!

Thanks for your help and for teaching me how to setup VLANs on DDWRT!

It's just hard to sit there and problem solve when you have people trying to use the Internet.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum