Set Router Login with Telnet After Reset?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
thebluebit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jun 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 19:36    Post subject: Set Router Login with Telnet After Reset? Reply with quote
I am playing around with connecting to the router via telnet.

Is it possible, after a router reset, to set the username and password of the dd-wrt router settings using a telnet connection?

For instance, if I were to set the initial username / password of the router, I could use telnet 192.168.1.1 and log in using "root" and the set password.

If I try using the same connection right after a router reset, I get "...Could not open connection to the host, on port 23: Connect failed."
Sponsor
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5397
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 19:51    Post subject: Re: Set Router Login with Telnet After Reset? Reply with quote
thebluebit wrote:
If I try using the same connection right after a router reset, I get "...Could not open connection to the host, on port 23: Connect failed."
seems they are many many builds for about a year where telnet is NOT actually turned on (even though it will show enabled in 'Services' page) --- It becomes enabled after any 'Apply Settings' button is used after a router reset.
That has been my experience....
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4224
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:02    Post subject: Re: Set Router Login with Telnet After Reset? Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
thebluebit wrote:
If I try using the same connection right after a router reset, I get "...Could not open connection to the host, on port 23: Connect failed."
seems they are many many builds for about a year where telnet is NOT actually turned on (even though it will show enabled in 'Services' page) --- It becomes enabled after any 'Apply Settings' button is used after a router reset.
That has been my experience....


thanks for sharing it mrjcd...
i've found it hard way thought it was a bug ... but yep there is a good reason for it i do agree...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 45993 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46316 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Ad-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 46166 BS AP,NAT,AD/Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 46259 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 46259 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,VLAN's,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum