FYI....VINT and V24Final

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
physicy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 19:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
on the under side it says "Modle No WRT54G ver.2" and on the top it says "wireless-G 2.4 GHz
Sponsor
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11475
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I updated the top level post of this thread.

This is a very old thread and some of the information regarding NEWD on 4712 processor units no longer applies.

Bottom line - Check your nvram variable for wl0_corerev (corrected)

4 and lower = VINT only
5 and higher = NEWD.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.


Last edited by redhawk0 on Mon Nov 10, 2008 19:32; edited 1 time in total
physicy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 22:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
how would i check that
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11475
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 22:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Its burried in this thread...but here it is again.

nvram show |grep wl0_corerev (corrected)

Do this from a telnet session or putty terminal window.

It can also be done from the Administration>>Commands tab.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.


Last edited by redhawk0 on Mon Nov 10, 2008 19:31; edited 1 time in total
mrkrad
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 23:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
my wrt54gs v2 corerev 7 was dropping connections like mad with non-vint then i went to vint and it was less flakey then i installed dd-wrt on a wrt600n and it was alot more reliable. maybe a disconnect per day now.


maybe i need to try bs pre-sp2 latest but i was not impressed with reliability.

the netgear wg311v3 card would drop to 1.0mbps and stay there forever when this happened.

doesn't happen with wrt600n. The card has a 14dbi gain antenna at about 12 feet from the access point in both cases.
physicy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 0:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
Its burried in this thread...but here it is again.

nvram show |grep wl_corerev

Do this from a telnet session or putty terminal window.

It can also be done from the Administration>>Commands tab.

redhawk


do i download every file when i find the routers downloads
vulcan59
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 65
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 2:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:

Bottom line - Check your nvram variable for wl_corerev
redhawk


I think this should be wl0_corerev.

Just out of interest why do we have both?
Code:

root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show |grep corerev
size: 22666 bytes (10102 left)
wl_corerev=
wl0_corerev=7
root@DD-WRT:~#
gene
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 619

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 16:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
@RedHawk

are you sure about your corerev requirements ? I have not been able to run NEWD on my router with out transmit errors averaging above 50%....thats the only reason I run the VINT builds, NEWD results in so many transmit errors that wifi slows down and operates at low connection speeds. ???

root@linuxrouter:~# nvram show |grep wl_corerev
size: 22209 bytes (10559 left)
wl_corerev=
root@linuxrouter:~# nvram show |grep corerev
size: 22209 bytes (10559 left)
wl_corerev=
wl0_corerev=7
root@linuxrouter:~# nvram show |grep wl0_corerev
size: 22209 bytes (10559 left)
wl0_corerev=7

_________________
1 WRT160N v3 - remote AP WPA2 Personal Aes dd-wrt-mini-trailed CPU OC400,
2 wrt54G v3(BCM4712 chip rev 1, corerev=7)- AP WPA2 Personal Aes dd-wrt-mini-generic CPU OC228,
1 wrt54gs v6 - remote AP WPA2 Personal Aes dd-wrt-micro CPU OC228 ,
3 WAP54g v3 - repeater, client Bridge, repeater bridge dd-wrt-micro CPU OC225,
1 NetGear WNR2000 v3 AP Atheros AR7241 ver 1 rev 1.1 (0x0101) Trailed build CPU OC360
DD-WRT usually the most current BS builds and less frequently lately EKO builds(because of new BS rules that eliminated EKO builds I used).
JoeM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 15:02    Post subject: Re: FYI....VINT and V24Final Reply with quote
[quote="redhawk0"]UPDATE 11/08/08 - lets try to eliminate the confusion. This is a very old thread now. Early NEWD builds were rather problematic on some of the 4712 radios and frankly the VINT ran better...however, this has changed...."

I think this post/thread needs to be closed & stickied.
gene
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 619

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 18:52    Post subject: Re: FYI....VINT and V24Final Reply with quote
[quote="JoeM"]
redhawk0 wrote:
UPDATE 11/08/08 - lets try to eliminate the confusion. This is a very old thread now. Early NEWD builds were rather problematic on some of the 4712 radios and frankly the VINT ran better...however, this has changed...."

I think this post/thread needs to be closed & stickied.
@2JoeM
Kimeee a break pal, I don't consider it settled and closed, I get 50% transmit errors on NEWD and I meet the min requirements that are recommended for NEWD, yet I don't have the issue with VINT. I think the min needs to be looked at AGAIN and corrected or verified before its closed and stickied. I'd like to know if its verified, then why can't I run it without 50% transmit errors.?

_________________
1 WRT160N v3 - remote AP WPA2 Personal Aes dd-wrt-mini-trailed CPU OC400,
2 wrt54G v3(BCM4712 chip rev 1, corerev=7)- AP WPA2 Personal Aes dd-wrt-mini-generic CPU OC228,
1 wrt54gs v6 - remote AP WPA2 Personal Aes dd-wrt-micro CPU OC228 ,
3 WAP54g v3 - repeater, client Bridge, repeater bridge dd-wrt-micro CPU OC225,
1 NetGear WNR2000 v3 AP Atheros AR7241 ver 1 rev 1.1 (0x0101) Trailed build CPU OC360
DD-WRT usually the most current BS builds and less frequently lately EKO builds(because of new BS rules that eliminated EKO builds I used).
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11475
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
vulcan59 wrote:

I think this should be wl0_corerev.



You are correct....my error. it is the wl0_corerev variable that is of interest.

As to why we have both....only the Devs could answer that.

And no...this shouldn't be closed and stickied. I can only do limited testing...if VINT works better on the 600n units (or any other unit)...then run VINT...I don't have a 600n series to test. I can only supply my findings...and what the Devs have said about VINT and the corerev. (what I posted came DIRECTLY from BrainSlayer himself)

I am not seeing any Tx errors on my V2.0 running NEWD. This actually runs better than my V2.0 that runs VINT. Signal to noise ratio is better and sensitivity is better. It isn't just the radio either...I have switched VINT/NEWD on these two units and the benefits switch with the FW.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
gene
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 619

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 16:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Redhawk
I decided to give NEWD another shot on my hardware listed in sig.....you are correct, it appears now that the transmit errors are no longer an issue and the new driver works as it should.

I have seen one minor issue where every little config change I make, no matter how little or minor causes the wan connection to drop. I'm not sure whats going on there, but all Internet access is gone due to no wan IP address or DNS server addresses - which is corrected by a release/renew on the wan status page.

Beyond that, NEWD actually looks good now with my hardware including WiViz which was a problem in another thread with EKO build 10776 VINT mini. NEWD mini EKO 10776 solved that issue.

The transmit errors issue MAY have been due to a low XMit power setting where I thought the safe default for my hardware was supposed to be 28mw. I am now under the impression that default linksys firmware xmit power is 70-84mw, so I'm using the new safe values and transmit errors seem to be gone. Live and learn.

_________________
1 WRT160N v3 - remote AP WPA2 Personal Aes dd-wrt-mini-trailed CPU OC400,
2 wrt54G v3(BCM4712 chip rev 1, corerev=7)- AP WPA2 Personal Aes dd-wrt-mini-generic CPU OC228,
1 wrt54gs v6 - remote AP WPA2 Personal Aes dd-wrt-micro CPU OC228 ,
3 WAP54g v3 - repeater, client Bridge, repeater bridge dd-wrt-micro CPU OC225,
1 NetGear WNR2000 v3 AP Atheros AR7241 ver 1 rev 1.1 (0x0101) Trailed build CPU OC360
DD-WRT usually the most current BS builds and less frequently lately EKO builds(because of new BS rules that eliminated EKO builds I used).
THE GRAY
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Nov 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 20:51    Post subject: I know this will show as my FIRST POST HERE, but... Reply with quote
I read the info on using "NEWD" but I do not see a build or any other reference to it. I am of the school of thought that this refers to the hardware in the WIKI labeled WRT54GS that DOES NOT have the vintage info in parenthsis... Would that be a the correct assumption? I feel pretty stupid here, and maybe I have missed the word "NEWD" in the WIKI???

Before anyone asks, WRT54GS v2.1...

Thanks in advance for clarifying this silliness (I mean MY silliness or confusion!)
Embarassed

EDIT> OK, I am in the directory now for downloading firmware labeled as my router is above and still no NEWD. I did look at the BETAS and did not see it there either... Am I blind or just stupid?
Regards,
THE GRAY
DiGiTY
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a WRT54G v2... can I use dd-wrt.v24-11536_VINT_std.bin or is it still best that I stick with dd-wrt.v24-9517_VINT_std.bin?
jmh9072
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 21:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
DiGiTY wrote:
I have a WRT54G v2... can I use dd-wrt.v24-11536_VINT_std.bin or is it still best that I stick with dd-wrt.v24-9517_VINT_std.bin?
I would recommend upgrading to the latest version. There have been many fixes since that release. You may even want try the NEWD builds unless you are using virtual interfaces.
_________________
WRT54G v3 - v24 r14471M NEWD Eko - AP
WRT350N v1.0
WRT600N v1.1 - halfway there!
Se7en is Darker...
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 9, 10, 11  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 10 of 11
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum