IPV6 loosing defeult gateway after some time.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
alexjcgdf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jan 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 12:21    Post subject: IPV6 loosing defeult gateway after some time. Reply with quote
Hi all;

I am facing some issues with my TPLINK WDR4300 and IPv6.and my ISP.
As I am seeing here, after some time, my router (modem is at bridge mode and config at ddwrt is "prefix delegation") I loose the default gateway from my ISP. I saw some workrounds with the KONG and bootstrap and rdisc6 however I dont have that option for my router model. Is there any WIP to get the rdisc6 option to be embedded to the firmware?

Thanks a lot!
Sponsor
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1626
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 1:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have attached the a zipped version of rdisc6 file for you to try. You need to enable the USB storage on your router and format a USB drive with "jffs" and "opt" directories (without quotes) that your will mount on your router. Copy the unzipped file into one of the directories.
_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r46329 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44483 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
alexjcgdf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jan 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 11:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
First of all: THANKS A LOT Very Happy

But I have some questions:

* can I use this file with the firmware beta 39715 (current installed on my wdr4300). My current firmware is not a KONG firmware.

* after installing this, does it become permanent on the crontab after the configuration?

*is there any difference on the installation on the firmware I am using or the KONG. Can I use the "howtos" that I found for KONG´s?

Once more, thanks!
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1626
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 13:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you have Kong build installed on your broadcom router you should be able to run bootstrap and install qdisc6. Google "bootstrap kong ddwrt" (without quotes). There are steps to the process but I don't have them off the top of my head. Do some digging on th web.


For now I'll give you express version...

I have this file on Kong Builds, Broadcom R7000 (Kernal 4.4.x) and Atheros R7800 (Kernal 4.9.x).

WAN port on the R7000 is vlan2, so my cron example is also based on the file stored in directory jffs on the USB drive and is executed every 15min.

Code:
*/15 * * * * root /jffs/rdisc6 -1 -q vlan2


I also have it at the end of the firewall...

Code:
sleep 5
# On WAN-UP Update IPv6 Default Route
/jffs/rdisc6 -1 -q vlan2

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r46329 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44483 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
alexjcgdf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jan 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 22:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yep, I found only for KONG firmware but that is not my case. I use a normal due to my router that is not a Netgear. So I don't have the Bootstrap feature to install it. Can I install in mine (not KONG) without the boostrap method?

Thanks one more time
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1626
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 0:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would 1st run the command in a telnet session to make sure your router doesn't lockup and IPv6 starts working. If it works then use the steps I posted if you doen't have access to Bootstrap.

I know it works with Kernal 4.4.x and 4.9.x.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r46329 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44483 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum