KongPro (OpenWRT) - 2019 / 08 / 28

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 18, 19, 20  Next
Author Message
regsofweb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Nov 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 14:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
regsofweb wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
atiensivu wrote:
Running this build on R7800, doing wireless client (STA) to an LTE hotspot on 2.4ghz and it is smoking the speed I used to get out of recent BS and Kong builds on my older R7000.

I wouldn't expect much of a speed difference with LTE, but the latency is especially lower.

Does your changes have a github anywhere?

This Novatel 7730L used to use USB RNDIS on the first firmware shipped by Verizon in the USA but now seems to use CDC now. That's good overall but everyone, including me, sees it just cycle between connect and disconnect on the USB hub. Not sure if there is a special setting or usb modeset to kick start it correctly.

Thanks for this build Kong, I'm really enjoying it.


I just added the modules for rndis and ipeth, next build will have the packages for it in the opkg repo, maybe that helps.


Hi, KONG. Thanks for your great jobs. My EA8500 is at "KONG 19 2019-Q2 / LuCI openwrt-19.07 branch (f138fc93)". Works fantastic.
I have a 320G ESATA disk. This disk was tested on windows10 using FAT32, got read=85M/s write=78M/s.
Attached it to EA8500, only got 33M/s when reading from samba by wire network. I use dd to test the io speed. The file size is 1024M .

time dd if=./largefile of=/dev/null bs=4k
262144+0 records in
262144+0 records out
real 0m 14.73s
user 0m 0.34s
sys 0m 3.69s

1024/14.73=69.5M/s

Does that mean Samba is the key of low speed?


New samba4 is the problem, I ran a test with both samba4 and proftpd on the same router. Samba4 gave me around 30MB/s, but with ftp to the same folder I got 85MB/s. It is pretty strange as cpu is not fully maxed out, when using samba, that's why I first thought it is a IO problem until I tried ftp.

When I feel like it I'll profile it, must be some waiting/timeout etc. issue.


Hi KONG,
Could you please add NFS server to packages? NFS generally got better performance than SAMBA.
Thanks a lot for your fabulous work on the firmware.
Sponsor
Pu-240
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 14:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Advice please if anyone can offer it:

I'm currently running a R7800 + kong dd-wrt + OpenVPN/NordVPN on a pretty fast fibre connection. Not seeing great performance on the IPs included in the policy based routing due to the overhead of OpenVPN.

I'm thinking to purchase another R7800 and take the jump to Kong's Open WRT with the intention of switching to Wireguard + some other VPN provider. But test and configure offline, then re-purpose 1 router as an AP.

Can anyone confirm Wireguard client on Kong/OpenWRT/R7800?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7173
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 14:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pu-240 wrote:
Advice please if anyone can offer it:

I'm currently running a R7800 + kong dd-wrt + OpenVPN/NordVPN on a pretty fast fibre connection. Not seeing great performance on the IPs included in the policy based routing due to the overhead of OpenVPN.

I'm thinking to purchase another R7800 and take the jump to Kong's Open WRT with the intention of switching to Wireguard + some other VPN provider. But test and configure offline, then re-purpose 1 router as an AP.

Can anyone confirm Wireguard client on Kong/OpenWRT/R7800?


what exactly is the second r7800 supposed to do.?

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42015 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 ------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42015 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42015 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42015 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42015 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41631 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3211
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 15:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
what exactly is the second r7800 supposed to do.?



may be in his country R7800 is a pocket cash, or beer money...

in general you can run wireguard clients on DDWRT router too...
i can see it, in the menu...sadly to play with it, i dont have a VPN that supports it, nor have any VPN on my systems at all...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 42054 BS WAP/Switch (wired)
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 42054 BS
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 41813 BS (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 42054 BS (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 42054 BS (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT,VPN)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 42054 BS (AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Blocking,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 via Entware by mac913
Pu-240
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 17:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
Pu-240 wrote:
Advice please if anyone can offer it:

I'm currently running a R7800 + kong dd-wrt + OpenVPN/NordVPN on a pretty fast fibre connection. Not seeing great performance on the IPs included in the policy based routing due to the overhead of OpenVPN.

I'm thinking to purchase another R7800 and take the jump to Kong's Open WRT with the intention of switching to Wireguard + some other VPN provider. But test and configure offline, then re-purpose 1 router as an AP.

Can anyone confirm Wireguard client on Kong/OpenWRT/R7800?


what exactly is the second r7800 supposed to do.?


Thanks for the reply.

Eventually use it as an Access Point to cover my office. But that's really nothing to do with it except that half my house stops working if I take down the main router.

I've no experience with wireguard at all and not many have since its pretty new. And that element of my question might well belong in Advanced Networking.

Mullvad for example only support OpenWRT. So my question is does anyone use Kong OpenWRT for a similar purpose successfully?
Pu-240
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 17:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
what exactly is the second r7800 supposed to do.?



may be in his country R7800 is a pocket cash, or beer money...

in general you can run wireguard clients on DDWRT router too...
i can see it, in the menu...sadly to play with it, i dont have a VPN that supports it, nor have any VPN on my systems at all...


Very helpful. I call it approximately equal to the cost of 3 months fibre connection from BT in the UK. So no. Even a new router is not that much really in those terms.
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1315
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 18:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pu-240 wrote:

Mullvad for example only support OpenWRT.


Some here have it working with DD-WRT:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=319319

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--STUBBY DoT install guide
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 BS std GW AP & GW WDS AP -- R7500V2 BS std WDS STA-- WZR-HP-AG300H BS std WDS STA
WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA-- Nanostation M2 AirOS-- LocoM2 AirOS
MikroTik SXT R LTE RouterOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 41813std TFTP R6250.chk WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP

DDWRT Policy Based Routing Guide-1.03 by egc
Pu-240
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 19:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
Pu-240 wrote:

Mullvad for example only support OpenWRT.


Some here have it working with DD-WRT:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=319319


Thanks and really actually helpful.

That is a great thread and maybe worth a go and a couple of pounds on a months Mulvad. As noted in that thread only OpenWRT is supported by any VPN provider so I'm still tempted by Kongs OpenWRT. Assuming there's nothing prohibitive about Kongs build i'll have a look round the OpenWRT forums for any experiences too.

Thanks again
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1304

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 22:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
new build 08/28 working. couldn't find the new tx burst config vht option. where to find it? also minor issue mtd block error is back

kern.err kernel: [ 11.615638] print_req_error: I/O error, dev mtdblock0, sector 0
kern.err kernel: [ 11.616115] print_req_error: I/O error, dev mtdblock0, sector 0
kern.err kernel: [ 11.620358] Buffer I/O error on dev mtdblock0, logical block 0, async page read
kern.err kernel: [ 11.628797] print_req_error: I/O error, dev mtdblock1, sector 0
kern.err kernel: [ 11.634001] print_req_error: I/O error, dev mtdblock1, sector 0
kern.err kernel: [ 11.639452] Buffer I/O error on dev mtdblock1, logical block 0, async page read


Last edited by jerrytouille on Wed Aug 28, 2019 22:58; edited 1 time in total
RainGater
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 22:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I see that @Kong updated Adblock to 3.8.2 in the 08/28/19 build (thank you @Kong for the build). But, the Adblock dev has released 3.8.3 as he has fixed few issues.

Adblock 3.8.3:
    fix a dns restart issue if 'flush dns cache' is set
    fix a suspend/resume issue, the status wasn't properly updated
    fix a long standing query issue
    rework return code handling, mostly for debugging
    various cleanups & cosmetics

I updated it manually to 3.8.3.

_________________
Netgear R7800 - KONG 19 2019-Q2 / LuCI openwrt-19.07 branch (git-19.190.55584-ab90938)
aamadorj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Dec 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 23:12    Post subject: One more happy Kong's Open-WRT firmware user Reply with quote
Thanks @Kong for all your work with DD-WRT and now with Open-WRT. With the guidance of @jerrytouille, my R7500v2 is now using this excellent Kong firmware.

One more happy user!
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1304

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 23:14    Post subject: Re: One more happy Kong's Open-WRT firmware user Reply with quote
aamadorj wrote:
Thanks @Kong for all your work with DD-WRT and now with Open-WRT. With the guidance of @jerrytouille, my R7500v2 is now using this excellent Kong firmware.

One more happy user!


fyi for r7500v2 the new build 08/28 has ct firmware which is more up-to-date than stock which is 4 yrs old
murtaza12
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Nov 2015
Posts: 122
Location: Pakistan

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2019 6:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Changelog for 28th Aug build:

08/28/19:
-kernel update 4.14.140
-switch to candela tech ath10k fw
-tx burst config option for vht
-adblock update 3.8.2

_________________
Active devices:
Netgear R7800 - Stock v1.0.2.68
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWRT 19.07.0
ASUS RP-AC68U - 3.0.0.4.382.40019
labrok
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Feb 2011
Posts: 263
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2019 13:37    Post subject: Linksys EA-8500 Reply with quote
My setuop is EA-8500 as main Router , mikrotiki as wireless client, connection Signal about -55 dBm throughoutput is terrible, just 80-120 Mbps @ 5Ghz , same scenario but instead of EA-8500 i use a D-link Dir868L revC latest BS DDwrt, signal -49 dBm and throughoutput about 300-400 Mbps, the strange is that with EA-8500 Throughoutput is terrible only if i send a file from Gbit wired attached to Router computer, to a computer wired connected to mikrotik (Gbit), opposit transfer is normal @ 400Mbps..... Why this is happening?

Last edited by labrok on Thu Aug 29, 2019 13:56; edited 1 time in total
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1304

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2019 13:42    Post subject: Re: Linksys EA-8500 Reply with quote
labrok wrote:
My setuop is EA-8500 as main Router , mikrotiki as wireless client, connection Signal about -55 dBm throughoutput is terrible, just 80-120 Mbps @ 5Ghz , same scenario but instead of EA-8500 i use a D-link Dir868L revC , signal -49 dBm and throughoutput about 300-400 Mbps, the strange is that with EA-8500 Throughoutput is terrible only if i send a file from Gbit wired attached to Router computer, to a computer wired connected to mikrotik (Gbit), opposit transfer is normal @ 400Mbps..... Why this is happening?


check read/write speed of your hdd
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 18, 19, 20  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 19 of 20
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum