Extending DPC3941 range with DIR-615 using WDS

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
kdo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Apr 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:03    Post subject: Extending DPC3941 range with DIR-615 using WDS Reply with quote
I have Comcast Business Internet through a Cisco DPC3941B, which according to https://wikidevi.com/wiki/Cisco_DPC3941 uses Atheros chips. I happened to have a D-Link DIR-615E3 lying around, which also uses Atheros. So I thought I might be able to extend the range of my DPC3941B using WDS, supported by the Cisco box according to https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/video/residential-gateways-digital-voice/datasheet-c78-734440.pdf . I installed DD-WRT r39654 on the D-Link and followed the instructions in https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WDS_Linked_router_network as best I could, but I cannot get it working. The D-Link doesn't seem to be advertising the (shared) SSID at all, and it does not respond to the IP address I assigned it over wireless.

Do you think this should work? Will it work with WPA? I configured the D-Link the same way as the Cisco, which is to say that all WPA options are enabled.

Thanks for your help.
Sponsor
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1381

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
kdo wrote:
Cisco DPC3941B, which according to https://wikidevi.com/wiki/Cisco_DPC3941 uses Atheros chips.

It has an Intel chip.
Code:
CPU1: Intel Puma DHCE2652 (1.2 GHz)
FLA1: 128 MiB (Toshiba TC58NVG0S3HTA00)
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7312
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
cpu doesnt matter, the radios do
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r43280 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43281 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43281 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 -----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43281 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42803 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42644 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1381

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
cpu doesnt matter, the radios do

I stand corrected Embarassed
Seems it should work then.

Edit: I was going by what it says at:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WDS_Linked_router_network
Code:
A good way to determine the chip manufacturer is to go to the Status page and read what CPU Model it has.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7312
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 2:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
cpu doesnt matter, the radios do

I stand corrected Embarassed
Seems it should work then.

Edit: I was going by what it says at:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WDS_Linked_router_network
Code:
A good way to determine the chip manufacturer is to go to the Status page and read what CPU Model it has.


poor advice on that article, its more common now a days to have X brand cpu with different radios, older routers back in 802.11n days were more likely to have example, qualcomm radios if the cpu was also qualcomm

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984 ---> DD-WRT v3.0-r43280 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43281 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43281 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 -----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r43281 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42803 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 -------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r42644 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum