r7800 web interface response is non-existent

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 895

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 17:22    Post subject: r7800 web interface response is non-existent Reply with quote
In the past had been running the old Kong r7800 build with no issues. After Kong switched teams over to OpenWRT I started experimenting with OpenWRT as Access Points only on one EA8500 and the R7800. I’ve always kept one EA8500 on dd-wrt for our VPN service. Fast forward to when mrjcd advised us that BS did a makeover on the EA8500 builds shortly thereafter I return my second EA8500 to dd-wrt and never looked back. I also tried to do the same for the R7800 but the web interface is useless after the set password page slowly appears. Accessing and changing tabs using a browser is basically impossible for the R7800, so I sidelined a few months ago.

Yesterday I figured had some extra time with the Covid-19 lockdown so I dug out the r7800 and wanted to see if I could get dd-wrt functioning again. It takes an extended period before the web interface appears for the password setup after flash or reset to enter the entering username/password. Once the username/password is applied the web interface is basically unworkable.

Response times on the R7800 are normal with Stock, OpenWRT and Voxel's firmwares. I’ve erased the nvram, reloaded the FW from tftp. I tried MS Edge, FireFox (my default) and a portable version of PaleMoon and the result is the same with dd-wrt even after clearing ALL browser history, cache and cookies. I’ve even tried private mode in FF. The only time dd-wrt seems to run sort of normal is if I install an older build like r38150M but after moving up the current dd-wrt release(s) it makes the device return to a snail pace making it unusable by the web interface. If I select any tab it takes 60 to 90 seconds to open the next tab if the tab opens at all. I could telnet in with no problem but not sure what to look for once in. Anyone see anything like this before? Thanks in advance.

Not responsible for typos Very Happy

_________________

Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r43420 std (06/15/20)as OpenVPN client behind pfsense box
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r43516 std (06/25/20)as Access Point
ASRock J3455B-ITX Quad Core / 8-GB of Ram pfsense 2.4.5-RELEASE-p1 <--Speedtest
ISP info: optimum |ARRIS Model TM1602A
XPEnology DS3615xs
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 5785
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
That is a really strange problem, you did all the right things, yes some browsers (Chrome) are sometimes acting up, yes sometimes clearing the nvram is necessary (nvram erase && reboot from CLI) but you already did that so I am also stumped.

Sometimes if you have bad flash chips the router can behave erratically and Voxel and stock will check for bad blocks but OpenWRT does not so you would expect that OpenWRT also had problems but it has not.

So the only advice I can give (which you actually already have done), from CLI:
nvram erase && reboot
upgrade via internet explorer (yes I know)
after setting password again do from CLI: nvram erase && reboot

Sorry I can not be more helpful

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3655
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 18:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
hmmm yep have something similar with my R7000, since
i experimented with a block Countries by country code script, it became sluggish, it takes 4 min to boot even when i erased nvram....even worst since 42054 it never boots normally even after 10 min, unless there is no WAN request, and takes min 4-5 min to boot, GUI is snail mode too...tried anything tftp back to stock, reset, manually rebuild step by step and so...
now it works with that WAN event gimmick...only, you can see what i run on it in my sig

apart of that weirdo, i know Voxel FW can screw CFE
but im not that acquainted to fix it...nor im entirely sure what cause it...on R7800

my R7800 is snappy and works well i even have second one as a spare to play with it..
i mostly use cli flash...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 43718 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 43028 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 43516 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 43718 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 43718 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 43718 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 895

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
@ Alozaros Thanks for the reply back. I think you’re on to something there. Early on when I first got the r7800 I used the older Voxel and Stock and had no problem returning to dd-wrt. Let’s say 3 ~ 4 months ago I tried both the newer Voxel and Stock FW and that’s when I noticed the issues with dd-wrt.

Just thinking out loud here, since Voxel is just a spin-off of the Stock FW perhaps the new NG stock version could have been the offender?? IIRC when I flashed a few months back with the stock fw and it was a labeled "beta". I guess no more dd-wrt for the r7800 Embarassed

_________________

Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r43420 std (06/15/20)as OpenVPN client behind pfsense box
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r43516 std (06/25/20)as Access Point
ASRock J3455B-ITX Quad Core / 8-GB of Ram pfsense 2.4.5-RELEASE-p1 <--Speedtest
ISP info: optimum |ARRIS Model TM1602A
XPEnology DS3615xs
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
ho1Aetoo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 22:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
just an idea

do a factory reset

load the ancient Netgear firmware via TFTP

do a factory reset

and then slowly feel forward

factory to dd-wrt (e.g. r37495M)

do a factory reset

and then a web upgrade to r42617

(the current firmware needs to boot a little longer, BS has raised a hardware timeout / and after changing the configuration (save + apply WLAN) it also takes a little before all services are restarted, the WebIF also hangs 60sec)

Usually when all services are started, the current WebIF is fucking fast, switching between tabs may take ~0.5 seconds


you can also see which bootloader is on it now.

The "U-Boot" version was always the same / ancient .. didn't know that it was updated
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1098
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 22:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
just out of curiosity, what happens when you telnet/ssh and "stopservice httpd" and "startservice httpd"?

Also, when sluggish, what does top show? any abnormal cpu usage?

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]43711 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 895

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 0:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
@ msoengineer – thanks for the interest. Start/stopping the service didn’t do anything. Just to recap the web admin page is basically unreachable.

Code:


DD-WRT v3.0-r42872 std (c) 2020 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 04/10/20
Board: Netgear R7800

DD-WRT login: root
Password:
==========================================================

     ___  ___     _      _____  ______       ____  ___
    / _ \/ _ \___| | /| / / _ \/_  __/ _  __|_  / / _ \
   / // / // /___/ |/ |/ / , _/ / /   | |/ //_ <_/ // /
  /____/____/    |__/|__/_/|_| /_/    |___/____(_)___/

                       DD-WRT v3.0
                   http://www.dd-wrt.com

==========================================================


BusyBox v1.31.1 (2020-04-10 04:07:39 +03) built-in shell (ash)

root@DD-WRT:~# stopservice httpd
httpd : daemon successfully stopped
root@DD-WRT:~# startservice httpd
httpd : http daemon successfully started
root@DD-WRT:~# top
Mem: 57640K used, 419556K free, 0K shrd, 4484K buff, 11080K cached
CPU:  0.0% usr  0.0% sys  0.0% nic  100% idle  0.0% io  0.0% irq  0.0% sirq
Load average: 0.03 0.11 0.06 3/67 1006
  PID  PPID USER     STAT   VSZ %VSZ CPU %CPU COMMAND
  947     1 root     S     4804  1.0   0  0.0 httpd -n -p 80
  689     1 root     S     4528  0.9   1  0.0 hostapd -B -P /var/run/ath1_hostap
  660     1 root     S     4508  0.9   0  0.0 hostapd -B -P /var/run/ath0_hostap
  489     1 root     S     1768  0.3   1  0.0 watchdog
  790     1 root     S     1728  0.3   1  0.0 dnsmasq -u root -g root --conf-fil
  767     1 root     S     1728  0.3   1  0.0 wland
  848     1 root     S     1640  0.3   1  0.0 ttraff
  861     1 root     S     1432  0.3   1  0.0 resetbutton
 1006   927 root     R     1380  0.2   1  0.0 top
  764     1 root     S     1372  0.2   0  0.0 telnetd
  927   764 root     S     1364  0.2   1  0.0 -sh
  845     1 root     S     1364  0.2   1  0.0 udhcpc -i eth0 -p /var/run/udhcpc.
    1     0 root     S     1036  0.2   1  0.0 /sbin/init noinitrd
  485     1 root     S      960  0.2   1  0.0 irqbalance -t 10
  477     1 root     S      780  0.1   0  0.0 /sbin/mstpd
  473     1 root     S      732  0.1   1  0.0 /sbin/hotplug2 --set-rules-file /e
  773     1 root     S      708  0.1   1  0.0 cron
    6     2 root     SW       0  0.0   0  0.0 [kworker/u4:0]
   25     2 root     SW       0  0.0   0  0.0 [kworker/0:1]
   73     2 root     SW       0  0.0   1  0.0 [kworker/1:1]

_________________

Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r43420 std (06/15/20)as OpenVPN client behind pfsense box
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r43516 std (06/25/20)as Access Point
ASRock J3455B-ITX Quad Core / 8-GB of Ram pfsense 2.4.5-RELEASE-p1 <--Speedtest
ISP info: optimum |ARRIS Model TM1602A
XPEnology DS3615xs
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1098
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 3:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
What happens if you TFTP Kong's OpenWRT and then go back to DD-WRT? Luci was always slow in chrome, fyi...

just another thought on "possible" ways to get your R7800 out of a funk.

tried opera yet?

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]43711 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 895

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
The last attempts for the evening were tftp’ing up current dd-wrt build and same result, its unusable. So last move for tonight was sending up Kong’s r33010M from 09 August 2017 and it working perfectly with regards to response times.

Its not connected to anything at the moment but it completely accessible from any web browser and very quick response time. Tomorrow will dig thought my archives of old Kong builds and see how from I could advance. Looks like next build up will be r38150M.

_________________

Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r43420 std (06/15/20)as OpenVPN client behind pfsense box
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r43516 std (06/25/20)as Access Point
ASRock J3455B-ITX Quad Core / 8-GB of Ram pfsense 2.4.5-RELEASE-p1 <--Speedtest
ISP info: optimum |ARRIS Model TM1602A
XPEnology DS3615xs
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1098
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
05dyna wrote:
The last attempts for the evening were tftp’ing up current dd-wrt build and same result, its unusable. So last move for tonight was sending up Kong’s r33010M from 09 August 2017 and it working perfectly with regards to response times.

Its not connected to anything at the moment but it completely accessible from any web browser and very quick response time. Tomorrow will dig thought my archives of old Kong builds and see how from I could advance. Looks like next build up will be r38150M.


At some point didn't he move to K4 and then back to k3.18 and then back to k4? Just watch the NVRAM...I know somewhere in that transition you had to erase NVRAM to make it work right...that was 2 years ago now....MRJCD might know by looking at his repository/secret stash of wealth... Laughing

_________________
TIPS/TRICKS: Best QCA Wifi Settings | QCA WIFI WIKI | Latency tricks | QoS Port priority | NEVER USE MU-MIMO |
Why to NOT use MU-MIMO | Max Wifi Pwr by Country | Linux Wifi Pwr | AC MCS & AX MCS | QCA 5Ghz chnls to use | WIFI Freq WIKI | TFTP R7800 | Don't buy AX | IPERF3 How-To

[R9000]43711 nightly (Main Router)
[EA8500]43192 nightly (2xOffsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 42567 (Offsite)
[A7v5]BS 43038 (Offsite+spare here napping)
blkt
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2019
Posts: 1211

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 6:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe it's time to bust out a usb to ttl serial cable (adafruit 954, dtech ftdi 3.3v) and do some snooping around in u-boot.

Start with the basic stuff like printenv, nand bad and maybe mtest but testing RAM is time consuming.

This post may help you. https://forum.openwrt.org/t/netgear-r7800-exploration-ipq8065-qca9984/285/2120

My favorite command is "false" as the description is do nothing, unsuccessfully. =)
jackykoning
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 May 2013
Posts: 242
Location: The Nederlands

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Something I noticed over the years. Everyone is always talking about issues with the webinterface and I never had any issues. Well when I had to reset NVRAM I found the same issues as people had always said existed.

So why did I never have them before? Well very likely had to do with me using 192.168.0.1 rather than 192.168.1.1. This at least was my conclusion back then. I had a lot of issues until I changed the routers ip.

You can try but it really depends on your needs.

_________________
Hi Smile
2x Netgear R7800
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 5785
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
The webinterface seems to have its quirks see:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/7065
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/7066

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5236
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
jackykoning wrote:
Something I noticed over the years. Everyone is always talking about issues with the webinterface and I never had any issues. Well when I had to reset NVRAM I found the same issues as people had always said existed.

So why did I never have them before? Well very likely had to do with me using 192.168.0.1 rather than 192.168.1.1. This at least was my conclusion back then. I had a lot of issues until I changed the routers ip.

You can try but it really depends on your needs.

you may have a point
I have never had issues with the webif on any of my routers --- then again, I have NEVER used 192.168.1.1 or anything in the 192.168.1.x subnet Razz
also NO problem using Chromium from the Debian OS
and I use Chrome from the WIN10 for installs lots of times and it has never caused me any problems like many report Twisted Evil
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 895

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
The webinterface seems to have its quirks see:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/7065
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/7066

Thanks but can’t view at this time, one of the block list in DNSBL preventing me from viewing. Will whitelist later and look then..


msoengineer wrote:
At some point didn't he move to K4 and then back to k3.18 and then back to k4?

I may be wrong but I think Kong was actually supporting both at some point. Don’t remember where it crossed over but here’s the latest.
I went one by one thru my Kong archive. From r33010M to r38150M and it was OK but going from there to r39575M crashed the router so started back at r33010M then installed the following builds in the following sequence, probably not the preferred method but was up and running with dd-wrt and the response times were as they should be, no hesitation whatsoever.

r38340M
r38570M
r38700M
r39575M
r39715M
r39855M
r40270M (07/11/19)

and all was good at r40270M but I gambled and went for broke and installed r42910 and if you guessed r42910 hosed it you’d be correct. Later today will return to old Kong build r40270M and put it back in service to see if it remains stable.

ps
for the record changed the local net address to 172.x.x.x and it made no difference. looks like it might be Kong of bust for my r7800

_________________

Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r43420 std (06/15/20)as OpenVPN client behind pfsense box
Linksys EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r43516 std (06/25/20)as Access Point
ASRock J3455B-ITX Quad Core / 8-GB of Ram pfsense 2.4.5-RELEASE-p1 <--Speedtest
ISP info: optimum |ARRIS Model TM1602A
XPEnology DS3615xs
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum