Possible to update via wireless connection?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
pejakm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 23:36    Post subject: Possible to update via wireless connection? Reply with quote
I've been absent from the forums for a long time, it nice to come back. Smile

I want to know if it is possible to update via wireless connection (yes, I have read numerous disclaimers that this is NOT recommended).

The reason: TL-WR740N 4.27 (stock firmware) I have at hand is simply rejects wired (ethernet) connection. I want to try with DD-WRT to see if it will work that way.
Sponsor
ramblin
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Nov 2015
Posts: 157
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 0:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, although its not recommended. Many here do and claim they have never had a problem. But if you have no wired connection I would think there may be a problem with the router anyway and might be a good candidate for bricking.
pejakm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Okay, thanks!

I'll try and report back.
Jovan
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Nov 2018
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
*ONLY* recommended method to upgrade the router wirelessly:
Method 3: Flashing with Command Line (telnet or ssh)
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Installation#Method_3:_Flashing_with_Command_Line
pejakm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 21:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nevermind, I eventually figured out I inserted ethernet cable in the wrong port. So I managed to install DD-WRT.

But for the last 5 hours I've been trying to set it up as a repeater. I eventually gave up and reverted to stock firmware, on which repeater mode works without problems. Thanks DD-WRT, but no thanks.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2156
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 2:47    Post subject: Repeater Wiki Reply with quote
This is the repeater wiki page: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wlan_Repeater

Linking Routers info is here: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linking_Routers

A table comparing the different modes: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeating_Mode_Comparisons#Router_Mode_Comparison_Table

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
pejakm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
@ian5142 Thanks, but I've tried all that multiple times (even WDS) an WR740 simply wouldn't connect to the AP that shares internet.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2156
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 16:04    Post subject: WDS Reply with quote
Then get another Atheros based DD-WRT supported router (ex: TP-Link Archer C7, 841, 740, 741, etc). Be careful with the version numbers of the TP-Links the hardware can change dirasticaly between versions. Check wikidevi or the OpenWRT table of hardware for internal specs.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
pejakm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 16:34    Post subject: Re: WDS Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
Then get another Atheros based DD-WRT supported router (ex: TP-Link Archer C7, 841, 740, 741, etc). Be careful with the version numbers of the TP-Links the hardware can change dirasticaly between versions. Check wikidevi or the OpenWRT table of hardware for internal specs.


Thanks, I'll consider this.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum