Archer C7 WAN port setup

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
Sneezy_Squid
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 18:41    Post subject: Archer C7 WAN port setup Reply with quote
Hello guys!

So, long story short. I've bought a Netgear Nighthawk M1 to serve as a modem for my Archer C7.
At stock firmware on C7, everything works fine, plug and play, nothing changed, besides IP pass-through and LAN DHCP is disabled at M1. C7 picks up WAN IP and wolla, internet, no problem. But. Stockfirmware = garbage, or. In my case, its not working with my router bridge config. Thats why - dd-wrt.
(v3.0-r38937 std (02/23/19))


At my C7, everything is stock dd-wrt settings, because I've mess it up so many times, and i cant figure out what to do.
Its shows my WAN IP, but no internet connection.
It might have something to do with (setup-> basic setup-> networking) Tagging, Bridging, Assign to bridge, port setup - something. i don't know. I just cant figure it out anymore. It's driving me nuts.
Stock firmware must do some voodoo tricks, to internally route WAN port to the rest of the system, somehow, i don't know.

I hope it makes sense, thanks Smile

Best regards,
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6424
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 19:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you changed address on your router?

The M1 is default on 192.168.1.1, the same as dd-wrt. Change the lan on your C7 to 192.168.2.1
Sneezy_Squid
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 19:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yep, tried both 192.168.1.2, 192.168.0.1, 192.168.2.1 and so on. Restarting both devices in between changes. Same result Sad
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1777
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 20:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
On the off chance you have wan port problems try this:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_access_point#Normal_Version_.28Same_Subnet.29

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way----Before asking for help - Read the forum guidelines AND Upgrade DD-WRT!
Sneezy_Squid
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Feb 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 22:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
bushant wrote:
On the off chance you have wan port problems try this:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_access_point#Normal_Version_.28Same_Subnet.29


Okay, we're one step closer. I did what the guide told me to do. I have internet through the LAN ports, but only for 1 pc at a time, and no internet over Wi-Fi.
Also, i cant access my C7 when without giving my pc a static ip, within the same subnet as my C7 (makes sense when im getting an ip from my M1, with different subnet/mask)

Im still confused. Why does stock TP-link firmware work without any hassle, when dd-wrt freaks out like this?
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1777
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sneezy_Squid wrote:

Im still confused. Why does stock TP-link firmware work without any hassle, when dd-wrt freaks out like this?

WikiDevi tells me C7 stock IP = 192.168.0.1 and M1 IP = 192.168.1.1. Different subnets. It just works.

I have no idea why it doesn't work when you are using DD-WRT, it should.

At this point maybe try older firmware from December or January. Have a look at the last few pages of this thread if you haven't already.
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=176560&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

What version is your C7?

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way----Before asking for help - Read the forum guidelines AND Upgrade DD-WRT!
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum