TP-Link WR-1043ND rebooting in loops!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
deathg0d
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 2:09    Post subject: TP-Link WR-1043ND rebooting in loops! Reply with quote
Hi, i have a hair pulling situation. after i flash my TP-Link WR-1043ND to the latest dd-wrt firmware, now it just keeps on rebooting in loops. any help please?
Sponsor
firenxe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have recently gotten into this situation as well.
My router (1043ND) was on build 14289 when i attempted to reset the router.
After reseting the router, the router was rebooting in loops.
I have tried reseting again or getting the router into failsafe mode but to no avail.
The router reboots very quickly, around 1 second after my computer detects it.

So anyone has any idea of fixing it without the need of opening the router or soldering any wires to it?
Rolling Eyes
madaley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 21:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
firenxe wrote:
I have recently gotten into this situation as well.
My router (1043ND) was on build 14289 when i attempted to reset the router.
After reseting the router, the router was rebooting in loops.
I have tried reseting again or getting the router into failsafe mode but to no avail.
The router reboots very quickly, around 1 second after my computer detects it.

So anyone has any idea of fixing it without the need of opening the router or soldering any wires to it?
Rolling Eyes


Exactly the same here! Flashing of all lights every 6 secondes while rebooting. Seems bricked... no chance in connecting the console with usb to rs232 adapter to 3.3Volt. Help apreciated...
werto
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 22:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Exactly Same, after restart!
I have not found another way to how to recover (no way to use some failsafe mode).
So I used DCA-510 cable (for siemens,which i found at home)and attached with tape and needles (thats very hard without soldering Very Happy) to router serial and then recover with serial console and tftp.




Here are the steps:

1. Download modified original firmware that has first 0x20200 cut off, or use firmware attached below.
2. Gain access to the serial port and hook it up to your computer using RS-232 / USB --> TTL adapter.
3. Install Putty, setup Serial connection, set COM port appropiately to your adapter in step 2 and do not click Open yet
4. set networkcard of computer to ip address: 192.168.0.5 , subnetmask 255.255.255.0 and no gateway
5. Install TFTP32 server (google it) on your computer, connect computer with ethernet cable to LAN switch port on router.
6. Make sure the "Current Directory" in TFTP32 is set to folder with modified original firmware renamed to "code.bin"
7. In Putty, click open and plug in Power cord to router... you should see bootloader coming up now...
8. You will see something like this:

No valid address in Flash. Using fixed address
: cfg1 0xf cfg2 0x7114
eth0 up
eth0
Autobooting in 1 seconds## Booting image bf0200000...

Then type following fast: tpl

Now you will get into the command prompt and you're able to execute commands.

9. Erase the firmware before writing it again using following command: erase 0xbf020000 +7c0000
10. Download new modified original firmware from computer to the router: tftpboot 0x81000000 code.bin
11. Write the downloaded firmware to flash using: cp.b 0x81000000 0xbf020000 0x7c0000
12. Boot the original firmware again: bootm 0xbf020000

Your router should be unbricked again!
chigo58
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2008
Posts: 56
Location: Malta

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 22:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
1. Download modified original firmware that has first 0x20200 cut off, or use firmware attached below.


Hi - can you attach the firmware pls? I got a bricked wr1043n grr Evil or Very Mad

_________________
x1 Archer C5->C7, C7 v2 DDWRT_r31899
x1 TL-WA730RE v1 Stock
x2 TL-WR1043ND v1.7 Gargoyle v1.6.X
x1 TL-WR1043ND v1.10 DDWRT_r29721
x1 WRT54GL v1.1 DDWRT r14929
x1 WHR-HP-G54 Tomato 1.28
werto
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can use original tp-link firmware without "boot" in filename http://www.tp-link.com/common/getresource/?type=Firmware&resource=201082817292310.zip
madaley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Regarding your Steps:
2. Gain access to the serial port and hook it up to your computer using RS-232 / USB --> TTL adapter.
3. Install Putty, setup Serial connection, set COM port appropiately to your adapter in step 2 and do not click Open yet

Could you specify your selected settings at BAUD Speed and error connection ?

I'm not getting any output on COM-Console at Router plugin to charger. I am using a ProfiLic PL-2303HX-Chip USB-RS232 Adapter shown here http://www.stkaiser.de/anleitung/data/01d_usb_unboxed.html

My connection is done like this.
Either a exchange of RX&TX doesn't establish a connection to the console.


Compared to your picture I never had a R363 installed on my Board Version. I checked connectivity with a beeper.


Last edited by madaley on Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:52; edited 1 time in total
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7401
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
madaley wrote:
Regarding your Steps:
2. Gain access to the serial port and hook it up to your computer using RS-232 / USB --> TTL adapter.
3. Install Putty, setup Serial connection, set COM port appropiately to your adapter in step 2 and do not click Open yet

Could you specify your selected settings at BAUD Speed and error connection ?

I'm not getting any output on COM-Console at Router plugin to charger. I am using a ProfiLic PL-2303HX-Chip USB-RS232 Adapter shown here http://www.stkaiser.de/anleitung/data/01d_usb_unboxed.html


This should give you the COM port settings...

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_Recovery

I currently use a ca-42 cable as mentioned in the wiki and have no problems with serial debugging. Have not tried that cable you posted link for so i couldn't tell you how/if that cable even works with it. IE. I don't know if you would still need a lvl shifter with it or not.

_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
madaley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 14:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
The USB RS232 TTL Adapter works fine as I recently patched a ARCOR-DSL WLAN-Modem 100 to ZyXEL Prestige P660HW-67. Acording to the Serial Wikipage the chip used in the adapter is able to do the job. Still no connection.

Device behaviour is basically when the light flashs as follows after pluged in:
1) PWR (4 seconds no change)
2) ALL Lights (for 1 second)
3) Back to 1 at PWR (1 second)
in a selfrepeating loop
madaley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 15:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you all for your great Help. I successfuly fixed it. I needed to bridge the missing R363. Then the Console came up as hoped for.
firenxe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 15:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you everyone who posted in this thread!!!
I have successfully fixed it using a ca-42 cable ordered from ebay and stuck it to the router with tape Very Happy
Again, thank you all!!
engineered
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 15:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm about to attempt this fix with an old USB to serial cable.

Were you guys able to flash DDWRT onto your 1043ND after un-bricking?
0byczy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Dec 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 20:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,
I just tried firmware factory-to-ddwrt.bin (37305) and as a result boot loop occurred. I reverted quickly using Tftpd and http://www.friedzombie.com/tplink-stripped-firmware/
just run server pointing to stripped firmware on 192.168.0.66, and plugged power with reset button pressed.

Than I tried again with build 36698, same situation.
It worked with build 36104.
Vico56
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2016
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
0byczy wrote:
Than I tried again with build 36698, same situation.
It worked with build 36104.

Yes, 36104 is the last working build for that device.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 14:48    Post subject: Build Threads Reply with quote
If it doesn't work on a specific build, then post something in the build threads. For example, for 37882: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=317688

I have a 1043ND v1.8 but it is currently perma-bricked. I can't even get a serial connection from it.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum