Unable to ping between two computers on same WiFi

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
px03afk
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 21:48    Post subject: Unable to ping between two computers on same WiFi Reply with quote
I've just had an issue that I can't really understand. My network has three routers, master and two APs. The original master was a Netgear WNR3500L with WiFi tuend off.
This last week I replaced the master with a WNDR3700 and enabled the 5Ghz Wifi so that two laptops near it would get the faster network.
Today I found that I couldn't ping between the two laptops and ARP requests were not going between them, even though the router could see both and they could both see the router and a tcpdump showed the arp requests from both. I tried a number of different things but I couldn't get them to talk to each other until I switched the WiFi off on the master and they connected to one of the APs.
The master is running release 42366.
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5365
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Turn off AP isolation on the wifi.
px03afk
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 12:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
It was never turned on.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5365
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 12:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have to post in the chip-set specific forum.


There are several versions of this router.
V 1,2 and 4 is Atheros
V 3 is Broadcom
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 3651
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 18:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
And if it's a v3 (Broadcom), it's likely the AP isolation quirk that I am not sure ever was resolved.
_________________
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 42557 mega (02/28/20) K3.x
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2020.1
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2020.2.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2020.2.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
WRT3200ACM OpenWRT 18.06.7
---------------------------------------------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
px03afk
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 23:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's a V2 so Atheros.

I've just re-enabled the 5Ghz, set AP isolation on and then off and now the two pc's are talking to each other without problem so not sure why this happened.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum