Kong: ddup - Asus RT-AC68U B1 is currently not supported

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
lamelogin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 15:52    Post subject: Kong: ddup - Asus RT-AC68U B1 is currently not supported Reply with quote
Greetings,

How can I view the source code for: http://www.desipro.de/ddup.php? I'd like to see the logic in how it associates a model to a firmware file. Ideally I'd like to use ddup to update Kong's version of DD-WRT onto my devices.


# Output I'm getting now
root@xxxxxx:~# ddup --flash-latest
Auto update for the Asus RT-AC68U B1 is currently not supported.


# Sample files I've used on this model
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/TEST/dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin
Sponsor
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1546
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 16:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you tried-
ddup --flash-remote http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/TEST/dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way----PIA Setup Guide by egc----
lamelogin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 17:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bushant,

I have not yet tried any workarounds; neither using ddup to specify a remote file or locally.

I'd like to understand why the automation is saying "not supported", and potentially propose a diff.
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1546
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 18:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thought you might gain a little insight to how much of the process is "not supported".

Carry on.

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way----PIA Setup Guide by egc----
dTX
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Dec 2018
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 5:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Funny thing.If you start searching for Asus RT-AC68U B1 there are ZERO results and that's why ddup is notifying you.
Would advise caution before even think of loading any firmware.
If you messed with your router,loading some files to make it look like it's a different model it's probably better to load the stock firmware and go from there.

_________________
Router: ASUS AC1900(RT-AC68U)
wabe
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 785

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 22:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
I own AC68Us both rev A1 and C1. On A1 ddup works but on C1 you need to download image and flash from GUI.
I always clear nvram on the C1 before and after flashing in order to avoid instability.
I’m *pretty* sure this would work on B1 if ddup doesn’t work.

_________________
AC-68U rev. C1 on Build 45863
AC-68U rev. A1 on Build 45493
AC-68U rev. A1 on Build 44340
diogosena
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 16:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just run this command before ddup

Code:
nvram set DD_BOARD='Asus RT-AC68U'
lamelogin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 22:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
diogosena,

I'd really like to map "Asus RT-AC68U B1" to something valid on Kong's side: http://www.desipro.de/ddup.php?rev=$DD_REV\&board=$BOARD

I would think there is a simple case or switch statement he uses to map SOHO models with firmware file names..
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum