Netgear R7000 not flashable?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Pain.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jul 2009
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 1:24    Post subject: Netgear R7000 not flashable? Reply with quote
I just bought this R7000 after reading that dd-wrt supports it. I tried to flash thru the UI like the directions said with the chk file and I get error:

(firmware is not compatiable with your router. error code -2.)

Thanks for any help.
Sponsor
jxm
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2017
Posts: 710
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 12:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Check your model number on the label on the underside of your router, then try using the R7000.chk file from here
http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/

If it is a new router, this firmware should load without any problems, the firmware is actually supported by Netgear. Check out Myopenrouter.com.

Cheers.
Pain.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jul 2009
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 20:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried that with no luck. I get error: The firmware is not compatiable with your router. Error code -2.

I tried to flash TFTP flash but can not get the router in flashing amber like the directions said. Am I suppose to do the 30-30 rest?
flyzipper
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 279

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 22:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
There have been a few threads recently about this. Apparently the newer Netgear images have checks built in to stop people from flashing non-Netgear images.

One workaround is to flash an older Netgear firmware that doesn't have these checks, then flash DD-WRT.

The other option is...

*trying to find those other threads*

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318347&highlight=

Check egc's comment about the NMRPFlash utility.
swiss6th
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2019 4:33    Post subject: Solved with a hex edit Reply with quote
Hi!

I had this same problem on a brand-new R7000. After trying everything but opening up the case, I thought about why the Netgear firmware might be rejecting the .chk of DD-WRT. It seemed plausible that there is a version check going on. I opened up the HxD hex editor, dropped in Netgear's latest firmware (at the time, R7000-V1.0.9.64_10.2.64.chk), and looked around.

I discovered that the version number is stored in bytes 09-0F. After changing these to higher numbers (e.g., 01 00 0A 63 63 63 63) in Kong's latest .chk for the R7000, I got the router to take DD-WRT. I used nmrpflash to do this, but I would bet the Netgear Web UI would have accepted the file after this modification.

I hope this helps someone!

Andrew
foz111
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:05    Post subject: Re: Solved with a hex edit Reply with quote
Andrew
Do you have any info on how you changed the version number?
cheers

swiss6th wrote:
Hi!

I had this same problem on a brand-new R7000. After trying everything but opening up the case, I thought about why the Netgear firmware might be rejecting the .chk of DD-WRT. It seemed plausible that there is a version check going on. I opened up the HxD hex editor, dropped in Netgear's latest firmware (at the time, R7000-V1.0.9.64_10.2.64.chk), and looked around.

I discovered that the version number is stored in bytes 09-0F. After changing these to higher numbers (e.g., 01 00 0A 63 63 63 63) in Kong's latest .chk for the R7000, I got the router to take DD-WRT. I used nmrpflash to do this, but I would bet the Netgear Web UI would have accepted the file after this modification.

I hope this helps someone!

Andrew
swiss6th
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 6:56    Post subject: Re: Solved with a hex edit Reply with quote
foz111 wrote:
Andrew
Do you have any info on how you changed the version number?
cheers


See instructions and screenshots below (must be logged in to the forum to see). A hex editor is a brute-force tool. Use at your peril!

Warning! Doing this may brick your router. I am not responsible.

If you don't understand the directions below, stop. You should not be attempting this.

I did this on Windows. If you're also on Windows...
  1. Download the HxD editor
  2. Download whatever .chk of DD-WRT you're trying to load (I was using http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/dd-wrt.K3_R7000.chk)
  3. Open the build in HxD
  4. Change bytes 09-0F in the first row to something like 01 00 0A 63 63 63 63 (forgot exactly what I used)
  5. Save changes to the file
  6. Try flashing the router with the modified file
Your mileage may vary.

Andrew



changing_version_step1.png
 Description:
Notice the highlighted region
 Filesize:  62.3 KB
 Viewed:  2573 Time(s)

changing_version_step1.png



changing_version_step2.png
 Description:
Notice the changed values
 Filesize:  62.34 KB
 Viewed:  2573 Time(s)

changing_version_step2.png




Last edited by swiss6th on Fri Mar 01, 2019 17:29; edited 1 time in total
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7210
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:51    Post subject: Re: Solved with a hex edit Reply with quote
swiss6th wrote:
foz111 wrote:
Andrew
Do you have any info on how you changed the version number?
cheers


See instructions and screenshots below (must be logged in to the forum to see). A hex editor is a brute-force tool. Use at your peril!

Warning! Doing this may brick your router. I am not responsible.

If you don't understand the directions below, stop. You should not be attempting this.

I did this on Windows. If you're also on Windows...
  1. Download the HxD editor
  2. Download whatever .chk of DD-WRT you're trying to load (I was using http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/dd-wrt.K3_R7000.chk)
  3. Open the build in HxD
  4. Change bytes 09-0F in the first row to something like 01 00 0A 63 63 63 63 (forgot exactly what I used)
  5. Save changes to the file
  6. Try flashing the router with the modified file
Your mileage may vary.

Andrew


Smaller pictures please.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3952
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 11:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just use NMRPflash to flash the .chk file without altering it first and see if this works.
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
swiss6th
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 17:25    Post subject: Re: Solved with a hex edit Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Smaller pictures please.


This forum software certainly is vintage... I'll crop the images.

Andrew
swiss6th
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2019
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 17:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Just use NMRPflash to flash the .chk file without altering it first and see if this works.


This.

Unfortunately for me, I tried NMRPflash first, but the router was still rejecting it. It would receive the file, timeout, receive the file again, timeout, etc. I figure it was still doing a version check. That's why the hex edit was necessary in my case. I used NMRPflash to upload the modified file, and the router accepted it.

But egc is right: Don't modify your .chk unless the usual methods have failed.

Andrew
kuruvalli rakesh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:17    Post subject: Flashing v 1.0.3.56 firmware into Netgear R7000 Reply with quote
Hi guys, I looked at many places to find a way to downgrade Netgear R7000 firmware, Finally I found a way to downgrade Netgear R7000 firmware. Here are the steps to achieve that:

Board Details: NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band WiFi Gigabit Router (R7000) with Open Source Support | Circle with Disney Smart Parental Controls | Compatible with Amazon Echo/Alexa (Indian Adpater)

-> Remove the top layer, so that we can able to connect serial cable.
->Connect serial 4pin cable to host system using USB to TTL cable.
->Now turn on router and press 'ctrl+c' continuously.
->It should stop at the CFE> prompt.
CFE>^c
->Now run tftpd server.

CFE> tftpd
Start TFTP Server
Reading ::

->Now on host system use the following command(Router default address is 192.168.1.1).

$tftp 192.168.1.1
> binary
> put R7000-V1.0.3.56.chk

->In this way you can able to flash any firmware you need even dd-wrt image.

Refer the following link:
https://www.myopenrouter.com/article/how-debrick-or-recover-netgear-r7000-r6300v2-or-r6250-wi-fi-routers
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2008
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:45    Post subject: Re: Solved with a hex edit Reply with quote
swiss6th wrote:
Malachi wrote:
Smaller pictures please.


This forum software certainly is vintage... I'll crop the images.

Andrew


Yes, apparently. I remember another forum I was on having the auto-resize feature enabled and working in phpBB. Not sure if it's a configuration or version issue or both /off-topic Neutral Mr. Green
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3770
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 14:37    Post subject: Re: Solved with a hex edit Reply with quote
swiss6th wrote:
Malachi wrote:
Smaller pictures please.

This forum software certainly is vintage...

The problem is not with the forum software. The problem is Malachi's 12.9 inch monochrome monitor. Shocked

_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7210
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 14:50    Post subject: Re: Solved with a hex edit Reply with quote
GeeTek wrote:
swiss6th wrote:
Malachi wrote:
Smaller pictures please.

This forum software certainly is vintage...

The problem is not with the forum software. The problem is Malachi's 12.9 inch monochrome monitor. Shocked


I am rarely ever on the forum on a computer.
Usually iPhone or iPad.
I didn’t make up the forum rule about image sizes but you know what?
From now on, I don’t care anymore. I’ll leave them as is. All of them, even the ones that render the text microscopic.

That should hasten the slow decline of this forum.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum