Netgear R7000 Bridge a LAN port ?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
heckman13
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 16:27    Post subject: Netgear R7000 Bridge a LAN port ? Reply with quote
Is there a way to Bridge a single LAN interface/port to the outside network (WAN)? I know you can do this with a Nighthawk by Netgear by going to Bridge groups, and clicking on which port you want bridged, but I am clueless as to how this is done on the WWDRT firmware. Thanks!
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5221
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 16:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Put the port in VLAN 2
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4376
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 16:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
see: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switched_Ports

I have a similar setup for an internal router which is not connected to the internet, if this is for an internet connected router be aware you do not have a firewall on this bridged LAN port.

This is from my notes to bridge port 4 with the WAN:
Code:
nvram set vlan1ports="1 2 3 5*"
nvram set vlan2ports="0 4 5u"
nvram set port4vlans="2"


I am by no means a VLAN expert and your port numbering can be different although this is for a Netgear R6400v2 which is a somewhat similar router

Study the wiki, ccommands should be entered from the Command Line Interface (CLI) with telnet or putty

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5221
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 17:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I recall the processor is on port 7, not 5.

Edit: It appears to be 5.

nvram show | grep vlan.*ports

vlan2ports=0 5u
vlan1ports=1 2 3 4 5*
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum