Linksys EA 6900 V1.1 restarts randomly again and again

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
unvaare
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 19:30    Post subject: Linksys EA 6900 V1.1 restarts randomly again and again Reply with quote
Hi Everyone,

I am facing this weird issue, router starts randomly again and again, I am not sure what's the root cause and there is not specific pattern to it and not sure if its the power adapter that causing the router to restart or its the firmware / DD-WRT issue.

Often what happens is the router even couldn't reboot, I had to remove the power source wait for few minute and start it multiple time to boot it.

Can someone please help? Thanks in advance!
Sponsor
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1557
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 23:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sounds like it could be overheating. A fan blowing on it would prove that right or wrong maybe.
_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way----PIA Setup Guide by egc----
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7444
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 8:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
What build are you using? Do you use an alternative CFE?
What has changed?
How much NVRAM is used?
See my signature at the bottom for more details of the EA6900
It is a decent router but with crappy firmware/CFE and runs indeed hot

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
unvaare
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
What build are you using? Do you use an alternative CFE?
What has changed?
How much NVRAM is used?
See my signature at the bottom for more details of the EA6900
It is a decent router but with crappy firmware/CFE and runs indeed hot


The issue started to occur after one day of upgrading to DD-WRT.

The firmware is: DD-WRT v3.0-r36070M kongac (05/31/1Cool. I am not sure how to check the NVRAM as it's my first time upgrading the router with DD-WRT. I did it though Web GUI.

I was thinking may be I should revert the DD-WRT to stock firmware to make sure it's not the DD-WRT issue. I did tried it through Web GUI but it didn't work. Can you please help with that?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7444
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 8:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
under status page near the bottom you can see the nvram usage.
Details about your router can be found in my signature on the bottom of this message

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
unvaare
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 15:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
under status page near the bottom you can see the nvram usage.
Details about your router can be found in my signature on the bottom of this message


Let me check and update as soon as I get to home. Meanwhile could you please share the steps to revert back from DDWRT to stock rom (Linksys one). I tried multiple time but no success Sad
unvaare
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 12:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
unvaare wrote:
egc wrote:
under status page near the bottom you can see the nvram usage.
Details about your router can be found in my signature on the bottom of this message


Let me check and update as soon as I get to home. Meanwhile could you please share the steps to revert back from DDWRT to stock rom (Linksys one). I tried multiple time but no success Sad


It's 30KB/64KB
apvm
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 13:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
The stock cfe has problem running ddwrt if it goes over a certain amount of memory usage.

I ended up flashing it with modded/hacked cfe that made it thinks it is an Asus AC68U, now I have ddwrt for AC68U on it and I use it as a client bridge that connected to my plex server in the basement.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7444
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 14:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
What @apvm said is basically true however as you are not above 32 KB it can work with stock CFE.
I am running the Xvortex CFE and that works great, however you might have failing hardware/power supply.

You can go back to stock see: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=995338#995338
This link is from the guide in my signature. I recommend reading it Wink

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 15:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
apvm wrote:
The stock cfe has problem running ddwrt if it goes over a certain amount of memory usage.
@unvaare Do you have the traffic monitor (ttraff) enabled? If so turn it off, then search your nvram for any related parameters and `nvram unset {parameter}` to free up nvram. There's also a command that can be run to clear out unused parameters. Note that new wiki setup with the DD page header covers up the referenced link...very annoying. Oh, and I see there is one to clear ttraff too. Razz

However, you should really just use the modified CFE. Smile

If you do, I just want to reiterate that you'll have to flash updates via telnet or SSH, as noted in egc's link's attached .doc. @egc Does just using the `write` command not work, for the same reason the GUI fails? Just curious if `mtd write` is really necessary, as it is rather volatile. :-/

Fwiw, I'm running FreshTomato on my EA6900 w/ Xvortex CFE, which can flash via GUI.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.6|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 45036: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.5: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7444
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 15:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
@jwh7 Simple `write` did not work with stock CFE but probably works now Smile
Can not test it at the moment, my neighbour had a failing router and I lend her my EA6900. She is very happy with it and want to keep it.
The problem you can not update via the GUI (or use ddup) is that it attempts to write to the linux2 partition which is of course not there anymore.
I update by using ddup which gets me the right update and then manually writing to linux (mtd write fw.bin linux) but next time I will try without the mtd.
Thanks good call

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 15:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
I update by using ddup which gets me the right update and then manually writing to linux (mtd write fw.bin linux) but next time I will try without the mtd.
Thanks good call
I ask because `mtd write` has caused bricks for me several times, even when running the `mtd unlock` (fixed by TFTP), whereas `write` has never failed me. So just want to help others avoid potential issues... Smile
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.6|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 45036: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.5: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7444
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 15:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, I already was making a note of this Smile
I had not any bricks but better be safe than sorry.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
unvaare
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
You can go back to stock see: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=995338#995338
This link is from the guide in my signature. I recommend reading it Wink


Sorry to bug you again mate. I am trying revert back to Linksys firmware but when trying to execute commands below, I get
Quote:
ubootenv: not found
. I don't have a clue about this, as it's my first experience with routers firmware upgrade.

Could you please help me reverting back to Linksys?

Thanks in Advance!
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7212
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
unvaare wrote:
egc wrote:
You can go back to stock see: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=995338#995338
This link is from the guide in my signature. I recommend reading it Wink


Sorry to bug you again mate. I am trying revert back to Linksys firmware but when trying to execute commands below, I get
Quote:
ubootenv: not found
. I don't have a clue about this, as it's my first experience with routers firmware upgrade.

Could you please help me reverting back to Linksys?

Thanks in Advance!


That’s for the wrt series. Not the ea6900

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum