Wifi Setup WRT32x

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
FUIH8U
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Dec 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 13:45    Post subject: Wifi Setup WRT32x Reply with quote
I'm really just looking for insight from someone who has this router, the WRT32x, or the WRT3200acm.

I've got the wifi up and working but it's been a long process. A lot of reading and digging through forums to find random snippets of maybe useful information, maybe misinformation. I'm not sure if I have the best settings.

So, what's up with ath2? Does it have to be disabled? I wasn't able to get anything working with it enabled, but maybe you have? maybe I missed something?

Is it best to have "channel width" set to VHT80 for 5GHz and Dynamic (20/40 MHz) for 2.4 GHz?
Is VHT160 an option? Do I even want VHT160?
What about Wide HT40? should I use that?
I also read to use Full 20, not Dynamic, is that better?

I read "Wireless Channel" Auto is a no-no. I've got ath1(2.4GHz) set to channel 6, my neighbors are occupying channels 1 and 11. I think that's right. I'm not so sure about selecting a 5GHz channel. I'm currently using channel 48. I have a neighbor who is using 38, i think. Should I be on a higher channel? like in the 50 or 150ish range?

What's the best setting for TX power? Stock setting is 30dBm. I tried increasing it to 50 but I think it resets itself. Not totally sure about that one though, I was messing with other settings when I noticed it change back.

I enabled Short Preamble, Single User Beamforming, and Multi User Beamforming. Is that best?

And I changed the Sensitivity Range down to 450. I have no devices further than 20-30 meters from the router.



Sponsor
WENED
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 May 2017
Posts: 514
Location: Rural Manitoba

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 17:15    Post subject: Re: Wifi Setup WRT32x Reply with quote
FUIH8U wrote:
I'm really just looking for insight from someone who has this router, the WRT32x, or the WRT3200acm.

2x 3200acm r38060

I've got the wifi up and working but it's been a long process. A lot of reading and digging through forums to find random snippets of maybe useful information, maybe misinformation. I'm not sure if I have the best settings.

So, what's up with ath2? Does it have to be disabled? I wasn't able to get anything working with it enabled, but maybe you have? maybe I missed something?

It appears to be an either/or situation but not both. Also runs at a much lower power. Supposedly for radar detection. I have it diabled on my routers.

Is it best to have "channel width" set to VHT80 for 5GHz and Dynamic (20/40 MHz) for 2.4 GHz?
Is VHT160 an option? Do I even want VHT160?
What about Wide HT40? should I use that?
I also read to use Full 20, not Dynamic, is that better?

160 works well for me on channel 100 (UUU+14). Very limited channel possibility for this mode. Even though the power is reduced to 23dbm, it does well for me with WDS to a 1900AC V1 some 500' away. Also devices do not need to have 160 capacity to connect.

I read "Wireless Channel" Auto is a no-no. I've got ath1(2.4GHz) set to channel 6, my neighbors are occupying channels 1 and 11. I think that's right. I'm not so sure about selecting a 5GHz channel. I'm currently using channel 48. I have a neighbor who is using 38, i think. Should I be on a higher channel? like in the 50 or 150ish range?

Setting to channel 6 (FULL 20Mhz) should work well for you. Remember that dynamic or 40 will spill over to you neighbour if they are using 40.
As I mentioned, if you choose to go 160, you are limited to very few channel selections. If you use 80Mhz you can go to 149 (UU) and take full advantage of 30dbm power.


What's the best setting for TX power? Stock setting is 30dBm. I tried increasing it to 50 but I think it resets itself. Not totally sure about that one though, I was messing with other settings when I noticed it change back.

Not sure when it was initiated, but most routers are now hard configured for power depending on Region/Channel. There is no way to change via software.

I enabled Short Preamble, Single User Beamforming, and Multi User Beamforming. Is that best?

Have not found any real difference by playing with these settings, I usually leave it as default.

And I changed the Sensitivity Range down to 450. I have no devices further than 20-30 meters from the router.





I have made a few notes in your post above. Hope this helps. Don't be afraid to ask if you are not sure or have general questions. There is a wealth of info and much smarter people available here.

_________________
WRT3200acm Master WDS 5GHz 80Mhz CH 36 (+6) r44538
Ath1 2.4Ghz Disabled
99 Static Leases

WRT3200acm r44538 WDS Station 5Ghz
Ath1 AP N/G Mixed Channel 11 HT40

WRT1900Ac V1 5Ghz r44538 WDS Station
(Defective, no 2.4Ghz but 5Ghz works great)

WRT1900AC V1 5Ghz AC 80Mhz WDS Station r44048
2.4Ghz AP Ch1 HT20 Mixed

(SPARE)WRT1900AC V1 r44048 On LAN
5Ghz WDS AP Ch149(+6) 80Mghz
2.4Ghz Ch 6 20Mhz N/G Mixed

WRT1200AC V1 r44583 LAN
2.4Ghz 20Mhz Ch 6 Mixed
5 Ghz 80Mhz Ch 149 (UUU+6) WDS AP

WRT54G DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 micro AP CH 6 Mixed - Not in use

EX6200 DD-WRT r38535 - Spare
EX7000 Stock Firmware Spare
Devices and Cameras and Sensors
15 WiFi cameras, 4 desktops, 2 laptop, 12 Sonoff Basic/TH16, Artisan 700 Printer, Ongoing testing of other devices.
rwbarrett
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 12:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the second radio enabled on my 32X using the 2.4GHz band and it shows a stronger signal than the main radio on this band. The main radio doesn't work with the chipset in my smartlights so I had to enable the second radio and both seem to work fine together with the second on 2.4GHz
Luisfer153cr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 4:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I see that you are running the 10/10 version, it still gave problems, I am on 12-26-2018-r38104 and I have no conflicts, we could say that the vr38104 works perfectly, I still do not update to the r38132, but I see that it works well.

I leave the link dle ftp.
Be careful you lose your partition 1.

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/
https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2018/
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum