WRT54GS2 V1.0 VPN

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Deathnormal234
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:43    Post subject: WRT54GS2 V1.0 VPN Reply with quote
I am trying to set up VPN on my WRT54GS2 V1.0. I have dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic.bin flashed to the router however I am not able to get the vpn to run. I know the firmware I have currently is the micro version not the vpn version so I was wondering if that was the problem and if someone knows a vpn version that runs on the router. I can see there is a VPN passthrough tab on the router however I have not figured out how it works.
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 1860
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is no VPN client/server package on a 2MB flash router AFAIK.
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1135
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
That router doesn't have enough HP to run it if there was @240MHZ.
_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--Stubby DoT
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 kongat & BS WDS AP & Sta- R7500V2 kongat WDS STA- WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA- Nanostation M2 AirOS- LocoM2 AirOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 kongac WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP
Deathnormal234
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok so I figured out you need like 4 MB for VPN after researching. How does the HP work. How much mhz do you need for VPN?
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1135
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have only had ovpn client running -PUREVPN then PIA.
It was pretty sluggish when I had it running on wndr3700v4 @560. It worked pretty well on the 6200v2 @800 when it was running there. Works great on the 7500v2 and 7800 @1400 and 1700 respectively.

I have never had a vpn server running.

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--Stubby DoT
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 kongat & BS WDS AP & Sta- R7500V2 kongat WDS STA- WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA- Nanostation M2 AirOS- LocoM2 AirOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 kongac WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP
Deathnormal234
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
How slow is sluggish at 560. How many mbps were you getting?
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1135
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 21:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Short answer: I don't know.
Longer answer: That was a couple years ago. That router was at my business where I don't get much time to fool with it. Ovpn was not on it very long then I put the client on the PC's and everything was better than before. Even now using VPN cuts my speed by about 1/3 but that is on pretty slow ~12mib/s DSL and we really don't use internet at work that much. Email, bill pay, and such.

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--Stubby DoT
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 kongat & BS WDS AP & Sta- R7500V2 kongat WDS STA- WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA- Nanostation M2 AirOS- LocoM2 AirOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 kongac WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum