Tp link Archer c7 v5 EU

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
fifi29
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 23:42    Post subject: Tp link Archer c7 v5 EU Reply with quote
I have bought in amazon the Tplink Archer c7 v4 EU, but finally i have got the new Tp link Archer c7 v5 EU.
in the donwnload are i have found a firmware for v5 but once i try so flash it says " invalid file".

Downloads › betas › 2018 › 11-27-2018-r37860 › tplink_archer-c7-v5

did anybody have a working file?
Sponsor
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1998
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 23:34    Post subject: TFTP Reply with quote
Try to flash via TFTP: https://openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/archer-c5-c7-wdr7500#tftp_recovery_de-bricking

I would use a TFTP server program such as TFTP32/TFTP64. Enable the log in it and then reboot the router (with the computer assigned a static ip of 192.168.0.66). You will see the router try and grab a file from the computer. Rename the dd-wrt file to this and it will grab it. Wait at least 5 min, 10 would be better, before rebooting the router.

If you have any questions. Post them here.

PS: This model (Archer C7 v5) was just added as supported by DD-WRT, I don't know of anyone in the forums that has one (other than you). Check the New Build threads though.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
rogerio77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:59    Post subject: Re: Tp link Archer c7 v5 EU Reply with quote
fifi29 wrote:
I have bought in amazon the Tplink Archer c7 v4 EU, but finally i have got the new Tp link Archer c7 v5 EU.
in the donwnload are i have found a firmware for v5 but once i try so flash it says " invalid file".

Downloads › betas › 2018 › 11-27-2018-r37860 › tplink_archer-c7-v5

did anybody have a working file?


I had the same issue. Which tplink firmware version have you in this moment? I have the 1.0.4.
were you able to install dd-wrt?
Thanks
rogerio77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 4:09    Post subject: Re: TFTP Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
Try to flash via TFTP: https://openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/archer-c5-c7-wdr7500#tftp_recovery_de-bricking

I would use a TFTP server program such as TFTP32/TFTP64. Enable the log in it and then reboot the router (with the computer assigned a static ip of 192.168.0.66). You will see the router try and grab a file from the computer. Rename the dd-wrt file to this and it will grab it. Wait at least 5 min, 10 would be better, before rebooting the router.

If you have any questions. Post them here.

PS: This model (Archer C7 v5) was just added as supported by DD-WRT, I don't know of anyone in the forums that has one (other than you). Check the New Build threads though.


I have the same router
I don't understand well the tftp way to install dd-wrt
Could you give us an step by step to do this?
As you can see we have two files to update
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/11-27-2018-r37860/tplink_archer-c7-v5/
Well you say "Rename the dd-wrt file to this and it will grab it" but my question Which file? rename to what new one name?
Thanks in advance
NovakJokovic
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Nov 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
TP-LINK's Archer C7 comes with the next generation Wi-Fi standard – 802.11ac, 3 times faster than wireless N speeds and delivering a combined wireless data.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1998
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 10:59    Post subject: Wiki Reply with quote
I am in the process of creating a wiki article for this. I am sick and tired of trying to explain it in every fifth thread. It is a common question.

I will post a link here to the wiki article when I am finished with it.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
fifi29
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 13:34    Post subject: Tp link Archer c7 v5 EU Reply with quote
I have flash the latest factory-to-ddwrt.bin via TFTP.
But after reboot stil the original TP Link firmware is on the router.
My firmware on the router is 1.0.4 Build 20180425.
rogerio77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 14:36    Post subject: Re: Wiki Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
I am in the process of creating a wiki article for this. I am sick and tired of trying to explain it in every fifth thread. It is a common question.

I will post a link here to the wiki article when I am finished with it.

Don't be sick mate for this thing. Sorry for my last ask. I have uploaded a lot of kind of devices using via tftp. I know how to use tftp but this example as you explained for me was not clear. Thanks again and take it easy
www.rogerbiderbost.com.ar
San Storage administrator
Php programmer
Lan Wan administrator
rogerio77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 14:40    Post subject: Re: Tp link Archer c7 v5 EU Reply with quote
fifi29 wrote:
I have flash the latest factory-to-ddwrt.bin via TFTP.
But after reboot stil the original TP Link firmware is on the router.
My firmware on the router is 1.0.4 Build 20180425.

Almost great.
While our canadian friend is doing the guidelines for this process could you show us how you try to do this?
Thanks in advance
fifi29
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 14:44    Post subject: Tp link Archer c7 v5 EU Reply with quote
HI ian5142,
is the new firmware only for us and ca version? Cause i have read on other tread.
Could the firmware modified for EU also?
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1998
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 19:12    Post subject: V5 EU test file Reply with quote
Here, try this file. I have not tested it at all.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
fifi29
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 23:38    Post subject: Tp link Archer c7 v5 EU Reply with quote
Hi,
i have tested the file. Via Web GUI " invalid file" and via TFTP it transfer the file ans looks like it flash it but after reboot still tp-link firmware on it.
rogerio77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:30    Post subject: Re: Tp link Archer c7 v5 EU Reply with quote
fifi29 wrote:
Hi,
i have tested the file. Via Web GUI " invalid file" and via TFTP it transfer the file ans looks like it flash it but after reboot still tp-link firmware on it.


I had the same issue when I wanted to upload the file via TP-LINK GUI.
fifi29
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:46    Post subject: Tp link Archer c7 v5 EU Reply with quote
Hi Ian5142,
Your file does not work. Maybe u can check again? Or do you have any other idea.
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1998
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2018 17:07    Post subject: Serial Reply with quote
The only other option then is to open up the router, solder some serial pins to it. Connect a USB-TTL serial adapter to the router, don't connect VCC/3.3V. Open up putty or some other terminal window. Boot up the router and show me what is going wrong.

I can only modify the header, I can not change the file much.

I have reopened the ticket on the SVN: https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6492

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - bricked
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum