New (KONG) Build - 11/24/2018 - r37845M

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 21:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just updated. Everything looks fine so far. GUI update, no reset.
_________________
Routing:.......Netgear R7800 (Voxel's FW V1.0.2.72SF)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & Netgear GS605_V4
Sponsor
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1287

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 21:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
rickmav3 wrote:
It looks the build is missing the 802.11a when on Mixed 5GHZ wireless Mode. Found out the hard way, over the whole weekend, getting attacked by an angry mob of users.

It all started promising, it was the first build with the new wireless setup screen to be able to get manually configured wireless. Now choosing WPA mode is bringing up the key and additional fields, then pick AES from the right column. Click Apply and move on. Not so fast. About half of the clients could not authenticate anymore on 5GHz: password incorrect. They could connect to 2.4 GHZ. And what a good tech do? Blame the users: you do not insert wireless password right, reset your device, etc. Plus the magical supposed to fix all problems and beyond "update your device to the latest software". Almost broke some bitten devices resetting the settings; reinstalling device OS was a little too much for the users to take.
Hours of fiddling with router, reset to default couple of times, erase nvram, manually config again with exact same settings, changed SSID and keys. Nothing worked. Cleaned up the slate, put back k3.18 M build and carefully manually config. BOOM! Exclamation All quiet. Everyone got back staring at their screens.

Tabled wireless config is still more cumbersome than the previous long time trusted menu driven setup: choose WPA2-personal from menu, choose AES-PSK from another menu and enter the key. And most clients have menu driven wireless setup. Plus not all radios are compatible with all options from the new wireless authentication setup table.

Keep safe the k3.18 M build. The last two are one of the best the DD-WRT continuous development did get to. And complete rainbow mythical unicorn poop QoS latency of k3.18 Wink


By 802.11a you meant ac? Didn't know there are actual 'a' clients out there any more
husky55
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 242
Location: Madison, CT, US

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 22:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
@mrjcd, noticed you did not enabled 802.11r. Smile
_________________
Netgear R7500V2(2) WDS, Asus RT-AC68R (2)
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4832
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 23:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
husky55 wrote:
@mrjcd, noticed you did not enabled 802.11r. Smile

Haven't seen the need for it. Don't have alot of switching APs.
At my place there is only the one EA8500 that is an AP and I can still reach it even if I go in the nieghbors house across the street.
Sometimes if I leave the WiFi enabled on some moblie devices while gone ..... and return, they will connect to the 2.4 when I am coming up the road near home but they always reconnect to the 5GHz (they normally are on) when I get back in the house. I have 3 different APs to connect to if at the folks house but these are older devices and they never give trouble and besides the EA8500 at my place is main router to whole network anyways.
husky55
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 242
Location: Madison, CT, US

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 23:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, I understand. I thought that 802.11r would benefit my wds setup but it's really difficult to determine. I cannot detect any noticeable improvement with my phone and any change with laptops and desktops. I enabled wpa3 and wifi becomes worse. I have removed it. Although I don't have the EA8500, I have followed your posts for the great info you provided.
_________________
Netgear R7500V2(2) WDS, Asus RT-AC68R (2)
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1226
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 0:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
husky55 wrote:
@mrjcd, noticed you did not enabled 802.11r. Smile

FWIW: Apparently enabling 802.11r on the WDS AP 7800 is killing the radios on the Buffalo WDS STA. I thought it was the upgrade to 37837 but after revert to 37736 it still happens. Disable 802.11r fixes it. I don't have much use for it either.

_________________
SUPPORTED DEVICES -- DON'T USE ROUTER DATABASE!
--IMPORTANT UPGRADE INFORMATION--STUBBY install guide
Qualcomm-Atheros:
R7800 x2 kongat & BS WDS AP & Sta- R7500V2 BS std WDS STA- WNDR3700v4 BS std WDS STA- Nanostation M2 AirOS- LocoM2 AirOS
Broadcom:
R6200v2 41491std using R6250.chk WLAN Repeater Archer C9 v1 OEM WAP

DDWRT Policy Based Routing Guide by egc
bripab007
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 0:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
bripab007 wrote:
Yeah, mine seemed to still act funky after some period of time, even after removing the hostapd custom config lines and disabling 802.11r. So I reset the router to defaults and restored nvram from a backup.

Hopefully it was something tied to the 802.11r settings and not an overarching wi-fi issue with this build.


Mine seems to be running much better now that I reset to defaults and re-loaded a config backup--and not re-enabling 802.11r.

Guess we'll just have to keep an eye on this space and see how it progresses. I'm thoroughly impressed that tatsuya was able to keep on top of this (I presume keeping up on current hostapd build developments and such) and submitting tickets to brainslayer (and also presumably keeping in touch with Kong?).

Much respect!

_________________
Netgear R7500v2, DD-WRT v3.0-r37845M kongat
Netgear R7000, DD-WRT v3.0-r37715M kongac
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1287

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerrytouille wrote:
Great thanks. I noticed the diff could be noise immunity, rts/cts with threshold and airtime fairness. Those are off by defaults. I’ll give them a try


Well same issue... guess I'm stuck with 3.18 for now. I don't mind the RX errors but can't stand the wifi drops
bripab007
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I guess I'm going back to 3.18 as well--just had some wi-fi dropout on both radios Sad
_________________
Netgear R7500v2, DD-WRT v3.0-r37845M kongat
Netgear R7000, DD-WRT v3.0-r37715M kongac
bripab007
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
That was my first experience on a 4.x kernel build of dd-wrt on my R7500v2, and here's what I noticed: on this latest 4.9 with the fixed cpu core affinities, the dslreports speedtests were rock solid, locking in at ~150mbps on the download and just plateau'ing, while the software interrupt queue on core 1 never really went above ~70%, and the bufferbloat was basically always between 15-37ms.

Now, having reverted back to 3.18 kernel, my dslreports speedtests are back to their decent, but jagged and non-plateau looking graphs in the ~135-140mbps range, there's a bit more variance in the buffer bloat (but still getting A ratings), and the SIRQ is hitting ~90-95% on one of the cores.

So, let's get this wi-fi sorted out on 4.9 because I want to go back! Very Happy

_________________
Netgear R7500v2, DD-WRT v3.0-r37845M kongat
Netgear R7000, DD-WRT v3.0-r37715M kongac


Last edited by bripab007 on Tue Nov 27, 2018 16:41; edited 1 time in total
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 16:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
No wifi issues for me so far but the syslog errors are WAY worse now after improving slightly the last couple of iterations.
_________________
Routing:.......Netgear R7800 (Voxel's FW V1.0.2.72SF)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & Netgear GS605_V4
rickmav3
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Sep 2014
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 18:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerrytouille wrote:
rickmav3 wrote:
It looks the build is missing the 802.11a when on Mixed 5GHZ wireless Mode. Found out the hard way, over the whole weekend, getting attacked by an angry mob of users.

It all started promising, it was the first build with the new wireless setup screen to be able to get manually configured wireless. Now choosing WPA mode is bringing up the key and additional fields, then pick AES from the right column. Click Apply and move on. Not so fast. About half of the clients could not authenticate anymore on 5GHz: password incorrect. They could connect to 2.4 GHZ. And what a good tech do? Blame the users: you do not insert wireless password right, reset your device, etc. Plus the magical supposed to fix all problems and beyond "update your device to the latest software". Almost broke some bitten devices resetting the settings; reinstalling device OS was a little too much for the users to take.
Hours of fiddling with router, reset to default couple of times, erase nvram, manually config again with exact same settings, changed SSID and keys. Nothing worked. Cleaned up the slate, put back k3.18 M build and carefully manually config. BOOM! Exclamation All quiet. Everyone got back staring at their screens.

Tabled wireless config is still more cumbersome than the previous long time trusted menu driven setup: choose WPA2-personal from menu, choose AES-PSK from another menu and enter the key. And most clients have menu driven wireless setup. Plus not all radios are compatible with all options from the new wireless authentication setup table.

Keep safe the k3.18 M build. The last two are one of the best the DD-WRT continuous development did get to. And complete rainbow mythical unicorn poop QoS latency of k3.18 Wink


By 802.11a you meant ac? Didn't know there are actual 'a' clients out there any more


Nah, they're A.D. AC devices Laughing . But something is wrong, they don't connect on N/AC Mode. Or even Mixed in this build.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7123
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/37864

not seeing anything 802.11v but hope theres some less stripping in this one..

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[X86-64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41491 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41491 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41491 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41491 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4832
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
htismaqe wrote:
No wifi issues for me so far but the syslog errors are WAY worse now after improving slightly the last couple of iterations.

EA8500 r37845M
nothing bad here..... certainly not more than previuos builds
Code:
root@~~:~# cat /tmp/var/log/messages | grep err
Nov 25 21:47:17 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 11:04:47 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 11:05:32 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:29:44 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 13:30:07 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:10 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:15 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:18 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:21 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:26 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:29 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:32 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:51 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:54 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:57 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:37:45 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 13:45:36 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 14:21:46 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 14:23:40 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 14:30:51 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 14:45:24 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 16:42:14 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases

root@~~:~# cat /tmp/var/log/messages.0 | grep err
Nov 25 07:03:16 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 25 09:48:07 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 25 10:49:29 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases

root@~~:~# uptime
 18:58:33 up 3 days, 23:11,  load average: 0.00, 0.02, 0.00
root@~~:~#
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7123
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
htismaqe wrote:
No wifi issues for me so far but the syslog errors are WAY worse now after improving slightly the last couple of iterations.

EA8500 r37845M
nothing bad here..... certainly not more than previuos builds
Code:
root@~~:~# cat /tmp/var/log/messages | grep err
Nov 25 21:47:17 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 11:04:47 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 11:05:32 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:29:44 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 13:30:07 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:10 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:15 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:18 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:21 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:26 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:29 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:32 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:51 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:54 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:30:57 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period.
Nov 26 13:37:45 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 13:45:36 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 14:21:46 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 14:23:40 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 14:30:51 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 14:45:24 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 26 16:42:14 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases

root@~~:~# cat /tmp/var/log/messages.0 | grep err
Nov 25 07:03:16 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 25 09:48:07 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases
Nov 25 10:49:29 ~~ daemon.err httpd[1856]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases

root@~~:~# uptime
 18:58:33 up 3 days, 23:11,  load average: 0.00, 0.02, 0.00
root@~~:~#


im close to giving up on https and turning it off, to silence that crap that no one wants to fix. plus https when viewed remotely makes webif slow as molasses, like when viewing ath0 wifi status, change it to ath1, takes an eternity to load..

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[X86-64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41491 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41491 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41491 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41491 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 5 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum