R6300v1: br0: received packet on eth2 with own addr as src

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
belegdol
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 19:53    Post subject: R6300v1: br0: received packet on eth2 with own addr as src Reply with quote
Hello,

the following message appears a few times a day in my syslog:
Code:
Oct 13 13:37:19 DD-WRT kern.warn kernel: br0: received packet on eth2 with own address as source address

Is this something to be concerned with? I have been having some random disconnects lately but I am not sure if this is related. This is on v3.0-r44467 running in AP/switch mode.
If this is problematic, how can the problem be fixed? Thanks!
I did perform a full reset when moving from stock firmware a few months back but not for the last few updates.

ETA:
This is what ifconfig shows:
Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# ifconfig | grep HWaddr
br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BC 
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BA 
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BC 
eth2      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BD 
vlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BA 
vlan2     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BA
Sponsor
belegdol
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have now confirmed that the wifi drops do indeed happen at the same time the warnings appear in the log so it looks like a real issue.
eibgrad
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 8563

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 16:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Perhaps two clients w/ the same MAC address on their network adapters? Rare, but it's not as if I've never seen it before (happened to me w/ TP-Link/Realtek wired adapters). Sometimes vendors like to reuse MAC addresses, assuming duplication on any given ethernet network is highly unlikely.
_________________
ddwrt-ovpn-split-basic.sh
ddwrt-ovpn-split-advanced.sh
ddwrt-ovpn-remote-access.sh
ddwrt-ovpn-client-backup.sh
ddwrt-mount-usb-drives.sh
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7184
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 16:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
This crops up occasionally.

sometime resetting to defaults helps by doing:
Code:
nvram erase && reboot

and put settings in manually see https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1048585

Sometimes it is a configuration error, check the wiki:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_access_point

Sometimes a Network configuration error or duplicate MAC addresses from the clients as @eibgrad already mentioned.

Sometimes it is a bug Sad

There are multiple reports in the forum

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
belegdol
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 16:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I read the posts you linked to and I can confirm that my 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz networks are using different SSIDs.
I also went through the AP settings and everything appears to be configured as listed.
The issue only appears to happen when my work laptop is connected to the 5 GHz network - other devices appear not to trigger it. The work laptop uses Sophos Connnect VPN - maybe this is what is confusing the AP.
I might try nvram erase later but I will probably wait till the weekend as it is a PITA to set everything up from scratch.
belegdol
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have now done the following:

Fingers crossed it helped.

ETA: ifconfig output has changed slightly, vlan2 is now BB instead of BA:
Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# ifconfig | grep HWaddr
br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BC 
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BA 
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BC 
eth2      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BD 
vlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BA 
vlan2     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:E8:36:BB
belegdol
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2020 15:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, I have good news and bad news. The good news is that after the this deep reset the connection seems to be more stable. Working from home my work laptop was semi-regularly dropping the wifi connection, this seems to be no longer happening.
The bad news is that the warning is still appearing in the syslog, albeit with subjectively lower frequency. After 3,5 days uptime I had it come up 3 times yesterday and once today.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum