Dual Router Needed?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
3141pi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 May 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 16:26    Post subject: Dual Router Needed? Reply with quote
I have been looking at the Netgear Nighthawk X4S R7800 router.

I currently have a Netgear AC1450 with DD-WRT.

I use PIA as my VPN.

My AC1450 is NOT setup for PIA.

I have numerous devices - phones, laptops, PCs and Roku.

The PC is a wired connection and I use the PIA app and plan on using it going forward.

What I would like to do is be able to allow some devices to use the VPN and other devices (such as Roku) to not use a VPN but just connect using my ISP (Cox).

Also - we need to get some medical devices which are requiring us to hookup (IoT) to the net.

I would like to restrict those IoT devices to Guest access only - either VPN or just through our ISP.

I think I need two routers.

One like the AC1450 for ISP Guest (iOT) and non-Guest (Roku) access and one router (R7800) to handle VPN (phones, laptops) and Guest VPN (IoT).

No one is a gamer in our environment.

I don't know if the R7800 is the right router - it looks quite capable but I don't know if this configuration is possible.

I don't think I am technical enough to do this (although I'd give it a try) so I don't know if there is a service that could do this.

I should also add I am trying to future proof myself as much as possible. I am getting to the age where I don't want to try and keep messing with this stuff.

I do have a high speed connection - 150Mbps.

Any thoughts?
Sponsor
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1796
Location: WCentral Indiana USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
My guess is the 1450 is capable of installing and handling PIA OVPN. It's pretty easy to set up. Then everything you are trying to do can be handled through Policy Based Routing on VPN setup page.
The 7800 is one of the most capable routers on the market IMHO. R7500V2 also. If they won't do it nothing will.

EDIT: Port Forwarding (if needed) is a bit of a hassle to set up for PIA VPN on router but can be done.

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Forum Guide Lines (Please read!) --- How to get help the right way----Before asking for help - Read the forum guidelines AND Upgrade DD-WRT!
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6488
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 17:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
The R7800 can do it all.

If you need more than 4 wired ports, you can add a switch or your old router as an AP (3+3 ports. 2 ports used for the router to router link)

Policy Based Routing can be used to decide which devices uses the VPN.
securedparty
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Dec 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 14:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
What I have done with a secondary router is set that up as the VPN router.

If the AC1450 is your main router and gateway with IP ending in .1,

and the R7800 is your secondary router running VPN with IP ending in .2

then manually config the devices to use address ending in .2 for their gateway.

No need for scripts, just set the device gateway manually.
sweatbee
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Posts: 63
Location: Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
I do what you are trying to do on my r7800

Two lan ports are bridged with primary wireless network and the other two ports are bridged with the guest wireless network.

The primary network is protected by PIA VPN using policy based routing. The guest network (lan and wireless) does not go through the VPN. It's used for Rokus, Amazon Echos, smart switches.

Here are the links to my journey in getting it set up.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=313472&highlight=

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316103&highlight=

Good luck with your journey.

_________________
R7800 v3.0-r49567 std (07/27/22)
Private network on bridge br0 = eth1 (vlan 1) + wlan0 + wlan1.
Guest network on bridge br1 = eth1.4 (vlan 4) + VAPs (wlan0.1 + wlan1.1) for IOT devices
(Roku's, Amazon Echos, smart switches, etc.) and guest.
Noob still finding my way.

swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 1
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 1 set ports "1 2 6"
swconfig dev switch0 vlan 4 set ports "3 4 6t"
swconfig dev switch0 set apply
vconfig add eth1 4
brctl addif br1 eth1.4
ifconfig eth1.4 up
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum