Netgear R6400 (V1) & A6200 Can't see 5GHZ Network

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Format_C
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2017
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 22:00    Post subject: Netgear R6400 (V1) & A6200 Can't see 5GHZ Network Reply with quote
I have a Netgear R6400 (V1) and a Netgear A6200 AC WiFi adapter. I have installed DD-WRT and the A6200 now cannot see either (Main or Guest) of the 5GHZ networks. It worked fine of the OEM Netgear Genie Firmware. What did I do wrong?

I am using this version of DD-WRT

Code:
DD-WRT v3.0-r37015M kongac (09/23/18)
Linux 4.4.157 #603 SMP Sun Sep 23 01:10:11 CEST 2018 armv7l


Thanks



Screenshot_2018-11-21 Netgear R6400 (build 37015M) - Wireless2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  22.42 KB
 Viewed:  635 Time(s)

Screenshot_2018-11-21 Netgear R6400 (build 37015M) - Wireless2.jpg


Sponsor
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1406

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I do not have an A6200 but first thing is pick a channel. Don't use auto. Use regulatory domain Australia, Canada, Haiti, or United States to see the most channels they say. Might have a look at these:
https://wiki.ddwrt.com/wiki/index.php/Basic_Wireless_Settings
https://wiki.ddwrt.com/wiki/index.php/Advanced_wireless_settings
Hope this fixes you.

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Tips-DD-WRT

Forum Guide Lines (Please read!)----How to get help the right way
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6194
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Like @Bushant said: do not use auto.

Tested domains are US, Eur and Germany, but others will probably work also.

Furthermore some clients do not play nice with 80 MHz channel width, start with 40 and when it works you can go to 80.

Set mode to AC/N.

On Wireless security set Rekey interval to 0

Start without the VAP (just delete it and reboot, your settings are saved , so you can easily enable it again), there are a lot of problems with connecting to a VAP, but there are workarounds available.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1406

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 13:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
Set mode to AC/N.

FWIW I did not mention AC/N mode because before I wrote that yesterday I set mode to AC/N and my old laptop would not connect so I stayed with Mixed. Also I use Haiti with channel 149 uu vht80 and everything I have works fine. This is on the r7800 and r7500.

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Tips-DD-WRT

Forum Guide Lines (Please read!)----How to get help the right way
Format_C
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2017
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2018 22:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank You bushant @ egc.

I selected a Channel (161, VHT80, Upper Upper) I can now see and connect to the 5GHZ network with the A6200.

Thanks again!

Now if I can only figure out how to properly do a guest network with one on each band so far I can only get it working with one band
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 6194
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 11:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
In the first post of the build thread there are 2 work arounds mentioned when you have VAP problems, you could try them.
see: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=317466

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Server setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135
Wireguard Client setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324624
Wireguard Advanced setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324787
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum