New (KONG) Stable Build - 10/28/2018

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
regsofweb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Nov 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 23:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
regsofweb wrote:
Run on EA8500.
Only last about one day and then wifi started dropping, both on 2.4G and 5G. Rolled back to 33772.

r33772 is a good build on that unit but just wondering if you done a reset & reconfig after installing a recent build??? ... that would probably be a good ideal ---
--- much has changed since 2017.

On the EA8500 I'm still using:
DD-WRT v3.0-r37495M kongat 10/25/18
Linux 4.9.135 #253 SMP PREEMPT Thu Oct 25 02:05:21 CEST 2018 armv7l
uptime 13 days, 11:42
VAPs on both radio
ovpn server
SAMBA share
VLAN on port 4
QOS HFSC FQ_CODEL
some stuff in 'Port Range Forwarding'
30 static leases
turned unbound off couple days ago just because without using 'Recursive DNS Resolving'
I can now also use local DNS while connected to its ovpn server.
Using QUAD9 public DNS and they do DNSSEC anyways.
tis all been good Cool



My previous runing was Kong_37495M-102818_K3.18. Before Kong_37495M-102818_K3.18, I was in linksys FW_EA8500_1.1.4.169978_prod.img. After 30-30-30 reset on 169978, I Loaded Kong_37495M-102818_K3.18. And then had a "Restore Factory Defaults" in the web UI.

After basic setup, EA8500 worked very well. Most settings were default. The lan subnet setting to 192.168.2.1 and wan ip as 192.168.1.2(My modem is on 192.168.1.254). 2.4G was wpa2,N-only,40M and 5G was wpa2,AC-only,80M. But at the evening of the day after, wifi went mad. After power-off-on, the wifi was still not stable. I had to switch to the 33772.

Anything I can try on the new firmware?

I have a USB-SSD attached on EA8500 and conneted my laptop to EA8500 by wire. The R/W speed was about 90MB on linksys firmware on NTFS system. But on 33772 I only got 35MB on ext4 file system. Is it a normal speed on dd-wrt? Only about 1/3 of original. And on Kong_37495M-102818_K3.18, I only got 26MB even worse than 33772
Sponsor
xips
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 15:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
R7800

Browser update from r36375M, no reset. Solid LAN, good Access Restrictions, no wifi access all bands [ath0/0.1, ath1/1.1]. Logs show no key handshake attempts made. Radios broadcasting status all show up good. Minor misplaced decimal with CPU temp.

Production system with no time to investigate so reverted successfully.
sweatbee
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Posts: 57
Location: Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
r7800

DD-WRT v3.0-r37495M kongat (10/28/1Cool
3.18.124 #361 SMP PREEMPT Sun Oct 28 16:18:27 CET 2018

Updated by GUI with no reset.
Up 8 days with no problems for me.

Single router setup with vlans, guest networks, openVPN client, no QOS.

_________________
R7800 v3.0-r44251 std (08/27/20)
Private network eth1 ath0 ath1 protected by PIA Openvpn with PBR
Guest network on br1 with bridged VLAN and VAPs for IOT devices (Roku's, Amazon Echos, smart switches, etc.) and guest.
Noob still finding my way.


Last edited by sweatbee on Fri Nov 09, 2018 17:42; edited 1 time in total
Dogpatch
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 16:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
What scripts are recommended for this build? Running on R7800 with open vpn client and no QOS Thanks
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5358
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 23:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
oh well what the heck -- since the k4.9.x killed over after 16 days I decided to install this one:
The k4.9x worked perfect after a power cycle --- anyways we'll see it this last longer than 16 days.
EA8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r37495M kongat 10/28/18
Linux 3.18.124 #362 SMP PREEMPT Sun Oct 28 16:25:17 CET 2018 armv7l

WAN MAC clone
WAN DHCP
30 static leases
OVPN server
Local DNS
SAMBA share FAT32 USB stick
VAPs on both radio + VLAN port4 via br1
QOS HFSC FQ_Codel
same config I had before ...I just done an 'erase nvram' and reconfig from scratch for the hell of it

http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41586533
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41586597
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41586951
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41587023
danielwritesback
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Aug 2011
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 12:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
labrok wrote:
my problem is more often when cpu reaching 100% or connections are going over 5000
First, set your timeouts, UDP 60 (or lower), TCP 600, disable traffic daemon, and then...
Does this firewall script work for you?
Code:
iptables -I INPUT -s 192.168.1.0/24 -m connlimit --connlimit-mask 32 --connlimit-above 150 -j REJECT
Or
Code:
iptables -I INPUT -s 192.168.1.0/24 -m connlimit --connlimit-above 150 -j REJECT
Option: right after input, you can add -i interfacename (find the real name with ifconfig) and apply it just to wifi, which is handy if the abusive clients are only on wifi. Usually, 5000 connections and a router crash is from wifi appliances on a retry spree.

After you try these usual steps, if your router still crashes, then you may have found a bug (connectivity fault) that blocks clients from something they really want, causing them to retry way too much.

I mention it here, because we sure do need modern timeouts and Connlimit in the gui.
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 18:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
oh well what the heck -- since the k4.9.x killed over after 16 days I decided to install this one:
The k4.9x worked perfect after a power cycle --- anyways we'll see it this last longer than 16 days.
EA8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r37495M kongat 10/28/18
Linux 3.18.124 #362 SMP PREEMPT Sun Oct 28 16:25:17 CET 2018 armv7l

WAN MAC clone
WAN DHCP
30 static leases
OVPN server
Local DNS
SAMBA share FAT32 USB stick
VAPs on both radio + VLAN port4 via br1
QOS HFSC FQ_Codel
same config I had before ...I just done an 'erase nvram' and reconfig from scratch for the hell of it

http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41586533
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41586597
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41586951
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41587023


Well just had same issue with my k3.18 r7500v2. Had to power cycle to bring things back. This time I disabled both beamformings and noise immunity (with better results in previous builds). Will see how this goes
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5358
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 19:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerrytouille wrote:
Well just had same issue with my k3.18 r7500v2. Had to power cycle to bring things back. This time I disabled both beamformings and noise immunity (with better results in previous builds). Will see how this goes


hmmm...... I was hoping maybe the K3.18.x would not kill-over. That's bad news Evil or Very Mad

I disabled all beamformings and noise immunity on the EA8500 a while back since I really
have no use for it and they are few other WiFi devices around here close anyways.

May have to put it on a weekly reboot or stick with an older build..... have to look up what build I was running around first part of March. I know it worked fine cause I was unable to even check on it for couple months. Rolling Eyes
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 19:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
May have to put it on a weekly reboot or stick with an older build..... have to look up what build I was running around first part of March. I know it worked fine cause I was unable to even check on it for couple months. Rolling Eyes


Quick question: I'd like to schedule reboot it too but currently I have to run this command at startup manually to fix dnssec (need to be after everything comes up, the Save startup option doesn't work because it starts before dns entries insert, which overwrites it). Any ideas on how to get it autorun at the end of the bootup sequence?

head -n 2 /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq > /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq.tmp && mv /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq.tmp /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5358
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerrytouille wrote:

Quick question: I'd like to schedule reboot it too but currently I have to run this command at startup manually to fix dnssec..

I don't have anything in startup other than VLAN config.
Guess you could have something like ' sleep 10 ' at its first if you really must have that startup.
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 20:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
jerrytouille wrote:

Quick question: I'd like to schedule reboot it too but currently I have to run this command at startup manually to fix dnssec..

I don't have anything in startup other than VLAN config.
Guess you could have something like ' sleep 10 ' at its first if you really must have that startup.


That worked! Thanks
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7381
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 23:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerrytouille wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
oh well what the heck -- since the k4.9.x killed over after 16 days I decided to install this one:
The k4.9x worked perfect after a power cycle --- anyways we'll see it this last longer than 16 days.
EA8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r37495M kongat 10/28/18
Linux 3.18.124 #362 SMP PREEMPT Sun Oct 28 16:25:17 CET 2018 armv7l

WAN MAC clone
WAN DHCP
30 static leases
OVPN server
Local DNS
SAMBA share FAT32 USB stick
VAPs on both radio + VLAN port4 via br1
QOS HFSC FQ_Codel
same config I had before ...I just done an 'erase nvram' and reconfig from scratch for the hell of it

http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41586533
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41586597
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41586951
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41587023


Well just had same issue with my k3.18 r7500v2. Had to power cycle to bring things back. This time I disabled both beamformings and noise immunity (with better results in previous builds). Will see how this goes


if ur certain its wifi related enable logs and post them if it happens again

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r44849 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r44849 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r44849 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r44849 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r44583 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
nickant
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2016
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 23:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm currently running my EA8500 on r37420M-K3.18.
As per previous post:

"My Internet radio doesn't work on either r37495M builds, but is fine on r37420M
So something has broken between r37420M and r37495M that affects the 2.4 wifi.
The digital/internet radio is an older unit, running 2.4/54Mbps G wifi and uses the Jupiter 6.2 chipset by Frontier Silicon."

I have the router reboot once a week automatically, so can't speak to the >15 day lockups.

Looks like r37495M may have more issues than the r37420M builds.

_________________
------------------------------------
Linksys EA8500 DD-WRT r44863 (Gateway)
Linksys WRT1900ACv1 DD-WRT r44863 (AP)
Netgear/Telstra V7610 (spare AP)
Billion BiPAC 7800NXL (spare AP)
Netgear WNDR3700v4 DD-WRT r44772 (spare Gateway)
Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/nickant44/albums
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5358
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 16:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
alrightthen, I didn't have any problems with Kong's K.18 so far but just because I like to tinker around ...
...anyways, I installed BS r37649_11/12/18 over Kong's K.18 on da main EA8500 looks very good so far.
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41692665
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41692730
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41693387
BS finnally made new commits.
He should have public release soon, I hope Smile
uptime 33 min

EDIT: and 1 more ...on da winders machine
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/41698354
rickmav3
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Sep 2014
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 20:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Absolutely great build, one of the best. Thanks Kong! Very Happy No wonder it was promoted stable. The k4.9 one has good QoS, too, k3.18 gets lags lower by some 10-15ms. But if ISP is giving already a good pipe, like the one in the above post, in real usage with same QoS settings for build r37495M, k4.9 and k3.18 don't make any perceptible difference on VoIP, gaming, streaming. Choice is here!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum