Linksys WRT1200AC - Limit DL/UP Speed to all wifi users

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
GoldenDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:26    Post subject: Linksys WRT1200AC - Limit DL/UP Speed to all wifi users Reply with quote
Hi everyone,

I have Linksys wrt1200ac, i have installed DD-WRT firmware successfully and everything is great except QoS.

Internet speed details:

Download speed is: 9592 Kbps
Upload speed is: 1021 Kbps

I would like to set the download speed to: 5000 Kbps and the download speed to: 160 Kbps for all wifi users

I have tried QoS but nothing seems to work. I have searched the forum with no luck! Some users say that you must have the paid version to be able to use the feature, and some say you can use some commands to achieve it.

Actually i'm willing to get the paid version if it definitely would work with the linksys model i have.

Can anyone please elaborate more because i'm really confused and don't actually know what to do

More router details:

Router Model: Linksys WRT 1200AC
CPU Model: Marvel Armada 385
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r28788 std (01/13/16)
Kernel Version: Linux 3.18.25 #59 SMP Mon Jan 11 11:48:34 CET 2016 armv7l


I do really appreciate your time, thanks!
Sponsor
bytebandit01
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 14:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Start QoS = Enable
Port = WAN
Packet Scheduler = HTB
Queueing Discipline = FQ_CODEL
Downlink (kbps) = 9592
Uplink (kbps) = 1021


Default Bandwidth Level
Enable Per User Default Limits = checked
*WAN Bandwidth in kbits Down = 5120
*WAN Bandwidth in kbits Up = 128
*use the closest 128/256/512/../bit to achieve the desired bandwidth limit..

_________________
Router: Linksys WRT1200AC v2
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41075 std [09/20/19]
bytebandit01
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 14:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
i actually had the same concern just about last year..

see if this helps you >> https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311342

it had been working since then up to now for me, just make sure you update the firmware..

_________________
Router: Linksys WRT1200AC v2
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41075 std [09/20/19]
GoldenDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks bytebandit01,

I have been testing different settings including the settings your provided with no luck Sad

We have the same router! You got it working and i got it not working!! It must be the firmware?!! What is the firmware you are using? Could you please provide a picture of your router' QoS page?
GoldenDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Interface Priority > Not Working
Netmask Priority > Not Working
MAC Priority > Not Working
Default Bandwidth Level > Not Working

Please help, i need this feature badly!
Crying or Very sad
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5769
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 13:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Turn off Short-cut Forwarding Engine.

Setup->Basic setup->WAN setup.
GoldenDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 15:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Turn off Short-cut Forwarding Engine.

Setup->Basic setup->WAN setup.


Thanks Per Yngve Berg,

I disabled it and still no luck Sad
bytebandit01
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 17:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
GoldenDDWRT wrote:
What is the firmware you are using?


Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r36104 std [06/10/18]
Same with my signature found at the bottom.

_________________
Router: Linksys WRT1200AC v2
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41075 std [09/20/19]
GoldenDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
bytebandit01 wrote:
GoldenDDWRT wrote:
What is the firmware you are using?


Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r36104 std [06/10/18]
Same with my signature found at the bottom.


Couple days ago i upgraded to DD-WRT v3.0-r36698,
Now when i try to downgrade to DD-WRT v3.0-r36104, the firmware isn't being uploaded! Uploading stuck at 1% !!! I think the router is rejecting it for some reason ..

bytebandit01, one last question please

Have you ever donated or purchased DD-WRT? because some users say you must buy it in order to get QoS to work!!!
GoldenDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
GoldenDDWRT wrote:
bytebandit01 wrote:
GoldenDDWRT wrote:
What is the firmware you are using?


Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r36104 std [06/10/18]
Same with my signature found at the bottom.


Couple days ago i upgraded to DD-WRT v3.0-r36698,
Now when i try to downgrade to DD-WRT v3.0-r36104, the firmware isn't being uploaded! Uploading stuck at 1% !!! I think the router is rejecting it for some reason ..

bytebandit01, one last question please

Have you ever donated or purchased DD-WRT? because some users say you must buy it in order to get QoS to work!!!


Stuck uploading turned out to be browser issue, i have changed the browser and i was able to downgrade..

I have done something wrong and i don't know if it is causing QoS not working

https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=156197

The above link states the following:

"The hardware version is located beside or beneath the model number and is labeled version, ver. or V. If there is no version number beside the model number on your Linksys product, the device is version 1. "

Mine dosen't have a stated version number beside the model or anywhere, which means i have installed DDWRT for WRT1200AC V2 Model on a V1 Model

Actually DDWRT firmware for WRT1200AC V2 Model worked fine with WRT1200AC V1 Model..!

I reset the router to factory defaults from the rest button then i have downgraded from DD-WRT v3.0-r36698 (for WRT1200AC V2) to DD-WRT v3.0-r36104 (WRT1200AC V1) But still QoS not working Sad


Any suggestion guys, can anyone please confirm that QoS works fine with WRT1200AC V1?
GoldenDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 14:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would like to clarify somthing that could be helping in resolving this issue

The internet isn't actually coming through the WAN port of linksys router, my connection is ADSL, so the internet is coming from the modem Ethernet port to linksys Ethernet port

I tried different combinations in QoS Settings.. nothing works Sad
I'm still trying, i hope i end up getting it working
GoldenDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 11:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
I do really like DD-WRT, i have been using it for 5 years and will be still using it on my other devices, however i ended up installing OpenWRT! I hate OpenWRT UI, but nothing at hands! To control bandwidth using OpenWRT, I installed SQM package because by default it doesn't have bandwidth control feature....

I wasn't sure its gonna work, i was thinking that the issue is device related but it worked Shocked and i'm super happy! Very Happy

Very important thing to keep in mind if anyone wanted to do the same,

For some reason in SQM settings the download speed was the upload speed and the upload speed was the download speed!!!!

I don't know why but i figured it out by testing and it was and still real ..
bytebandit01
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 13:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
GoldenDDWRT wrote:
I would like to clarify somthing that could be helping in resolving this issue

The internet isn't actually coming through the WAN port of linksys router, my connection is ADSL, so the internet is coming from the modem Ethernet port to linksys Ethernet port

I tried different combinations in QoS Settings.. nothing works Sad
I'm still trying, i hope i end up getting it working


I think the port labeled "internet" in yellow at the back is actually the WAN port.

Been using dsl before I recently switched to fiber. I have been plugging into the linksys "internet" port going to the dsl/fiber modem provided by the ISP.

_________________
Router: Linksys WRT1200AC v2
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41075 std [09/20/19]
bytebandit01
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 14:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
GoldenDDWRT wrote:
bytebandit01 wrote:
GoldenDDWRT wrote:
What is the firmware you are using?


Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r36104 std [06/10/18]
Same with my signature found at the bottom.


Couple days ago i upgraded to DD-WRT v3.0-r36698,
Now when i try to downgrade to DD-WRT v3.0-r36104, the firmware isn't being uploaded! Uploading stuck at 1% !!! I think the router is rejecting it for some reason ..

bytebandit01, one last question please

Have you ever donated or purchased DD-WRT? because some users say you must buy it in order to get QoS to work!!!


Sorry I overlooked some of your earlier questions coz I had been busy resolving an issue with my 1200ac in terms of upgrading to the most recent 10/16 build. Thankfully it had been resolved.

I'm just using sa "std" version. I did not purchase it.

Have your tried the Netmask Priority?

_________________
Router: Linksys WRT1200AC v2
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41075 std [09/20/19]
GoldenDDWRT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
bytebandit01 wrote:
GoldenDDWRT wrote:
I would like to clarify somthing that could be helping in resolving this issue

The internet isn't actually coming through the WAN port of linksys router, my connection is ADSL, so the internet is coming from the modem Ethernet port to linksys Ethernet port

I tried different combinations in QoS Settings.. nothing works Sad
I'm still trying, i hope i end up getting it working


I think the port labeled "internet" in yellow at the back is actually the WAN port.

Been using dsl before I recently switched to fiber. I have been plugging into the linksys "internet" port going to the dsl/fiber modem provided by the ISP.


I tried to connect it to the yellow internet port (WAN), sadly no internet connection, however when i connect it to the 4 blue Ethernet ports, it works .. note that the cable is connected to the modem provided by ISP through Ethernet port, not internet port

Thanks
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum