New (KONG) Test Build - 10/25/2018 (UPDATE 7)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Author Message
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1300

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 12:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
ArjenR49 wrote:
Router R7800, AP, static addresses, wireless 2,4 & 5 GHz with guest VLAN, USB drives, NAS
QoS HTB, FQ_CODEL, 8000 down, 1000 up (without QoS more than 20000 down, 1500 up depending on situation; on a small business LAN, so double NAT)

These are the best results so far & the first run on this latest Kong fw 37400M. On previous version 37120M bufferbloat was B at best.

<a href="http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/40419222"><img src="http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/40419222.png"></a>
(How to switch on HTML option??)

http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/40419222


So to achieve good QoS results you have to sacrifice half the speed (20000->8000)? That’s not ok.
Sponsor
ArjenR49
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 286
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 13:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerrytouille wrote:
ArjenR49 wrote:
Router R7800, AP, static addresses, wireless 2,4 & 5 GHz with guest VLAN, USB drives, NAS
QoS HTB, FQ_CODEL, 8000 down, 1000 up (without QoS more than 20000 down, 1500 up depending on situation; on a small business LAN, so double NAT)

These are the best results so far & the first run on this latest Kong fw 37400M. On previous version 37120M bufferbloat was B at best.

<a href="http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/40419222"><img src="http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/40419222.png"></a>
(How to switch on HTML option??)

http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/40419222


So to achieve good QoS results you have to sacrifice half the speed (20000->8000)? That’s not ok.


I know, but that's the best this version can do. There is normally only one user on this network, but I'm preparing the R7800 for use at a different location later this year. We may see more improvement by then, perhaps.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5226
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 13:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
ArjenR49 wrote:
I know, but that's the best this version can do. ....

Check in with ---> https://sourceforge.net/speedtest/
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 413

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 15:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
The bufferbloat on 3.18 (10/03) is still 50% better compare to latest 4.9 (10.15).
So, waiting for updated 3.18

P.S. For some reason i have constant problem upgrading builds using GUI on Chrome and Edge and using ddup with no problems

_________________
Netgear R7800
bripab007
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
vit5421 wrote:
The bufferbloat on 3.18 (10/03) is still 50% better compare to latest 4.9 (10.15).
So, waiting for updated 3.18


I believe I'm running on 3.18 kernel, and when I check for latest using ddup it finds this new 37400 build. So perhaps Kong just hasn't uploaded those new builds to his web server.

_________________
Netgear R7500v2, DD-WRT v3.0-r37845M kongat
Netgear R7000, DD-WRT v3.0-r37715M kongac
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 413

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 15:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
bripab007 wrote:
vit5421 wrote:
The bufferbloat on 3.18 (10/03) is still 50% better compare to latest 4.9 (10.15).
So, waiting for updated 3.18


I believe I'm running on 3.18 kernel, and when I check for latest using ddup it finds this new 37400 build. So perhaps Kong just hasn't uploaded those new builds to his web server.


You have to change the folder name to load different builds using ddup.

_________________
Netgear R7800
bripab007
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't see any ddup command line switches for switching folder, only for giving it a specific file or URL.

I've only ever used --flash-latest, and I was under the impression that switch would just look for the most recent build of the current version tree you were (i.e. 3.18 test, 4.9 test, stable, whatever...)

_________________
Netgear R7500v2, DD-WRT v3.0-r37845M kongat
Netgear R7000, DD-WRT v3.0-r37715M kongac
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 413

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Flash latest:
root@DD-WRT:~# ddup --flash-latest

from Test folder:
ddup --flash-remote http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/Test/ddwrt-netgear-R7800.bin

_________________
Netgear R7800
bripab007
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 18:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Right, but if I'm currently on a test build, it's just going to find the latest test build, right? Or is it going to just look for the newest R7500v2 build regardless of whether it's test or stable?

Also, if I'm currently on 3.18 test build 37120, and use ddup --flash-latest, which finds build 37400, how do I know if that's a 3.18 or 4.9 kernel build?

Sorry if this has been covered in the past--I did some searching on ddup on this forum and didn't find a ton of details.

_________________
Netgear R7500v2, DD-WRT v3.0-r37845M kongat
Netgear R7000, DD-WRT v3.0-r37715M kongac
vit5421
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 413

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 18:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is no such information in ddup but you can always load the latest or from specific remote folder if you know where is your preferable test build located
_________________
Netgear R7800
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1379

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 18:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
bripab007 wrote:
Also, if I'm currently on 3.18 test build 37120, and use ddup --flash-latest, which finds build 37400, how do I know if that's a 3.18 or 4.9 kernel build?

ddup will get you 37400 K4.9 today. If you want latest 3.18 you will have to install-----never mind I think the 3.18 test from 10-3-18 is actually K4.9 so you are on the latest 3.18 unless/until <Kong> uploads something new.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 1085
Location: Illinois Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 18:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
vit5421 wrote:
P.S. For some reason i have constant problem upgrading builds using GUI on Chrome and Edge and using ddup with no problems


I Too was having issues with GUI updates and have to use incognito mode to load new bin builds. I haven't tried going back to the regular methods for a while.

I have a R9000 and load BS builds mostly since Kong doesn't release many R9000 builds that run well. The R7800 is the golden child for now.
ArjenR49
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 286
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 19:47    Post subject: Where did FINDFS go in fw 37400M? Reply with quote
HELP!
Any idea why the findfs isn't there any more and what to replace it with. The FW has ash for the shell, as far as I can see. No bash, no dash.

I have been using findfs in a command script with all recent Kong fw's, but now on 37400 the script broke and the which findfs command turns up nothing.

This is what I used it for:
mount -o noatime $(findfs UUID=B298F12198F0E4AF) /opt/NAS1

The purpose is to find the automatically, but randomly assigned device name for a certain UUID (like /dev/sdc1) and then mount it where I know 100% sure which UUID will be which.

I have more than one drive, and there's no telling which will be sdc1 and which sdb1. It depends on how they're connected. Hence the script. The line above is just the essence of it.

I tested it in an SSH session and the GUI command window with fw 37400 after I found the startup script broke.

This works, but is no use:
mount -o noatime /dev/sdc1 /opt/NAS1

This used to work, but doesn't work in fw 37400M:
mount -o noatime $(findfs UUID=B298F12198F0E4AF) /opt/NAS1

Any ideas what to replace findfs with?
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1300

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 21:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Updated op as Kong releasing 10/16 build
ArjenR49
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 286
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 22:07    Post subject: Re: Where did FINDFS go in fw 37400M? Reply with quote
ArjenR49 wrote:
HELP!
I have been using findfs in a command script with all recent Kong fw's, but now on 37400 the script broke and the which findfs command turns up nothing.

This is what I used it for:
mount -o noatime $(findfs UUID=B298F12198F0E4AF) /opt/NAS1



Updated my R7800 to 37410. No change. Mount command as above still broken, because findfs is missing, AFAIK.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 13, 14, 15  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 15
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum