NETGEAR R6700v3 cannot access admin GUI with repeater bridge

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
bridgerepetitions
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:18    Post subject: NETGEAR R6700v3 cannot access admin GUI with repeater bridge Reply with quote
I am not a networking guy. My goal was to follow this tutorial: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge. R6700v3 is DD-WRT Router.

On several builds I have been able to get repeating itself to work, as in I have Internet access both wirelessly and wired when connected to the DD-WRT router.

Unfortunately, I am not able to connect to the DD-WRT admin GUI afterwards, even when connecting to DD-WRT Router wired. I have tried changing the IP address to 192.168.1.2 with no luck, although there should be no conflict with 192.168.1.1 and I have tried that as well. I have to reset my router every time I want to get back in to the admin.

Builds I have tried:
r44538 (for R6700v3)
v3.0 40559 (for R6700, not R6700v3)
v3.0 36527 (for R6700, not R6700v3)
egc's recommeded build for R6700v3

I have extremely limited access to running commands on my computer due to my OS.

Details:

I go to my wireless settings, change the DD-WRT SSID to be that of Main Router. I have two bands, 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz, and have tried changing one, the other, or both at once. I add a virtual interface, "dd-wrt_vap", so I do not match the SSID of Main Router with that. I do not match passwords either.

I go to Setup -> Advanced Routing and change mode to Router. I disable SPI Firewall or don't, it makes no difference.

I go to Setup -> Basic Setup, I do not change Gateway or Local DNS from factory default, as I don't know Main Router's IP address, and don't care about accessing it from connections to DD-WRT Router. I sometimes change the local IP Address to 192.168.1.2, sometimes don't, it makes no difference. I don't change the router name.

I reboot after applying everything.

I have gotten this working correctly a while before on another now bricked router and unknown build without doing much more than this, so I am very confused as to what the issue is.
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 8163
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:47    Post subject: Re: NETGEAR R6700v3 cannot access admin GUI with repeater br Reply with quote
bridgerepetitions wrote:
I am not a networking guy. My goal was to follow this tutorial: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge. R6700v3 is DD-WRT Router.

On several builds I have been able to get repeating itself to work, as in I have Internet access both wirelessly and wired when connected to the DD-WRT router.

Unfortunately, I am not able to connect to the DD-WRT admin GUI afterwards, even when connecting to DD-WRT Router wired. I have tried changing the IP address to 192.168.1.2 with no luck, although there should be no conflict with 192.168.1.1 and I have tried that as well. I have to reset my router every time I want to get back in to the admin.

Builds I have tried:
r44538 (for R6700v3)
v3.0 40559 (for R6700, not R6700v3)
v3.0 36527 (for R6700, not R6700v3)
egc's recommeded build for R6700v3

I have extremely limited access to running commands on my computer due to my OS.

Details:

I go to my wireless settings, change the DD-WRT SSID to be that of Main Router. I have two bands, 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz, and have tried changing one, the other, or both at once. I add a virtual interface, "dd-wrt_vap", so I do not match the SSID of Main Router with that. I do not match passwords either.

I go to Setup -> Advanced Routing and change mode to Router. I disable SPI Firewall or don't, it makes no difference.

I go to Setup -> Basic Setup, I do not change Gateway or Local DNS from factory default, as I don't know Main Router's IP address, and don't care about accessing it from connections to DD-WRT Router. I sometimes change the local IP Address to 192.168.1.2, sometimes don't, it makes no difference. I don't change the router name.

I reboot after applying everything.

I have gotten this working correctly a while before on another now bricked router and unknown build without doing much more than this, so I am very confused as to what the issue is.


Use build 44538.

The problem is that you do not know your main routers settings.
Repeater bridge only works good if you know these settings and give your repeater bridge a Local IP address in the subnet of the main router and set the local DNS and the Gateway to the main router.
It does not work if you do not follow the wiki: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge

If you do not have access to the main router then setup as repeater:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wlan_Repeater

Or even better as Client where you dedicate one radio for connecting to your main router and the other radio for client access.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
bridgerepetitions
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 0:19    Post subject: Re: NETGEAR R6700v3 cannot access admin GUI with repeater br Reply with quote
egc wrote:
bridgerepetitions wrote:
I am not a networking guy. My goal was to follow this tutorial: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge. R6700v3 is DD-WRT Router.

On several builds I have been able to get repeating itself to work, as in I have Internet access both wirelessly and wired when connected to the DD-WRT router.

Unfortunately, I am not able to connect to the DD-WRT admin GUI afterwards, even when connecting to DD-WRT Router wired. I have tried changing the IP address to 192.168.1.2 with no luck, although there should be no conflict with 192.168.1.1 and I have tried that as well. I have to reset my router every time I want to get back in to the admin.

Builds I have tried:
r44538 (for R6700v3)
v3.0 40559 (for R6700, not R6700v3)
v3.0 36527 (for R6700, not R6700v3)
egc's recommeded build for R6700v3

I have extremely limited access to running commands on my computer due to my OS.

Details:

I go to my wireless settings, change the DD-WRT SSID to be that of Main Router. I have two bands, 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz, and have tried changing one, the other, or both at once. I add a virtual interface, "dd-wrt_vap", so I do not match the SSID of Main Router with that. I do not match passwords either.

I go to Setup -> Advanced Routing and change mode to Router. I disable SPI Firewall or don't, it makes no difference.

I go to Setup -> Basic Setup, I do not change Gateway or Local DNS from factory default, as I don't know Main Router's IP address, and don't care about accessing it from connections to DD-WRT Router. I sometimes change the local IP Address to 192.168.1.2, sometimes don't, it makes no difference. I don't change the router name.

I reboot after applying everything.

I have gotten this working correctly a while before on another now bricked router and unknown build without doing much more than this, so I am very confused as to what the issue is.


Use build 44538.

The problem is that you do not know your main routers settings.
Repeater bridge only works good if you know these settings and give your repeater bridge a Local IP address in the subnet of the main router and set the local DNS and the Gateway to the main router.
It does not work if you do not follow the wiki: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge

If you do not have access to the main router then setup as repeater:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wlan_Repeater

Or even better as Client where you dedicate one radio for connecting to your main router and the other radio for client access.


Thank you very much, using Repeater worked correctly.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 8163
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 6:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
You are welcome , please mark your thread as [SOLVED] (forum guidelines Smile )
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum