AC68U physical wifi on/off button

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Zeph
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Dec 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 19:52    Post subject: AC68U physical wifi on/off button Reply with quote
Just got this router but will need to return it unless the DD-WRT firmware happens to address an issue that the stock FW got wrong. (Want DD-WRT for other reasons too, but this specific issue is a deal breaker for me, for this particular router.)

STOCK FW ISSUE: I have the 5ghz band disabled in GUI. When I use the manual wifi button to turn off the 2ghz band, it instead turns ON the disabled 5ghz band. Then will turn both off... and back on again... thereby enabling the 5ghz band I want to keep disabled.

Will DD-WRT cause the wifi button work properly to ONLY turn off/on the enabled band? Or will it function the same, turning off/on BOTH bands regardless of GUI settings to disable one or the other? (Cannot use schedule, must use button.) TIA!!!
Sponsor
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2290
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 21:23    Post subject: Wifi toggle Reply with quote
The button is to toggle the wifi radios. It is tied to both radios, I believe it is the same in dd-wrt as in stock. I do not own that router, but it is that way in all of my routers.

There are ways to disable the wifi, on a certain radio (ex: 2.4GHz) using a command via SSH terminal. This can even be incorporated into a script that is run on boot for example.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 x3 - WDS AP / station, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - NU
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - 1 WDS station
D-Link 825 B1 - NU
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - NU
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
Zeph
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Dec 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 22:00    Post subject: Re: Wifi toggle Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
The button is to toggle the wifi radios. It is tied to both radios, I believe it is the same in dd-wrt as in stock. I do not own that router, but it is that way in all of my routers.


Odd. My Netgear R6230 honors the GUI settings and just turns the 2ghz radio off/on, as I have the 5ghz radio disabled in GUI.

Quote:
There are ways to disable the wifi, on a certain radio (ex: 2.4GHz) using a command via SSH terminal. This can even be incorporated into a script that is run on boot for example.


That would be great to disable the 5gHz band at boot. But have no idea what an SSH terminal is or how to do that. But since it's off topic here I will research. Thanks for the tip. Appreciated!
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7209
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 0:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Why can't you leave the 5ghz on?
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Zeph
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Dec 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 2:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't have ac adapters yet but when I buy equipment I like to future-proof my investment a bit and buy forward. Will eventually want 5ghz later. Don't need it now though. And prefer not to multiply the EMF I am bathing in unnecessarily. Router sits on my desk a few feet from me, where I work 12+ hrs a day. A personal preference. I understand some people don't care. For me, less is more until you need more.

Returning the ASUS 68U and going back to Netgear. Ordered the R7000. Assume wifi button works like it does on the R6230, honoring GUI settings. Just my preference. YMMV.
Master.Billy.Quizboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Oct 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 2:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Zeph,

Are you running dd-wrt on your R6230?
If so, which one?

I just bought this router based on the Amazon reviews claiming dd-wrt was supported on it. It was only after that I realized Amazon aggregated the reviews for several models on one page!

From what I can tell, OpenWRT/LEDE is supported, but I prefer dd-wrt if possible. It's just so awesome!
NeoMatrixJR
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2018 1:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Master.Billy.Quizboy wrote:
Zeph,

Are you running dd-wrt on your R6230?
If so, which one?

I just bought this router based on the Amazon reviews claiming dd-wrt was supported on it. It was only after that I realized Amazon aggregated the reviews for several models on one page!

From what I can tell, OpenWRT/LEDE is supported, but I prefer dd-wrt if possible. It's just so awesome!

Did you figure this out? looking at buying one
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum