Netgear R6400 v2 and R6700v3 Install Guide

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14, 15  Next
Author Message
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3964
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2019 7:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am using the latest KONG build 39575, but I doubt that will make a difference.

If you are going to use it be sure to do:
Code:
nvram erase && reboot
from the Command line and setup manually, do not restore from a backup.

If you router starts acting erratically without a cause while having worked for weeks, I would be considering a hardware failure as possible cause Sad

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Sponsor
neveroffline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 29
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 23:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey all, I flashed DD-WRT v3.0-r37015M kongac (09/23/1Cool on my new Netgear r6700v3 without issue.

However, when I try bootstrap: it appears the http://www.desipro.de/musl/base/ dir is no longer there, so any bootstrap commands fail with a 404.

Is there a way to get opkg installed ok? I have a USB drive mounted to opt, and the bootstrap command only fails with a 404 after the /opt mount check.

Thanks!
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3964
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 7:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is actually off topic and for these questions you should start a new thread.
Kong has its own implementation of Entware but you can just as easily download and install the generic Entware (I am doing that) see: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Installing_Entware

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
neveroffline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 29
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 7:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
This is actually off topic and for these questions you should start a new thread.
Kong has its own implementation of Entware but you can just as easily download and install the generic Entware (I am doing that) see: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Installing_Entware


Thanks egc, sorry if off topic. Appreciate the response anyways.
Gorogoa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jun 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 20:15    Post subject: Stock firmware already updated Reply with quote
Hello, I've just bought a Netgear R6400v2 AC1750 router, with the aim to install a DD-WRT firmware on it in order to have my NordVPN account working on it...

..the problem is that I've already updated the Netgear firmware from the stock one (I've read this guide later, unfortunately)...now my router has the V1.0.3.66_10.0.50 firmware version.

I'd like to know if I can apply the same procedure in order to install the custom DD-WRT firmware or if I mandatory need to downgrade my firmware first.

Thank you
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3964
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 20:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
The only way to know is just to try it Smile
You can always try to downgrade if you do not succeed in upgrading to ddwrt

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Gorogoa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jun 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 20:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
The only way to know is just to try it Smile
You can always try to downgrade if you do not succeed in upgrading to ddwrt


Which guide do you advice me to follow if I decide to try on my already-updated original firmware?
Thank you!!
visiter555
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2019 18:46    Post subject: Bad firmware install trying to reload firmware. Reply with quote
I have a 6400V2 which was running one of Kongs April versions. When I went to do a un update to r39844 I had a failure.

Got the flashing multi colours and tried the TFTP with no success and then NMRPFLASH again with no success (No response after 60 seconds).

My question is what is the best .CHK firmware to use?

I probably will have to get the serial cable, but want to retry with a different .CHK first.

Current status is power flashing once every second. No other lights unless I plug in an ethernet cable to a PC.

_________________
NetGear R7800 x2
NetGear R6400V2 x 4
Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
Linksys WRT54G x3
Cisco NGFW
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3964
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 9:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you tried to ping the router?

Attach a wired client and only this client.
Set static IP on client: 192.168.1.5 net mask 255.255.255.0 gateway 192.168.1.1
Start continuous ping to 192.168.1.1

Power up the router and see if you get any ping response and what the TTL is if you get ping for a couple of seconds twith TTL 100 the router is waiting for TFTP

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
visiter555
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 17:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ping is bytes=32 time<1ms ttl=100

So a normal response direct connected and no joy (as I expected after completing this yesterday).

That is why I asked what .CHK have been successful.

_________________
NetGear R7800 x2
NetGear R6400V2 x 4
Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
Linksys WRT54G x3
Cisco NGFW
visiter555
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 17:52    Post subject: Cable... Reply with quote
I will make a cable this evening and then take a shot at forcing the firmware repair & update
_________________
NetGear R7800 x2
NetGear R6400V2 x 4
Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
Linksys WRT54G x3
Cisco NGFW
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3964
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 18:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
The ping indicates that it is waiting for TFTP.

Set everything ready for TFTP use the .CHK file appropriate for your board id.

Start pinging and when the ping is answered hit enter to start TFTP.
Timing is crucial it can take a number of tries.

If not successful Serial is your next option.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
visiter555
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 20:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cable created, five screws removed and able to install Netgear V1.0.1.46_1.0.32 firmware.

Back to reinstalling DD-WRT

_________________
NetGear R7800 x2
NetGear R6400V2 x 4
Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
Linksys WRT54G x3
Cisco NGFW
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3964
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
reset to defaults

Use internet Explorer

Try with the following files:

3. Get DDWRT file. For a first flash coming from stock you need a file ending with .chk. Subsequent flashing can be done with files ending on .bin.
For Kong files these can be found at: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/
For the R6400 v2 with boardid of U12H332T20_NETGEAR use the dd-wrt.K3_R6400V2.chk
For the R6400 v2 with boardid of U12H332T30_NETGEAR use the dd-wrt.K3_R6400V2OTP.chk.

Good luck

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
visiter555
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 23:49    Post subject: Installing DD-WRT on 6400V2 Reply with quote
Way ahead of you and this is my 12th r6400 converted, let alone all my other fun toys (gotta love supporting family).

Unfortunately, this one has something simple that I am missing! Here is the steps:

Netgear firmware 1.0.1.46_1.0.32

- Reset to factory

From Netgear menu:
-- Advanced, Router update, chose from r39844 directory the file labelled factory-to-dd-wrt.chk
- Get error "This firmware is incorrect. ..."

What did I miss?

Yes I reset to factory, yes this is one of the factory to ddwrt for the r6400 (i have tried several from Kong) and none have worked.

_________________
NetGear R7800 x2
NetGear R6400V2 x 4
Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
Linksys WRT54G x3
Cisco NGFW
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14, 15  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 13 of 15
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum