Netgear R6400 v2 and R6700v3 Install Guide

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14  Next
Author Message
sas.69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2010
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I rocovered using nmrpflash and the stock firmware from the first post.
And I am recovering the device angain Very Happy
After that I will try the builds from the normal builds maybe the latest test builds have some issues with the first flash.
I will leave a feedback in a few minutes.
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3403
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 13:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
new routers might be locked we have reports of R7000 also with problems flashing.
The only way was using NMRP flash

_________________
Routers: Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
sas.69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2010
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 13:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, I tried to install dd-wrt with nmrp flash but again ended up in a bootloop.
Nothing works except the stock firmware Sad
Any sudgestions ?

P.S. The device is brand new and I only bought it because I can upload dd-wrt ...
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3403
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 14:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Very strange, as you have gone back to stock to an earlier version it should not be a problem.

Have you done a reset before flashing?

Using Chrome for upgrading can be problematic but you used nmrp flash so that could no be the problem Sad

_________________
Routers: Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3403
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 14:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
attached the file I used for first flash


dd-wrt.K3_R6400V2OTP.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  dd-wrt.K3_R6400V2OTP.zip
 Filesize:  22.55 MB
 Downloaded:  32 Time(s)


_________________
Routers: Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
sas.69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2010
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 15:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc, thanks for the firmware, unfortunately the router ends up with a bootloop with it as well.
I follow the steps in your guide to the letter, I use Internet Explorer to flash dd-wrt and I always erase the router before the upload but I always end up with a bootloop.
Even if I try to flash it with nmrpflash it ends up with a bootloop as well.
It seems that the router is somehow locked maybe?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3403
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmm, normally locked means the router refuses to upload any foreign build.
In this cases it uploads, but is somehow corrupt.

Maybe far fetched but it might be that your flash ram has bad blocks. DDWRT can use different parts of your flash ram.

If you can return it, perhaps do so.
Otherwise use serial to see what is going on.

Maybe someone else has a bright idea?

_________________
Routers: Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
sas.69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2010
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 17:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc, Thanks for all the help!
Can I test the flash ram somehow from telnet ?

P.S. ok, from telnet I did df -h and this is the result, I don't know but I think that the nand partition shoud be 128mb, not 57 as showed in the picture below.
Am I right ?

egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3403
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 14:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
No I do not think that df will mean anything in this case.
I think you have to use serial and maybe from there on you can do checkflash not sure though.

What version firmware are you on?

attached my findings from a virgin R6400v2



R6400v2 Backup stock Public.doc
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  R6400v2 Backup stock Public.doc
 Filesize:  57.5 KB
 Downloaded:  39 Time(s)


_________________
Routers: Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
sas.69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2010
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 16:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, there is definitely something wrong with the router.
Today I forgot to turn it off when I went out of my apartment and now when I'm back the device is not working at all.
The power led is barely glowing red, the 2.4ghz, 5ghz and usb1 lights are also barely glowing white and when I plug my pc lan cable the appropriate light start flashing white and red at the same time.
There is a hardware problem for sure.
sas.69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2010
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 11:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello egc,
A few days ago I returned the router and today I received the new one.
I followed your guide and now everything worked as expected.
DD-WRT uploaded without any issues and the router is working very well.
Thanks for all the help and I'm sorry I burdened you with this hardware problem.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 3403
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 12:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good to hear, we are here to help Smile
_________________
Routers: Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Simple PBR (Policy Based Routing) script: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318662
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN server setup guide:
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
harveyfamily
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2018
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 15:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Starting a few days ago my R6400v2 with Kong's build on Sept 23 started losing my ISP's IP address during the day. It has done this once a day since and the only way to fix this is to either power cycle the router or at the least disconnect the WAN cable and plug it back in which will get the router to pull a new IP address. Doing a DHCP release/renew in the interface does nothing.

I called my ISP and of course they are quick to say their tests show everything is normal to my ONT (I have Frontier FiOS) and that it's my router.

I flashed to Kong's build last month and everything has been fine up until just the middle of this last week. Does anyone have any idea what's going on with my router or do you guys think it's my ISP?
harveyfamily
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2018
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
So it looks like the WAN port died on my R6400v2. I was able to connect the WAN cable directly to my laptop and pull an IP. I did the same on an old router and it pulled an IP. I reconnected it back to the WAN port and the light would not light up nor would it connect and pull an IP.

I ended up using one of the LAN ports as the new "WAN" port and configured the vlan to connect the WAN to that port and now I'm good.

Looks like I get to go router shopping sooner than I had anticipated but I had already been thinking of getting a new router anyway to get more range. I'm looking at the R7800 but boy are they pricey!
nov0
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2019 23:59    Post subject: slow TX speeds Reply with quote
I'm running the latest Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r38580M kongac (02/05/19). I can't seem to get any of my devices to receive over the wireless at speeds any greater than about 3 megabytes per second with speeds often being below 1 megabyte per second right next to the router. I've tried changing channel width but nothing seems to make much difference. RX seems fine (33MB/sec). I can send to the router from my wireless devices at normal 2.4 and 5GHz speeds and ranges as expected. Any advice would be appreciate. Connection is VHT80 on the 5GHz band with both RX and TX rates showing good values capping out at 400M. I tried posting this in the other thread with no response. I figured others may want to know about this before they flash their R6700v3.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 11 of 14
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum