Belkin Router - Unable to connect

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
t0ny84
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 10:43    Post subject: Belkin Router - Unable to connect Reply with quote
Hi, first off if this is in the wrong section can mods please move it.

Hardware:
Main Router Belkin F7D1401 v1 (RT)
Access Point Belkin F5D7230-4 (AP)

Setup:
AP connected to RT wirelessly and I then have TV, Xbox etc connected to the AP with ethernet cables.

Issue:
Recently obtained network over power kit so I thought I would login to the AP and change the settings so it would be a wireless AP.
When I checked my DHCP client list it doesn't appear and I tried using Fing network tool and nothing registered.
Tried connecting with ethernet to computer and nothing.

I noticed with Fing a strange thing when I connect the AP to the Network Over Power kit it registers the AP but I still can't access it. Also it has my RT IP address as it's allocated IP.

I feel like I have used some sort of cloning when I first set the AP up which is why I am having these issues now.

My question is how can I either reset the AP so I can then login to change the settings or how can I reflash the AP to start again.

Thanks in advance for any and all assistance.

t0ny84
Sponsor
t0ny84
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 10:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Also should note when the AP is connected to the network over power adaptor and it is turned on I loose all network access.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4315
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
And which version of DDWRT are both routers using?

Start with disconnecting the AP from the main, reset to defaults, connect a wired PC and use this tutorial to setup: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Access_Point

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135#1183135
t0ny84
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 23:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry it was the one thing I missed!

Main Router Belkin F7D1401 v1 (RT) - standard Belkin software
Access Point Belkin F5D7230-4 (AP) -
I am ASSUMING DD-WRT version is dd-wrt.v24-9517 as when I searched the router database this was the most recent version and I didn't install DD-WRT before 2008.

Thanks for the link to the tutorial I will try it this afternoon (Australia) and report back.

Also to note it seems to be in Fing under
Generic Belkin with only Port 5555 "freeciv" open.
eugene1973
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 May 2017
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 0:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Where did you read that dd-wrt and the box it is installed on, supports POE. POE adapters are notoriously famous for no signal. Which means to me that you must prep the port. I think the best results are with POE device, not adapters. Strike one, dd-wrt may not support POE, strike two, the Belkin doesn't either. Equals strike three, no way captain. But I didn't hear the whole story.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4315
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Your DDWRT version is extremely old, the router database is out of date. Builds can be found at: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/

Start by reading the Peacock thread, sticky thread at the beginning of this forum and the Belkin wiki: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Belkin

If you need a micro build (builds of 2 MB) do not update yet, they are broken in recent builds but it should be fixed in the next build. For information about builds see the build threads: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316287

And of course google is your friend search for: belkin f5d7230-4 dd wrt

If you have a router as (W)AP it will not receive an IP address of your main router (that is why you have to assign it manually), because it basically acts as a switch.

I have a Powerline kit (TL-PA7020P KIT) to extend my ethernet and modern Powerline kits work well if your electrical wiring is OK.

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135#1183135
t0ny84
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 11:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi egc thank you so much for your assistance. I had tried the 30-30-30 reset before but it never seemed to work for me until I asked for help!

My main aim in setting this up was to extend WiFi range as the room furthest from the main router/modem would see my connection continually dropping.

I followed the below guide and so far everything seems to be working ok. Will do some testing and report back.Then I will look into upgrading the firmware.

https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge

egc - from my description of what I was hoping to achieve do you believe that I have followed the correct guide?
I haven't played with networking in a long time.

eugene1973 - sorry my mistake in terms I meant Network Over Power rather than Power Over Ethernet.

Thank you both again for your input and assistance.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4315
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 11:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Repeater bridge is fine if yo connect your secondary router via WiFi.
If you connect your secondary router with a power line kit to your primary then you have to follow this guide: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Access_Point
The latter is actually the preferred method (if your electrical wiring is OK for your powerline kit)

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135#1183135
t0ny84
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the information. Will give this a try.
One question on this setup, will this create a 2nd network which someone would also need to connect to then when the 1st drops this will pick up?
Or will this way increase range in room with WiFi range issue?

Just changed settings to the setup you recommended. Will test this out for a few days and see how I go. Thanks again for all your help.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4315
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Both options create a second wifi network, although you should of course use different channels you can use the same SSID and password.
When the wifi signal of one router is too low, the client itself will drop the connection and will search for a stronger signal, so it is up to the client.

As this is for a home systems there is no seamless hand off and roaming between routers so sometimes it is problematic, but there is nothing you can do about that besides buying a professional system.

I think Atheros based systems can set a drop off level so that clients are dropped off the router when signal is below a set threshold and that activates the client to search for the stronger signal.
I do not know if this is presetn for yout router but if so you have to use one of the later builds

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135#1183135
t0ny84
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ah I understand now. Very Happy

Have https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Access_Point setup with WAN port on router connected to powerline kit and it looks to be going excellent.


Thank you again...
Off to sleep now as early start tomorrow (11PM AEST). Well I might watch 1 YouTube video for testing.
Laughing
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4315
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
No connect LAN to LAN to do not use the WAN port, just follow the guide and you are good to go
_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135#1183135
t0ny84
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 9:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Changed it from WAN to LAN and still working great!

I was wondering why use the LAN and not WAN PORT?

The user guide from Belkin says to use WAN
Is there a benefit to use one or the other?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 4315
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 10:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
The WAN is used if both routers are on a separate subnet, this hampers communication, Windows computers can not find each other between subnets and DLNA/media streaming is also difficult (sometimes this is what you want so there are use case scenarios for a WAN setup).

So for a simple wired setup use the afore mentioned guide: https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Access_Point

Per that guide you are instructed to disable WAN Smile

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, Netgear R6400v1, Netgear R6400v2, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
OpenVPN Policy Based Routing guide: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321686
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
OpenVPN Server Setup:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=318795
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Wireguard Setup guide:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1183135#1183135
t0ny84
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 10:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Very Happy
Thanks for the information. Now next step to decide to update firmware or not!
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum