Dont kill me ! Recommended Build for Buffalo WHR-HP-G54?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
teclis22
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 13:07    Post subject: Dont kill me ! Recommended Build for Buffalo WHR-HP-G54? Reply with quote
Hi guys.

After many a year when i was still good looking and about 40 pounds lighter i got into DD-WRT.

My WHR-HP-G54 are using a mix off

DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/08/11) std-nokaid-usb
(SVN revision 17990M NEWD Eko)

and
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/28/10) std-nokaid
(SVN revision 14853M NEWD Eko)

I understand there is no EKO build branch anymore on the FTP Server.

So i went to this branch:
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/06-29-2018-r36247/broadcom/

There is no specific router build, hence the generic Broadcom Folder as that contains the v24 series wich i need due to the old corerev of the units (i read that in one of the sticky above *pride*).

I am guessing it would be the files

nokaid_generic
or
nokaod_special_generic

as both should fit the 4mb flash chip.

Leaves the question :
What build should i take ?

I use WDS on one of the connections and 1 router in client bridge.

Looking for input on this matter.

Thanks a lot in advance,

tec

_________________
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in AP
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in WDS (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Wireless Client-Bridge (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Reserve (still looking for that on ebay)

all units running DD-WRT v3.0-r44187 std
Sponsor
teclis22
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 8:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
The peacock thead mentions :

Quote:

These are the recommended builds:
Brainslayer 14929. This build has worked fine in most configurations and routers and should be used in most cases. If you wish to try a newer build, some people are finding very good stabilty with build 15962. 15962 is a good overall build for the e2000 and e3000 routers. (Do NOT use 15962 K26 if you have CPU 4704 (corerev=11) - No K26 builds after 15314 on 4704 CPUs) Many people have found major problems with some builds newer than 15962. However, if you are using a newer router model (e4200 etc) that can only run more recent builds than 15962 AND you don't need SSH, use build 17990 or 18000 or 25760. 27858 has also has gotten good reviews and appears to be a recent fairly stable build.



Guess i got to give 27858 a try. I just find it hard to believe that there is no newer stable build. There is clearly so much hard work going on in dd-wrt that flashing a 3 y old build does feel a bit awkward.

A question regarding size: (not THAT size)

all my Units got 4 MB Flash Chips, so a 3992kb large file should fit, correct ?

_________________
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in AP
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in WDS (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Wireless Client-Bridge (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Reserve (still looking for that on ebay)

all units running DD-WRT v3.0-r44187 std
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 10001
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 14:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was hoping someone would reply (like jwh7). You should be okay with the micro and mini k2.4 builds that are 4mb and under, however, there are some builds that you should stay away from altogether. I'm just not sure which ones. Not sure how you'll be configured up, but you could try 35531.
mwchang
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2013
Posts: 846
Location: Hung Hom, Hong Kong

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 15:40    Post subject: Re: Dont kill me ! Recommended Build for Buffalo WHR-HP-G54? Reply with quote
teclis22 wrote:
Dont kill me ! Recommended Build for Buffalo WHR-HP-G54?

You will not be killed. But a bad DD-WRT could brick your routers. So your subject should have been:

"Don't brick! Recommended Build for Buffalo WHR-HP-G54?"

Smile


_________________
Router: Asus RT-N18U (rev. A1)

May the Force and farces be with you! Live long and proper!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/changmanwai
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/changmw
SETI@Home profile: http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/view_profile.php?userid=211832
teclis22
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 18:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi you 2,

thanks for your replies.

i am trying the 35531 Version.

The only bug i see right now is most likley cosmetical:

In the upper right screen the version name is always:
std-special
even through i selected the nokaid-special-generic.

i will let you guys know it progresses


and regarding the brick.. yeah. i played around with the latest build at the time of this post 36xxx and that was not going well in the flash. had to tftp backon the emergency 192.168.11.1 address of the reserve router. that does get the adrenalin pumping.

_________________
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in AP
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in WDS (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Wireless Client-Bridge (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Reserve (still looking for that on ebay)

all units running DD-WRT v3.0-r44187 std
teclis22
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Update:

there are 3 issues i stumbled across:

1) i noticed on the Status page, where it lists the connected devices, the Connection is displayed in a flaking manner, jumping between connected, not connected, connecting, connected, rinse and repeat

I had a ping running and it doesnt break, maybe 1 package lost in over 100, so i guess this is a Display issue, not an actual Connection issue.

2) The channel selection under Wirless, often Displays "Auto" depending on how many menu moves you make in the gui. Though looking at the wirless Status the correct channel is shown, so it seems to be a Display issue in the gui


3) my Buffalos only have 1 Radio, yet 2 channels are displayed: 0 + 1 (for example).

i guess the 0 is shown as the Software is checking for a 2nd Radio, but so far i see no ill effects.

best regards

_________________
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in AP
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in WDS (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Wireless Client-Bridge (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Reserve (still looking for that on ebay)

all units running DD-WRT v3.0-r44187 std
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 10001
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 16:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Let's see if we can resolve some things:

1) Set your GTK re-key interval to 0 under "Wireless Security". That may help with the disconnects (and syslog garbage you're probably getting).

2) Sometimes you have to click the "save" or "apply settings" and then select the channel and "save" / "apply". It seems to have been a glitch I've noted as well, don't know why it's doing that, because even my boot logs tell me that it took the configuration I set initially.

3) I presume you are running Wide HT40 (40MHz) channel width. Wide channel setup will have the main channel and control channel, usually upper or lower, depending on how things are set up. That is normal.

Glad to hear things are working out well
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2619
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 16:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
3) I presume you are running Wide HT40 (40MHz) channel width. Wide channel setup will have the main channel and control channel, usually upper or lower, depending on how things are set up. That is normal.
That is a G router; no channel bonding. Smile The "0+" must be a GUI 'bug'. But right on for #2. @teclis22 Note that for N and AC routers, this also happens in some builds when using *-Only or Mixed modes (vs *-Mixed). If you still have issues, try changing your Wireless Network Mode, though there are few option on a G router.
teclis22 wrote:
and regarding the brick.. yeah. i played around with the latest build at the time of this post 36xxx and that was not going well in the flash. had to tftp backon the emergency 192.168.11.1 address of the reserve router. that does get the adrenalin pumping.
All part of the fun man Razz

Micro builds after 36242 are broken:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6387
BS is looking in to it. I'll try it out when there's a test build available.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
OPNsense x64 5050e ITX|FreshTomato: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD: DIR-810L, 4000@533, R6300v1,
RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT: F9K1119v1, RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 10001
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 18:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
That is a G router; no channel bonding. Smile The "0+" must be a GUI 'bug'.
Right, thanks.... definitely a bug that probably should be ticketed, if not already.... a few times...
teclis22
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi guys,

thanks for the input.
I give it a whirl on Wednesday, tomorrow a new garage door is installed and my gut tells me that is not going to go well.

I will update here with the results.

_________________
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in AP
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in WDS (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Wireless Client-Bridge (not working atm)
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G300N in Reserve (still looking for that on ebay)

all units running DD-WRT v3.0-r44187 std
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum