Trendnet TEW-828DRU Question

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
jade2g
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 18:33    Post subject: Trendnet TEW-828DRU Question Reply with quote
I have not been able to get any build since 36104 to load to my Trendnet TEW828DRU routers (one is being used as a bridge). The upload process appears to work, but the routers don't ever come back on-line; even after waiting 60 minutes. After doing the upload, and watching the progress bar for 289 seconds, when I look at the routers the power light flashes in a series of three flashes followed by a longer stretch of on. I turn them off for 30 seconds, but when they come back up, they are still at the 36104 build. There have not been any upgrade issues since I started using DD-WRT more than a year ago; until trying to use any build after 36104. Is there a trick I missed to getting any newer build to install?
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2303
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 18:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was just about to reply to your post in the other thread. I found this forum thread and svn ticket:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1001161&sid=d3a06e463ea13e0b4f3ae5e42ee50106

https://svn.dd-wrt.com//ticket/5111

Maybe this will be of help. I found those while trying to find where someone had said builds between 36104 and another build all showed 36104 after upgrade, but came up short-handed. Hopefully, someone else can chime in with more info as I am not familiar with your device.
jade2g
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 19:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I was just about to reply to your post in the other thread. I found this forum thread and svn ticket:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1001161&sid=d3a06e463ea13e0b4f3ae5e42ee50106

https://svn.dd-wrt.com//ticket/5111

Maybe this will be of help. I found those while trying to find where someone had said builds between 36104 and another build all showed 36104 after upgrade, but came up short-handed. Hopefully, someone else can chime in with more info as I am not familiar with your device.


Thanks KP69, I saw the first thread, but not the second. When I bought these routers and loaded DD-WRT the first time, I followed the recommended steps. Until now, all of the subsequent upgrades worked fine through the upgrade/upload screen. I hope I don't have to do a factory reset and start over, but that may just be the case.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2303
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 22:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
jade2g wrote:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I was just about to reply to your post in the other thread. I found this forum thread and svn ticket:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1001161&sid=d3a06e463ea13e0b4f3ae5e42ee50106

https://svn.dd-wrt.com//ticket/5111

Maybe this will be of help. I found those while trying to find where someone had said builds between 36104 and another build all showed 36104 after upgrade, but came up short-handed. Hopefully, someone else can chime in with more info as I am not familiar with your device.


Thanks KP69, I saw the first thread, but not the second. When I bought these routers and loaded DD-WRT the first time, I followed the recommended steps. Until now, all of the subsequent upgrades worked fine through the upgrade/upload screen. I hope I don't have to do a factory reset and start over, but that may just be the case.


I'm curious if this particular device has dual firmware or linux partitions and you have to flash it twice for it to take, but I saw this snippet in another thread:

momitty wrote:
I couldn't upgrade from the old build without using the router's built in recovery page, which is frustratingly usual for this router, but 30605 seems to run well on this router after flashing it.


Not sure if you know how to access that particular mechanism on your router (I don't), but that is another avenue to explore. May also be a matter of TFTP flashing as well. Which is kind of tricky, but. I couldn't even find a wiki or anything on this unit, so I'm kinda drawing straws.
jade2g
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 1:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I'm curious if this particular device has dual firmware or linux partitions and you have to flash it twice for it to take, but I saw this snippet in another thread:

momitty wrote:
I couldn't upgrade from the old build without using the router's built in recovery page, which is frustratingly usual for this router, but 30605 seems to run well on this router after flashing it.


Not sure if you know how to access that particular mechanism on your router (I don't), but that is another avenue to explore. May also be a matter of TFTP flashing as well. Which is kind of tricky, but. I couldn't even find a wiki or anything on this unit, so I'm kinda drawing straws.


I am not sure of that piece (dual firmware). I have not had to do anything special for any of the dozen or so previous upgrades. Hopefully, someone else will have an idea on the correct steps. Thank you!
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2303
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
jade2g wrote:
kernel-panic69 wrote:
I'm curious if this particular device has dual firmware or linux partitions and you have to flash it twice for it to take, but I saw this snippet in another thread:

momitty wrote:
I couldn't upgrade from the old build without using the router's built in recovery page, which is frustratingly usual for this router, but 30605 seems to run well on this router after flashing it.


Not sure if you know how to access that particular mechanism on your router (I don't), but that is another avenue to explore. May also be a matter of TFTP flashing as well. Which is kind of tricky, but. I couldn't even find a wiki or anything on this unit, so I'm kinda drawing straws.


I am not sure of that piece (dual firmware). I have not had to do anything special for any of the dozen or so previous upgrades. Hopefully, someone else will have an idea on the correct steps. Thank you!


Another thread I found. jwh7 mentions the method for using TFTP flashing in there:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287960

And another thread discussing some success with flashing DD-WRT here

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=999733#999733

Referenced from this thread:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=284667

Just seems like that device is a headache, but hopefully you can get some success soon!
jade2g
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 20:24    Post subject: The change that worked! Reply with quote
I have been attempting to do the upgrade through an iMac running the latest OS and Firefox browser. I changed to a PC running Windows 10 Pro 64bit and IE v11. For some reason, this worked and I was able to upgrade the routers! Not sure why the system and/or browser should have any affect, but it sure seems to have!
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2303
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 2:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
That is weird. But something I'd make note of.
jade2g
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 12:56    Post subject: TrendNet problems with r41218 Reply with quote
Router/Version: TrendNet TEW-828DRU
File/Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41218 std (10/01/19)
Mode: Bridge
Status: Problem
Previous: r39296
Reset: yes
Uptime: 0

The upgrade process said the upgrade was successful, and my router turns on; it appears to be working, but it is no longer reachable. (Can't ping, can't access). My system shows it is connected, but I'm not sure what to do now. I have done two hard resets (30-30-30), but no change. The router does appear to reset about every 2~3 minutes as all of the port lights flash on and then go off, and then the port that is connected lights back up. Any ideas of what to try next?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum