WRT1200AC ver2 bricked

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
ghostcable
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Sep 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:23    Post subject: WRT1200AC ver2 bricked Reply with quote
Hello everybody.
I made a stupid mistake and accidentally for the first time upload firmware ddwrt-linksys-wrt1200acv2-webflash.bin instead of factory-to-ddwrt.bin :/
Now I cant connect to the router, the power light is blinking all the time.

Is there any possibillity to save my router and if so what can I do to unbrick it.

Thank you for your answers
Sponsor
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7212
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
It’s in here https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
ghostcable
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Sep 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, powering off and on 3times fixed the problem. Back on linksys firmware. Thank you! Smile
But there is another problem when trying to install ddwrt over GUI. When I choose ddwrt-factory.bin file and press start, it uploads fine, everything ok, but when I connect to it after reboot it still has a linksys firmware.
ghostcable
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Sep 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
I updated linksys firmware to the latest version and still when I upload dd-wrt firmware it says that its completed successfully but again after reboot I get linksys web GUI. I tried with IE, chrome, firefox and still no luck. What am I doing wrong? Any other suggestion?
What about installing dd-wrt firmware with a TFTP utility? Can I do that with WRT1200AC ver2?
SenkanYamato
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Sep 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Got the same problem.
Flashed an lede and openwrt back to stock.
Installed ddwrt-factory.bin but after reboot im ending up in the linksys firmware. Reboot took some time. Some LED flashes different. I think he try to boot the dd-wrt but switch to stock. But i dont realy know.
Damaged bootloader maybe?
SenkanYamato
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Sep 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 19:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Found an working solution for me.
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316301
ghostcable
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Sep 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 21:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you! It's working now Smile
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum