Help me with my WRT 54G V8.2 bricked!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
electroforesis18
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jul 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 23:54    Post subject: Help me with my WRT 54G V8.2 bricked! Reply with quote
I tried to downgrade my router from 14896 to 13064, so I started on "Update Firmware"using the file "vxworkskillerGv8-v3" but it said "Update Failed" and I cliked on continue, it took me to the DD-WRT IP page, then I tried the same thing but with "vxworksrevert-Gv8-v3" and It worked, it told me that the update was sucessful and to click on continue, I retyped the IP address and appeared a message called "Management mode" and a insert file, update and cancel buttons, I couldn't skip that page so I added "dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic" file and clicked update, after that, it looks to be bricked, when I plug it, no lights turn on but ethernet and internet lights when the cables are pluged in, my internet settings shows "non identified" and "no internet". I tried to use tftp with the files on DDWRT page and the original firmware but it says that I can't connect to the host. Help!

I reconnected it hours before and Ethernet-Internet cables started to blink like 20 secods.


Last edited by electroforesis18 on Tue Jul 10, 2018 17:23; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2374
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:01    Post subject: Re: Help me with my WRT 54G V8.2 bricked! Reply with quote
electroforesis18 wrote:
I tried to downgrade my router from 14896 to 13064, so I started on "Update Firmware"using the file "vxworkskillerGv8-v3" but it said "Update Failed" and I cliked on continue, it took me to the DD-WRT IP page, then I tried the same thing but with "vxworksrevert-Gv8-v3" and It worked, it told me that the update was sucessful and to click on continue, I retyped the IP address and appeared a message called "Management mode" and a insert file, update and cancel buttons, I couldn't skip that page so I added "dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic" file and clicked update, after that, it looks to be bricked, when I plug it, no lights turn on but ethernet and internet lights when the cables are pluged in
First, why did you rerun the vxworks files when you were already running DD? That procedure is only to go from OEM to DD. Upgrade instructions are on the wiki.

Second, why were you downgrading in the first place? How long were you running 14929? If it was running fine for a while then started having issues, I'd guess it was due to failing voltage I/O capacitors (I've seen many) or a bad power supply (I've seen none). You should be able to run latest micro builds on that router (currently 36247).

Did you try a 30-30-30 (well, really, 30-10-30...)? Can you still access management mode? If not, try TFTP:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TFTP_flash
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php?title=Recover_from_a_bad_flash

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 19.7.7|FT2019.3: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302|DD 41596: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, R6300v1,
E2500, E1500@353, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ, RT-N66U@663
|OEM: WGR614v10@400 -> WNR1000v3 mod
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7246
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Smaller pictures.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
electroforesis18
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jul 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
photos updated
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2684
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 2:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Photos still too big. PhpBB used to have a configurable auto-resize feature, if I recall right...
electroforesis18
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jul 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 2:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did what it said jwh7 on Recover From A Bad Flash and I got this:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>arp -s 192.168.1.1 xx-xx-xx-xx-xx-xx
The ARP entry addition failed: Access is denied.


C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.22: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.22: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.22: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.22: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

C:\WINDOWS\system32>tftp -i 192.168.1.1 PUT code.bin code.bin


the other programs I used are on the photo


Last edited by electroforesis18 on Tue Jul 10, 2018 17:26; edited 1 time in total
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2374
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 13:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
electroforesis18 wrote:
C:\WINDOWS\system32>arp -s 192.168.1.1 xx-xx-xx-xx-xx-xx
The ARP entry addition failed: Access is denied.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.22: Destination host unreachable
You have to run arp from an elevated cmd.

Also, looks like your using a 192.168.0.x subnet; TFTP would use 192.168.1.1. Of course arp would workaround that, but I've never had to do anything for TFTP except set my PC IP/subnet/gateway (e.g. IP 192.168.1.7), run a continuous ping to 192.168.1.1, and use a TFTP GUI to send the firmware file as soon as I see a TTL=100 response at powerup.
Focus on the TFTP Flash wiki; the Recovery wiki is quite old.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 19.7.7|FT2019.3: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302|DD 41596: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, R6300v1,
E2500, E1500@353, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ, RT-N66U@663
|OEM: WGR614v10@400 -> WNR1000v3 mod
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 17:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
If I am reading this right..

You installed the "killer" which was not deeded if you were already running dd-wrt.

Then you installed the "revert".. Now your router is back at the point is was when it was stock (plus / minus some yit).

You need to run / install the killer again. then install dd-wrt again..

Your macs will be messed up but that is an easy fix.

FYI.. I broke my jtag cheery on a V8.. Hopefully you won't need jtag but it may be a possibility.

Good ruck (ruck is Japanese for luck Smile )

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
electroforesis18
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jul 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 20:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
electroforesis18 wrote:
C:\WINDOWS\system32>arp -s 192.168.1.1 xx-xx-xx-xx-xx-xx
The ARP entry addition failed: Access is denied.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.22: Destination host unreachable
You have to run arp from an elevated cmd.

Also, looks like your using a 192.168.0.x subnet; TFTP would use 192.168.1.1. Of course arp would workaround that, but I've never had to do anything for TFTP except set my PC IP/subnet/gateway (e.g. IP 192.168.1.7), run a continuous ping to 192.168.1.1, and use a TFTP GUI to send the firmware file as soon as I see a TTL=100 response at powerup.
Focus on the TFTP Flash wiki; the Recovery wiki is quite old.


I tried everything in TFTP Flash and Recover form a Bad Flash
The ping info is this:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=59ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=252
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=252


TFTP and TFTP2 were unable to get response from the server.

I used advanced CMD with the commands as the page said and I got this:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>arp -s 192.168.1.1 xxxxxxxxx

C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\WINDOWS\system32>tftp -i 192.168.1.1 PUT code.bin code.bin
tftp: can't read from local file 'code.bin'

C:\WINDOWS\system32>


I tried with 192.168.1.2 and:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>arp -s 192.168.1.2 xxxxxxxxxxx
The ARP entry addition failed: Access is denied.


C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping 192.168.1.2

Pinging 192.168.1.2 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.22: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.22: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.22: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.22: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.2:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

192.168.0.22:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping 192.168.0.22

Pinging 192.168.0.22 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.22: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.0.22: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.0.22: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.0.22: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.22:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\WINDOWS\system32>tftp -i 192.168.0.22 PUT code.bin code.bin
tftp: can't read from local file 'code.bin'


It happened to 192.168.1.10 as well, connecting to WLAN prots and Internet ports.
electroforesis18
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jul 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 20:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
If I am reading this right..

You installed the "killer" which was not deeded if you were already running dd-wrt.

Then you installed the "revert".. Now your router is back at the point is was when it was stock (plus / minus some yit).

You need to run / install the killer again. then install dd-wrt again..

Your macs will be messed up but that is an easy fix.

FYI.. I broke my jtag cheery on a V8.. Hopefully you won't need jtag but it may be a possibility.

Good ruck (ruck is Japanese for luck Smile )


I think the router is bricked in all lenguages Sad
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7246
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 20:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Give up on the pictures. We get the idea.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
electroforesis18
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jul 2018
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 20:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Give up on the pictures. We get the idea.

Just asking, do you delete my photos?

If so, I'm sorry man.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7246
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes I did. Lol
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
teclis22
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 14:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi there

something is not adding up right here.

the router responds on 192.168.1.1 ?

your pc has the static ip 192.168.1.22 ?


think you just have to do as decribed in an earlier post.

and the line:
C:\WINDOWS\system32>tftp -i 192.168.0.22 PUT code.bin code.bin
tftp: can't read from local file 'code.bin'

doesnt seems right. you are using the wrong ip there i dare say. furthermore you are not in the right foler with the command prompt. and lastly i dont think ist called "code.bin"

the Situation might be much more Basic then dd-wrt, but Centers around the understanding of ip v4 subnetting.

_________________
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 in AP
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 in WDS
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 in Wireless Client-Bridge
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 in Reserve
1x Asus WL500g Deluxe as Test Box

all units running v24_nokaid_special_generic v35531
teclis22
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 14:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
build the following Setup please


yourRouterToBeFlashed---lanCable--unmanagedSwitch---lanCable--yourPC


Set pc lan to
ip: 192.168.1.100
subnet 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.1.1

disable all Firewall and antivirus and wlan or another other Connection your PC uses.

do a 30 30 30 reset on the router

then in a command prompt do
ping 192.168.1.1 -t

does the router respond continuously on that ip ?

you can cancel the command after 1 or 2 mins with ctlr+c pressed simultaniously

_________________
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 in AP
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 in WDS
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 in Wireless Client-Bridge
1x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 in Reserve
1x Asus WL500g Deluxe as Test Box

all units running v24_nokaid_special_generic v35531
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum