Help Needed - Multiple VLAN Setup - WRT1900ACSv2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Daemos28
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 3:00    Post subject: Help Needed - Multiple VLAN Setup - WRT1900ACSv2 Reply with quote
Hi everyone! This is my first attempt to get VLANs up and running via CLI (previously only done this on Broadcom chips via the GUI), and I'd like to get some expert opinions before I implement anything so I don't brick my device, or worse, leave something unintended open and exposed to the public internet. I would greatly appreciate any guidance you folks can offer on how to get this up and running correctly. I apologize in advance for the long post.

I know what I'm trying to accomplish will also require the use of IPTables in addition to VLANs, but I'm reasonably sure I can handle those myself. I do welcome any input the community may have in that regard, but I'm also happy to work that part out on my own.

Here's my setup:
Router: Linksys WRT1900ACS v2
Firmware Build: r36079 (2018-06-01)
Network Layout:

• LAN1: PC
  • LAN2: PC
  • LAN3: DNS Server (Pi-Hole)
  • LAN4: VPN Server
  • ATH0: Assorted 5Ghz Devices
  • ATH1: Assorted 2.4Ghz Devices
  • ATH1.1(Virtual Interface): Guest 2.4Ghz Network (unbridged so it can't see the rest of the network.)

My goal is to achieve the following:

• All ports/interfaces should be able to reach the public internet and have IP's assigned to them via DHCP (if a static IP isn't set on that device)
  • LAN1, LAN2, ATH0, ATH1 are all reachable to each other, can reach LAN3 on ports 22, 53, & 80, and can reach LAN4 on port 22.
  • LAN3 can accept inbound on ports 22, 53, and 80 from the internal network, but can only initiate outbound to the public internet.
  • LAN4 can only reach LAN3 on ports 53, & 80, and cannot send any unsolicited traffic anywhere else on the internal networtk.