Netgear R7800 randomly dropping WAN every few days...

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
build_man74
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Sep 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 14:05    Post subject: Netgear R7800 randomly dropping WAN every few days... Reply with quote
I bought a new Netgear R7800 a few weeks back, and I've noticed that every week or so, the WAN connection totally fails and I can't access internet at all. Even when I'm sitting on my home laptop, I'm unable to visit the router's webpage or SSH in, either.

The only fix I've found is to reboot the router, which is impossible when I'm away from home....and it seems to always blow up when I'm trying to VNC in!

Here's my build:
DD-WRT v3.0-r34900M kongat (02/14/18)

Thanks for any help you can provide!
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4113
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
more details are needed scripts running set up, usb in use,
something that may eat memory or nvram, VPN with bad set up
also try newer build 36500 was the last one i'm running and was ok
for my set up... 36375 was reported as ok build too..
try to do reset and manually rebuild your set up...
also its not advise to expose GUI interface on WAN side if you do unless it not very needed....
check your ISP modem, Cables and ect. , i got drops if i use PPPoE and my modem need to restart, so it could be modem settings... or cables there

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45229 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45493 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 45563 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 45563 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7411
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 15:20    Post subject: Re: Netgear R7800 randomly dropping WAN every few days... Reply with quote
build_man74 wrote:
Even when I'm sitting on my home laptop, I'm unable to visit the router's webpage or SSH in, either.


looks more like connection issue to the router at the local level rather than wan.. local level issues clearly affect wan too as local is before wan in the chain

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r45542 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45542 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r45542 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45542 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r44901 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
build_man74
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Sep 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 16:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:

something that may eat memory or nvram


I initially SSH'ed in, erased the nvram and restored a config file backup. Cured the issue for about a week, then it came back.

FYI, No VPN, no startup scripts beyond default.

Alozaros wrote:
also try newer build 36500 was the last one i'm running and was ok
for my set up... 36375 was reported as ok build too..


Which one is most stable?
build_man74
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Sep 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 17:00    Post subject: Re: Netgear R7800 randomly dropping WAN every few days... Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:

looks more like connection issue to the router at the local level rather than wan.. local level issues clearly affect wan too as local is before wan in the chain


What do you mean by this...Do you think my 7800 is somehow disconnecting itself from the modem?
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 17:11    Post subject: Re: Netgear R7800 randomly dropping WAN every few days... Reply with quote
build_man74 wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:

looks more like connection issue to the router at the local level rather than wan.. local level issues clearly affect wan too as local is before wan in the chain


What do you mean by this...Do you think my 7800 is somehow disconnecting itself from the modem?


No, he's suggesting the problem is on the LAN side of your router, facing your internal network. That stands to reason since you're also losing access to the GUI and SSH, which doesn't need an active WAN port to work.

_________________
Routing:.......Asus RT-AX88U (Asuswrt-Merlin 384.14)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & GS605_V4, TrendNet TEG-S82G & TEG-S50G
build_man74
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Sep 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 20:24    Post subject: Re: Netgear R7800 randomly dropping WAN every few days... Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:


No, he's suggesting the problem is on the LAN side of your router, facing your internal network. That stands to reason since you're also losing access to the GUI and SSH, which doesn't need an active WAN port to work.


So, what should I check? It just happened to me again a few seconds ago...
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 4113
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 21:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
by any chance do you have a save file to load on another build... ??
otherwise you must not do that as this can brick your router
and its not recommended at all as this is the most common lazy ppl error
i do reset and then manually rebuild my settings use a txt file and copy/paste, no wonder you report
strange things i guess

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 -----DD-WRT 44538 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 -----DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45229 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---DD-WRT 45493 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN,VLAN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ---Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -----DD-WRT 45563 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -----DD-WRT 45563 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
build_man74
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Sep 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 15:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
by any chance do you have a save file to load on another build... ??
otherwise you must not do that as this can brick your router
and its not recommended at all as this is the most common lazy ppl error
i do reset and then manually rebuild my settings use a txt file and copy/paste, no wonder you report
strange things i guess


Sorry, what should I *NOT* do?

What I'm thinking about doing is:

1) clear NVRAM at CLI
2) upgrade to build 36500
3) clear NVRAM again
4) manually re-enter all the settings into the router

Any issues with doing this?
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 16:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Actually that sounds like a prudent course of action.

build_man74 wrote:
Alozaros wrote:
by any chance do you have a save file to load on another build... ??
otherwise you must not do that as this can brick your router
and its not recommended at all as this is the most common lazy ppl error
i do reset and then manually rebuild my settings use a txt file and copy/paste, no wonder you report
strange things i guess


Sorry, what should I *NOT* do?

What I'm thinking about doing is:

1) clear NVRAM at CLI
2) upgrade to build 36500
3) clear NVRAM again
4) manually re-enter all the settings into the router

Any issues with doing this?

_________________
Routing:.......Asus RT-AX88U (Asuswrt-Merlin 384.14)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & GS605_V4, TrendNet TEG-S82G & TEG-S50G
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum