[SOLVED] Netgear R8000 Firmware Not Compatible

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 2323
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 3:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Could require mtd unlock comment first.
Sponsor
a7mag3ddon
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Sep 2013
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 7:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is it ecen safe to flash the chk file from withibf the cli ?

I mean if it was why would you need to install the web gui in the instructions??
flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 204
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
You could be right. Maybe this thread will not attract much attention because it is marked SOLVED?
Maybe create a new one explaining you problems with luci and see if that gets any responses?

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 204
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 9:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
well, you already have openwrt installed and updating this from cli is supported.

This might allow you to then get to the gui and install dd-wrt from there.

Maybe use the `-n` switch too, to reset some settings and start from clean slate).

https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/installation/sysupgrade.cli

<edit>
If still unable to install dd-wrt from openwrt, if they have no implemented the patch yet, you should at least be able to get back to stock netgear.
</edit>

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

ge0rgi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="flakie"]
a7mag3ddon wrote:
Just unpacked this router tonight and get incompatible firmware when trying to flash factory-to-dd-wrt.chk

.......
.......
4) Assuming you get an IP and can get to the internet:

Code:
ping 8.8.8.8

from the ssh prompt will tell you, at this point we need to install and enable the web interface.

Code:
opkg update
opkg install luci
/etc/init.d/uhttpd start
/etc/init.d/uhttpd enable

5) If that worked you can access the device with http://192.168.1.1
......
......


Just like a number of other people noted, step 4 doesn't produce the desired results. The router works after step 4, but there's no gui through which you can access it, because contacting the http server on port 80 DOESN'T WORK and you see an error message that LUCI IS CORRUPT. Nice job LUCI team.

Is there a way to flash an earlier Netgear image from here (please no unconfirmed "try this" suggestions that would possibly brick the router), now that the Netgear lockout has been bypassed?

Thank you.
a7mag3ddon
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Sep 2013
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
The solution is to serial flash it, worked lile a charm and very easy to do.

The issue with the GUI was fixed but the imaged used doesnt include the fix sadly, tbey closed my github bug post.

Good luck flashing... its the only way.
flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 204
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320564

Read this thread.

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

ge0rgi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 15:34    Post subject: Not Resolved Reply with quote
Recommend changing the status and reopening this thread. This is definitely not solved because if you follow the instructions, LUCI doesn’t work (corrupted), which means that your router would have network access and do its job as an DHCP server, but you won’t be able to access its web interface. So you end up with a semi-functional router.

I seriously doubt the ssh LUCI install instructions as posted worked for some people unless you’re telling me that identical hardware and software behave differently for some mysterious reason. It’s more likely that LUCI is broken.

I don’t have a serial cable so would any of these fixes work:
1) Manually install the Kong firmware using ssh commands? I’m hoping that the httpd LUCI server being a piece of crap, doesn’t mean that there isn’t a command prompt way to do what the web page would have done if it worked. If there’s a way to push a firmware update from ssh, can you please provide instructions.
2) If updating from ssh is not possible, but I can connect via ftp during bootup, what King image do you recommend that I upload? Can you please provide a working link for it.
3) if ftp during bootup doesn’t work, is there to install a working httpd (not luci) server from ssh. The router has access to the internet.

Thank you.
a7mag3ddon
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Sep 2013
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 16:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
The version of luci included in the image is knackered, i opened a bug on their forum for it. Sadly your stuck now, pay £7.99 and get a ftdi (think thats what its called) thisbis the one i got because my rwgular usb to ttl i owned didnt allow you to escape the bootloader : https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07BBPX8B8/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_rhKIDbVC24V1E.

Now i know this wont be what you wanted to hear but its the only way. I tried for several days trying to fix it, talking with luci creaters and couldn't work out a way to do it.
robert.juric
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 18:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can flash to DD-WRT from OpenWRT with the correct command.

No need to go about hacking up LUCI.

sysupgrade -v /tmp/imagename.chk

This worked for me last night after running into all these same issues.
ge0rgi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sounds easy enough. How do you get imagename.chk into the /tmp folder in the first place? Do you ftp from the router to another server to pull the file?

Thank you.
robert.juric
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 20:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
I used wget from http://dd-wrt.tweakedrom.com/Kong_PTB/K3-AC-ARM_31870_2017-04-16/dd-wrt.K3_R8000.chk.

See my recent post: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321408
ge0rgi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 20:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
That link doesn’t work for me. Can you please provide step by step instructions.
robert.juric
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 21:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did in my post outlined here:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=321408
ge0rgi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 23:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Your instructions worked perfectly. Thank you. You know your $ht.

So the router is up and running but even though I’ve selected DHCP, I can’t get an IP number assigned. Any ideas on how to get an IP assigned from Comcast / time warner? Do I need to call them or should the router be getting the configuration automatically?

Thank you.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 6 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum