Can't get into CFE mode

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7213
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Using telnet the user name is always root. The password is what you set up.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Sponsor
psheep
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
This thread has been a brilliant help I really appreciate it. I am not very good with this sort of work but I am struggling with how I go about getting the CFE file on to the router to write it in...

Can anyone give me an insight in to this?

Would I use something like wget to download the file to the router?
jerknerkel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Mar 2019
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 0:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
psheep wrote:
Can anyone give me an insight in to this?


Okay I was a complete noob at this process too but I got it to worked. Thanks so much for the initial instructions.

Here's exactly what I did step by step, hopefully it will help someone out from my perspective.

1: Flashed my DDWRT back to this firmware (2015 version) https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2015/01-04-2015-r25760/netgear-r7000/ (I used the .bin file as I was already coming from ddwrt) so I could allow the mtd commands to work they did not on the up to date version.

CFE DOWNLOAD for R7000 (from the other forum link) https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=29740
"Change the name of this CFE file to "stock-cfe.bin" "

2: Installed https://winscp.net/download/WinSCP-5.15.1-Setup.exe using instructions from https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WinSCP to login to the router and copy the CFE file to the /tmp folder of the router.

Then I followed initial instructions.

I used telnet (in putty) and I entered these commands one at a time. The CFE is in the mtd0 folder.

mtd unlock mtd0

mtd write -f /tmp/stock-cfe.bin mtd0

erase nvram

reboot

Finally update to current version and do a reset to factory defaults.

This worked for me, default username and passwords for Winscp and Putty logins were both root then the password for the router that you have set.

It took me a little while to realize the easiest way to actually get the CFE files into the tmp folder on router, but once that was clear it was all quite simple.

Good luck!
puremind
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2019 21:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
For those that don't have the cable, not willing to open the router...

You don't need to do that if you have DD-WRT starting at all, even if not writing settings (due the firmware swaps)
I used to have Koolshare for a while but getting cleaner now.

See instructions here:

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1169279#1169279

Thanks for all on this post, really helped!
djjaeger82
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 13:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
jerknerkel wrote:
psheep wrote:
Can anyone give me an insight in to this?


Okay I was a complete noob at this process too but I got it to worked. Thanks so much for the initial instructions.

Here's exactly what I did step by step, hopefully it will help someone out from my perspective.

1: Flashed my DDWRT back to this firmware (2015 version) https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2015/01-04-2015-r25760/netgear-r7000/ (I used the .bin file as I was already coming from ddwrt) so I could allow the mtd commands to work they did not on the up to date version.

CFE DOWNLOAD for R7000 (from the other forum link) https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=29740
"Change the name of this CFE file to "stock-cfe.bin" "

2: Installed https://winscp.net/download/WinSCP-5.15.1-Setup.exe using instructions from https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WinSCP to login to the router and copy the CFE file to the /tmp folder of the router.

Then I followed initial instructions.

I used telnet (in putty) and I entered these commands one at a time. The CFE is in the mtd0 folder.

mtd unlock mtd0

mtd write -f /tmp/stock-cfe.bin mtd0

erase nvram

reboot

Finally update to current version and do a reset to factory defaults.

This worked for me, default username and passwords for Winscp and Putty logins were both root then the password for the router that you have set.

It took me a little while to realize the easiest way to actually get the CFE files into the tmp folder on router, but once that was clear it was all quite simple.

Good luck!


Thanks so much, this was the most useful post on the CFE subject I could find. Initially I was confused and thought I need a TTL cable, but following your step-by-step instructions was simple and clear that anyone can do this (without the TTL cable). Seriously, thank you!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum